Skip to Main Content

Accessibility and Inclusiveness at University Libraries

University Libraries has collections and services for all students, faculty and staff.

Accessible Collections

Audio Sources

Do you prefer to have audio materials? Many article databases and e-journals provided by Wichita State include an audio option. Each database and journal is a bit different, however, so it is difficult to maintain an accurate description of each of the hundreds of databases and journal options.

Please contact a librarian if you'd like help with:

  • Identifying appropriate sources for your topic.
  • Locating databases or journals that provide an audio option.
  • Using assistive technology on a computer in Ablah Library.

Would you like an e-book or audio-book? Many nonfiction and scholarly books e-books in the WSU library collection have an audio option. However, these aren't the popular titles read by a real person like you might find through the public library. Again, please talk to a librarian for help identifying sources or using assistive technology. 

Braille and Audio Books

Any Kansas resident with a visual impairment, physical impairment, or reading disability that prevents the reading of traditional print materials is eligible to use the Kansas Talking Books service. Kansas Talking Books is available through the State Library of Kansas and includes materials in Braille and on audio. This service is primarily for pleasure reading. See link below. 

For WSU classes and other academic needs, the Academic Accommodations and Accessibility (AAA) Team provides a variety of critical accessibility services to the University community. All accommodation work done by the AAA Team is arranged through the WSU Office of Student Accommodations and Testing (OSAT). See links below. 

Library Equipment to Assist Vision

KIC Scanner

The KIC Self-serve Digitization Kiosk scan books and other print materials and will output files in searchable PDF (with optical character recognition), JPEG, PNG, Rich Text, audio file (MP3), or even as a translated Word document. It can be emailed, saved on a flash drive, put in cloud storage (Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, or Box), or accessed via a QR code. This can be used to share an excerpt from a text for a class project, digitize files for research analysis, or make print materials accessible for users with visual impairments.

Freedom Scientific Topaz Low Vision Magnifier

The magnifier is helpful for people with low vision. It magnifies items in print up to 82 times their regular size. The buttons and knobs are in bright colors with easy to understand icons to make it user friendly. Researchers can place a printed item, such as a book or small map, on the platform and adjust the brightness, contrast, and color contrast of the image on the screen to optimize viewing.

Video Magnifiers

A handheld Laralov Full HD 5.0 in Digital Portable Video Magnifier for Low Vision checks out for three days. It has a dual camera for near and far vision, it’s rechargeable, has color contrast, can save pictures and can connect to a TV or laptop. 

Two MAGNIPROS 5X LED Page Magnifier (4.5"x7" viewing area) has three color lighting modes, anti-glare lens to reduce eye strain, and magnifies 500%. They also check out for three days.

Library Databases

Library databases listed on the A-Z Databases page include an ADA indicator! Look for the blue White letters A D A inside a blue box. icon next to the database name. The ADA icon links out to accessibility information provided by the database or database vendor. Does the resource you are trying to access not open or have another technical problem? Please create a ticket using the form below. 

Also, many databases include a translation option. Most EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases offer this under the "tools." menu. Ask a librarian for help. 

Physical Books

Sometimes called hard copy books, print books, or analog books, University Libraries organizes most books in the physical collection by call number in the stacks of Ablah Library. Stacks are open book shelves available for library patrons to browse. Stacks in Ablah Library are located on the third floor, second floor, and lower level. Stacks can be quite high, and even with a step-stool many able-bodied patrons sometimes have trouble accessing a book in the stacks.

University Libraries has made it easy for you to get a book! There are several ways to ask staff at the Circulation Desk to pull a book for you. Staff can pull books and have them ready for you in a book locker. Book lockers are located in the 24-hour study room, so you can pick them up any time! You have several options to request the Circulation staff to pull a book: 

  • Call 978-3582.
  • Use the "Item Request" link found in the right column within a book record in the Library Catalog.
  • Stop by in person at the Circulation Desk.

Streaming Movies and Documentaries

Most streaming movies in the WSU collection include captions as well as a transcript! Read more about streaming movies on the On the Cheap! page in the left column. Please contact a librarian if you'd like help with:

  • Identifying appropriate streaming movies or documentaries for your topic.
  • Locating streaming media databases that provide captions and/or transcripts. 
  • Using assistive technology on a computer in Ablah Library.
Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram X