Art & Design

Basic biographical information with a helpful tribal index and lengthy bibliography.

A listing of artists whose works are represented in the Witt Library at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, this is a quick reference dictionary to the names and dates of well-known artists and sometimes the only mention in print of minor artists.

This is not only a biographical dictionary but a dictionary of works. Many entries contain portraits of the artist and/or monograms or signatures. Though this does not cover works in the 20th century. Entries about paintings give a description of the work, date, place of preservation, provenance, as well as notes on replicas and copies.

This 1926 publication contains brief entries of American artists.

This is the 1926 work by Mantle Fielding, published with corrections and additional material.

Though primarily a biographical dictionary, this also contains brief articles of subjects, and places, limited to the period covering the Duecento to the end of the eighteenth century.

Entries provide an overview of painters, movements, styles and techniques from ancient times through the late 20th century, with international coverage.

Like the World Painting Index, this title provides access to painting reproductions in books and catalogues, but is limited to American Artists and their works. Additionally this includes a section indexing works by subject.

In 2 volumes, Volume I commences with an index of names and contains a chronological listing of painters with entries providing brief biographies, bibliographies, lists of important collections containing the artists’ works and lists of paintings. Volume II contains a general bibliography, a list and guide to collections with specific bibliographies (wonderful for finding museum catalogues), key holdings and a list of the painters represented, followed by a chronological index by title.

In 6 volumes (2 main volumes and 2, 2volume supplements) the World Painting Index provides indispensable access to images in books and catalogues, published between 1940 through 1989, by artist and/or title.