Skip to Main Content

Accessibility and Inclusiveness at University Libraries

University Libraries has collections and services for all students, faculty and staff.

On the cheap!

Textbook Collection

Ablah Library has textbooks! Not for every class, so do not assume we have what you need before you check the library catalog. To determine if your textbook is in the collection, use the library’s online catalog. In the catalog, run a basic search by Title or Author for the desired textbook. Textbooks may be borrowed for two hours and must stay in Ablah Library, Don't forget that Ablah Library has scanners. Use the web guide below for details about this collection.

Books

With 28 miles of shelving, Ablah Library has LOTS of books. Fiction, non-fiction, scholarly, graphic novels and comics, memoirs and biographies, self-help, career guidance, novels, books for children and young adults, mysteries, horror, fantasy, suspense... you get the picture. Find out more at the Popular Reading guide listed below. As you should know by know, borrowing and using any library item is free! Save $$$ by using your library rather than buying books and other library items. 

Although University Libraries does not have a selection of fiction/novels as e-books, Wichita Public Library does! Check out the eBooks and eAudioBooks tab on the first page of the Popular Reading guide to learn how to access those materials through WPL and the State Library of Kansas. 

Periodical Subscriptions

WSU students and employees have access to hundreds of newspapers, journals, newsletters, magazines and other periodicals titles. WSU provides access to library databases, which in turn provide access to periodicals. There are several ways to access these titles. Once you find a title that you like, you can set up email notification alerts. Notification alerts can be set up for new issues or for a keyword search. Each database is slightly different, so please contact a librarian if you need help. 

  • For any type of periodical, start at the Electronic Journal Portal, linked below and browse by subject category using the menu or search by title.
  • The Newspapers research guide can help you identify and access local, national, international and historical newspapers. Some titles on this guide are freely available, while some are available only to WSU students and employees.
  • The A-Z Databases page has three dropdown menus to help you modify the list by subject, type of database, and vendor/provider. Select "newspapers" from the Type of Database menu to locate all databases that include newspapers. A link below is already set up to show you only the newspaper databases. Again, feel free to ask a librarian for help! 

Articles for Research Projects

WSU researchers can locate and save articles for free. Don't fall for buying articles online! Between SmartSearch, the hundreds of library databases found on the A-Z Databases page, and access to the WSU interlibrary loan service, you should not have to purchase articles or dissertations while you are part of the WSU family. Not sure how? Get started by reading through the Library Research Strategies guide or ask a librarian for help. 

One great open-web source for scholarly articles in Google Scholar. However, WSU has an agreement with Google Scholar that connects it to our holdings. this is based on IP address, so be sure to either access it through the A-Z Databases list or set up library links with your Google account.

Equipment

University Libraries has various types of equipment that can be borrowed by WSU students and employees. Take a laptop to class, borrow something to see if it's what you want before you purchase, or access the tech you need to complete your projects. Borrowing and using equipment is free at University Libraries! Check out the Technology Equipment page below for details about the laptops, cameras, podcast kits, portable magnifiers, and other equipment that can be borrowed from Ablah Library. 

Additional equipment can be used within Ablah Library, such as scanners, photocopiers, low vision magnifier, desktop computers, printer, 3D printers, soundbooth, multimedia design and editing equipment, and other great technologies for creative and design projects. Most of the larger pieces of tech are located in C-Space, which is linked below.

Thurlow Lieurance Memorial Music Library is located in the Music and Languages Innovation Center (MALIC), in Jardine Hall, room 313, along with the Savaiano-Cress Language Lab. In addition to audio and video stations, this facility has a keyboard studio, Mac and Windows computers, and other technology to help with creating and editing musical work and language learning and development. Details about the Music Library and music collection is found on the Music Library guide and the Music Library Services page.

WiFi

Campus has free wifi! University Libraries has arguably the most comfortable spaces to enjoy this free service. There are two wireless networks at WSU: Guest and WSU Secure. Although non-WSU folks can use the Guest wifi, it will not allow access to proprietary sources. WSU students and employees should use the WSU Secure network when possible for seamless access to databases, movies, ebooks and other proprietary sources. Check out the links below for more information about the wireless networks at WSU.

Movies

Do you prefer movies as DVD, Blu-ray or streaming? You have your choice at University Libraries! Learn more about the Shocker DVD Collection on the guide listed below. Streaming movies are available through our A-Z Databases list. A couple of databases are listed below. Streaming media (movies and music) are found by selecting "streaming media" from the type of Database menu to locate all databases that specialize in streaming media. A link below is already set up to show you only the streaming media databases. Feel free to ask a librarian for help. 

Music

University Libraries has music on CD, streaming music databases, musical scores (in print and digitized) and musicals (movies) on DVD and blu-ray. A few of these specialized electronic resource are listed below, but check out the web guide or contact the Music Library at 978-3019 for more information. Library hours

Special Collections and University Archives

Open to students, faculty, staff and the public, Special Collections holds rare and distinctive materials including books, manuscripts, university records, photographs, images, maps and atlases. Due to the unique nature of the items, researchers make appointments to access and use them in the Special Collections’ reading room. Digital reproductions created from Special Collections’ physical holdings are accessible online. It's easy to make an appointment by contacting Special Collections by email or phone. Click on the link below for more information and to access digital collections.

Patents and Trademarks

WSU has been a Patent and Trademark Research Center (PTRC) since 1991! Print and electronic materials are available to the public, and staff can assist researchers by appointment at no charge. Workshops, amazing staff and the physical collection make this PTRC worth visiting. Learn more on the Patents, Trademarks and Copyright guide. 

Government Information

Although government information is freely available on the open web, our staff and finding aids help researchers more efficiently locate sources they need. WSU has been a depository since 1901 and is also a depository for the state and have codes and some publications of Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita. Use the guide listed below to find articles, statistics and more. 

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram X