Art & Design

Over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955, concentrating on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Over 100 collections containing sound recordings, sheet music, still and moving images, prints, and maps, all documenting the American experience.

Free repository of art images. Enjoy!

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community.

With over 53 million artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Caution: Not all works are openly licensed.

Over 100,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program.

Including the Google Art Project, Historic Moments, and World Wonders; galleries provide the opportunity to explore the collections of museums and archives throughout the world.

Located here are digitized slides of several personal research collections that are of significant medieval interest. Among the collections are historical photographs that document key European and Eastern monuments and notable works of art from Classical, Byzantine, and Gothic stylistic periods. Over 43,000 images are available without a subscription.

Explore their collection of photographs covering the earliest forms of photography to contemporary work.

Here are more than 10,000 historical and conservation documents and images from the National Gallery of Art Gallery Archives, National Gallery of Art painting conservation department, and Samuel H. Kress Foundation Archive.

Find here entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix.

Here are over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection. Images are freely available for non-commercial use, including scholarly publication.

The Morgue File contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. Please credit the photographer when possible.

This digitized presentation of about 45,000 items represents a select group of images from The New York Public Library Picture Collection.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

You can search across the RA Collection, including the archive and library. Try searching for an artwork, or looking for a colour, medium or technique.

2,500 mainly western signs that are non-pictorial, searchable by text, graphic or word index.

Did you miss one of the Ulrich Museum's speakers? Check here for videos from artists, gallerists, scholars, and curators who have visited the Ulrich Museum of Art.

The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center retaining the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers. View here over 100,000 photographic images in their online collection.

VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.

Wellcome Images have themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Images are available on demand in digital form. Whether it's medicine or magic, the sacred or the profane, science or satire - you'll find more than you expect.
This unrivalled collection contains historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more.
The Biomedical Collection holds over 40 000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences. Selected from the UK's leading teaching hospitals and research institutions, it covers disease, surgery, general healthcare, sciences from genetics to neuroscience including the full range of imaging techniques.