The Getty Research Institute's Art and Architecture Thesaurus is an aid to vocabulary selection in art research. Use this tool to clarify a term and its relationship to other terms, as well as its expression in other languages.
This dictionary of culture (including biographical entries) covers architecture, artistic theory, film, literature, craft, design, dance, fashion, music, mythology, painting, photography, sculpture and theatre, all throughout history.
Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
Primarily a biographical dictionary of painters, sculptors and graphic artists, also find here entries on movements, groups, techniques, terms and prominent painters and writers on art. This also contains portraits or photographs of artists along with some color examples of famous works of different periods of art history.
This provides international coverage of biographical articles, articles on movements and associations, terms and regional developments. Contained here are a large number of entries on British artists in the 20th century.
Specifically related to twentieth-century art, this work provides international coverage to biographical information on artists, entries of terms, movements and schools, often with suggestions for further reading.
Although primarily a biographical dictionary, this also includes entries on movements and terms. Most articles include bibliographical references for further reading and the work contains a notably large number of color illustrations.