Art & Design

his is a particularly useful for the definition of trade terms.

Find here comprehensive coverage of amateurs, tradesmen and professionals who created architectural drawings.

This title provides biographical information, listings of works, bibliographies and critical analysis for each entry.

From a given term, find the abbreviation and from the abbreviation, find the term. Note that this work is organized in sections; abbreviations used in text, abbreviations for associations and societies, abbreviations for unions, abbreviations for degrees, letter symbols, abbreviations for use on drawings, graphic symbols, along with reinforcing bar designations, color code for wiring, abbreviations on maps, roman numerals, and chemical elements.

These 3 volumes, though published in 1901, are a thorough approach to architectural terminology, with illustrative photographic and line drawing examples. This also contains entries for famous architectural works and volume 3 contains an extensive bibliography.

This is a chart of technical terms in English with translations to German, Polish and Russian, with indices in German, Polish and Russian.

This contains articles on architects, building types, materials and structures, movements, periods, the industry and practices. Each entry closes with references to related articles and a bibliography.  An index provides access to content in lengthy articles.

Emphasizing British architecture, this single volume covers architectural history internationally with entries relating to form, material, styles, historical periods, and architects, along with a lengthy bibliography and index.

Covering architects biographies, surveys of developments in different countries, and overviews of movements and styles, this contains concise articles with an index.

An illustrated dictionary with line drawings of architectural terms, including some buildings/works.

In 2 parts, the initial section is a dictionary of terms in use for British architecture until 1830, while the remainder of the book is comprised of illustrative photographs of architectural works.

In 4 volumes, entries provide biographical information, works lists and bibliographies for further study. Volume 4 also contains a list of all entries in chronological order, a glossary and an index.

This is a handbook to general criteria for different building types, with a plethora of illustration and a useful index.

Organized by topic, terms are placed in a visual context, with a plethora of line drawings and an indispensable index.

This is an index by site, architect, type and work to illustrations of architecture contained in over 100 titles.