LibGuides: LASI 170 Introduction to Library Research: University Policies and Statements

WSU Policies

Full List of Campus Services and Resources

Wichita State strives to create a welcoming and supporting environment for all students. Please use the link below to view the list of official statements about University resources and policies.

WSU Syllabus Resources and Policies

Refunds

Refunds for 8-week classes are different than regular 16-week classes. You have until the end of the third day of class for full tuition refunds, even in second 8-week classes.

Important dates for fall semester (Accounts Receivable)

Important dates for spring semester (Accounts Receivable)

Definition of a Credit Hour

Officially, students in 1 credit hour, 8-week classes should expect to spend a minimum of two hours each week for the duration of the class on instruction and course related activities as well as at least four hours of course work per week.

Important academic dates are posted on the Registrar's web page.

First 8-week classes begin on same day as regular classes each fall and spring semester
Second 8-week spring semester classes start on the first day of week 9
Last date to drop second 8-week classes and receive a W instead of F is the end of the 3^rd business day after the first day of class
Fall break runs Saturday through Tuesday in mid-October
Thanksgiving break runs Wednesday through Sunday in late November
Spring break runs a full week in mid or late March
Additional days during fall and spring semesters when classes are not scheduled and offices may be closed are Labor Day (first Monday each September) and Martin Luther King holiday (3^rd Monday each January).

Academic Honesty

Students are responsible for knowing and following the Student Code of Conduct http://webs.wichita.edu/inaudit/ch8_05.htm and the Student Academic Honesty policy http://webs.wichita.edu/inaudit/ch2_17.htm.

Academic Policies
Chapter 2 table of contents
Intellectual Property
Wichita State University students are subject to Board of Regents and University policies (see http://webs.wichita.edu/inaudit/ch9_10.htm) regarding intellectual property rights. Any questions regarding these rights and any disputes that arise under these policies will be resolved by the President of the University, or the President’s designee, and such decision will constitute the final decision.
Student Academic Integrity
Chapter 2.17
Student Code of Conduct
Chapter 8.05
WSU Policies and Procedures Manual
Table of Contents

Academic Advising
Find an academic advisor to help you clarify your life and educational goals, create an individual academic plan, and identify relevant campus resources for your personal and professional needs.
Adult and Online Learning
The Office of Adult and Online Learning provides information about financial aid and scholarships, career options, and other assistance for adult learners.
Counseling & Psychological Services
CAPS provides professional counseling services to students, administers tests and offers test preparation workshops, and presents programs on topics promoting personal and professional growth. Services are low cost and confidential. If you have a mental health emergency when Counseling & Testing is not open, please call COMCARE Crisis Services at (316) 660-7500.
First Generation Students
A first-generation (FGEN) college student is a student whose parents did not complete a four-year college degree. WSU strongly supports First Generation students and offers resources related to financial, academic, and social assistance.
Shocker Alert System
Get the emergency information you need instantly and effortlessly. With the Shocker Alert System, the university will contact you by email or texting the moment there is an emergency or weather alert that affects the campus.
Shocker Support Locker
The Shocker Support Locker gives students, faculty and staff access to food, clothing, toiletries, and baby/family products. The Shocker Support Locker is coordinated and managed by the Student Government Association and Office of Student Engagement, Advocacy, and Leadership.
Student Accommodations & Testing
Contact the Office of Student Accommodations & Testing (OSAT) if you have a physical, psychiatric/emotional, or learning disability that may impact your ability to carry out assigned course work. DS will review your concerns and determine, with you, what academic accommodations are necessary and appropriate for you. All information and documentation of your disability is confidential and will not be released by DS without your written permission.
Student Advocate
This position is appointed by Student Government Association. This person provides the WSU community with information and assistance to resolve intra-campus conflicts, disputes and grievances. Please first attempt resolution directly with the parties at issue before contacting the student advocate for assistance.
Student Health Services
WSU’s Student Health clinic is located in Ahlberg Hall. In addition to outpatient and preventive care (including immunizations, a prescription service, and testing/counseling for sexually transmitted infections), Student Health can handle minor injuries. All services are confidential.
Student Success
See the Office for Student Success for help with time management, note taking, textbook reading, test taking, learning styles, and finals preparation.
University Libraries
University Libraries provides many services, including group and private study space, workshops, and interlibrary loan. Collections are in print and digital formats, and include books, articles, videos and many other formats. Many types of technical services are also available, including computers, printing, faxing, scanning, sound booth, multiple OS, media design software and other equipment and software Ask a librarian about additional collections and services.

Inclusive Excellence

Wichita State University is committed to achieving “Inclusive Excellence” and institutional strength through curricula, co-curricula, and other practices, which promote and encourage the intermingling of its students, faculty, and staff from different backgrounds, in a challenging intellectual and multicultural climate that is marked by respect and appreciation for the spectrum of human diversity.

Alternative Breaks
Alternative Breaks are an immersive way to learn about social and cultural issues throughout communities.
Campus Recreation and the Heskett Center
Campus Recreation, located inside the Heskett Center, contributes to the health, education, and development of Wichita State University students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members by offering quality programs and services. Free for students!
Community Service Board
Wichita State University’s Community Service Board is a student council that works to address issues of public concern through service and active citizenship in the community.
Fraternity & Sorority Life Community
Fraternity and Sorority life at WSU includes Greek fraternities and sororities, Multicultural Greek Council, National Pan-Hellenic Council, and governing bodies.
International Education
The Office of International Education helps new and potential undergraduate and graduate international students with enrollment, opportunities for financial assistance, peer support, and the Intensive English Language Center which offers additional support. Study abroad and exchange programs are coordinated through this office.
Military and Veterans Affairs
Supports military, veterans and first responders students.
Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI)
ODI offers an array of academic, cultural, social and outreach programs.
Student Activities Council (SAC)
SAC provides programming for WSU and includes four subgroups which organize different types of programs and a web support team.
Student Engagement, Advocacy & Leadership (SEAL)
SEAL creates leadership and student engagement opportunities.SEAL supports the Fraternity and Sorority Life Community, registered student organizations, and other leadership and student groups.
Student Government Association
Three branches of student government allocates funding to student organizations, represent the student population in many University decisions and on University committees, and lobbies for local and state education-related issues.
Student Organizations
A variety of registered student organizations are available to join. They include academic, professional, athletic, social and hobby groups.

Ask A Librarian

Come talk to a librarian in person at the Reference Desk on the first floor of Ablah Library.

reference desk vector
What are some reasons to contact a librarian?
To find the best resources for your topic
To discuss strategies and develop skills for searching article databases and the library catalog
To identify and locate primary source materials

If a librarian is not available, you may also seek assistance from other library staff during library hours who will refer you to the appropriate librarian or department as necessary.

See the full schedule of library hours including Reference Desk, presession, intersession, and holiday hours for the main library (Ablah) and for the Chemistry and Music branch libraries. Ablah Library hours are also available on an automated phone line: 316-978-3481.

chat widget image

Chat with us or request a Zoom session via the adjacent chat box. Our chat service is staffed during Reference Desk hours.
If chat is not available, send us a question via e-mail.

phone handset vector
Reference Desk (Ablah Library) 316-978-3584

Circulation Desk (Ablah Library) 316-978-3582

Music Library 316-978-3029

Interlibrary Loan 316-978-3167

e-mail vector

Email a librarian with your question
or fill out this form.

Subject Librarians are available to help students, faculty, and staff with their research and library instruction needs. Use the left-hand navigation tabs to find the librarian assigned to a particular subject or college. Contact your subject librarian for assistance or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation.