Art & Design

This is an extensive guide to resources in the applied and decorative arts with chapters on ornament; folk art; armor; ceramics; clocks, watches, automata, and scientific instruments; costume; enamels; furniture; glass; ivory; jewellery; lacquer; leather and bookbinding; medals and seals; metalwork; musical instruments; textiles; toys and dolls; wallpaper and applied and decorative arts in general, with annotations.

Focusing on reference sources in art, though dated, this work remains helpful for annotated entries to resources on art topics along with explanations on the types of resources available. WSU library call numbers have been inserted in the margins for holdings as of 2002.

This is a guide to styles and forms in early civilizations of the Middle East, Egypt, Greece, Etruria, the Etruscans, and Rome.

In 3 volumes this is a reprint of the original 1918-1921 title. This documents art sales of the eighteenth century through the early twentieth century. Listed by artist, this records the date of auction, the auctioneer, the owner, lot number and title of work in question, purchaser and sale price.

A product of the Smithsonian Institution, this 4 volume annotated bibliography covers art of Native Americans, architecture, decorative arts, design, sculpture, art of the west, painting, graphic arts and artists, photography, film, theater, dance, and music. Volume 4 is an index.

A guide as well as a dictionary of western art and architecture. The essay section contains extensive bibliographies, along with some color reproductions.

Provides information on U.S. and Canadian comic art, animation, caricature, and gag, political, illustrative, and magazine cartoons. Provides citations of books, chapters, articles, and "fugitive" materials gleaned from a variety of sources worldwide, including many periodicals and journals.

This work covers not only the visual arts but music, film, dance and theater. Though rather brief, articles include bibliographies for further reading.

Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.

Find here the catalog of the Ulrich Museum at WSU, from 1980. Multiple copies are available.

In Frontier Women and Their Art: A Chronological Encyclopedia, Mary Ellen Snodgrass explores the rich history of women’s creative expression from the beginning of the Federalist era to the end of the 19th century. Focusing particularly on Western artistic style, the importance of cultural exchange, and the preservation of history, this book captures a wide variety of artistic accomplishments.

In 3 parts, part one discusses general research in Greek, Etruscan and Roman art and architecture. Part two focuses on mythology in art and literature. And part three examines various media such as Athenian vases and engraved gems.

A supplement to the Arntzen & Rainwater "Guide to the Literature of Art History"

This is a prime resource for recommended books on specific subjects in the field of art, with annotations. Some WSU library call numbers have been inserted in the margins.

The Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture, second edition, covers the most salient works of baroque artists, the most common themes depicted, historical events and key figures responsible for shaping the artistic vocabulary of the era, and definitions of terms pertaining to the topic at hand.

Here is provided an overview of Neoclassicism, focuing on major artists, architects, stylistic subcatagories, ideas, and historical framework of the 18th century style.l

This title covers all aspects of Rococo art history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a review of the literature, an extensive bibliography, and over 350 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent Rococo painters, sculptors, decorative artists, architects, patrons, theorists, and critics, as well as major centers of artistic production.

This provides an overview of Romanticism, focusing on its major artists, architects, stylistic subcategories, ideas, and historical framework of the late 18th century style. Provided here is a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on famous artists, sculptors, architects, patrons, and other historical figures and events.

Find here brief entries on artists, writers, artworks, and themes. Useful for quick access to terms, concepts and biographical information. Lacking in illustrations.

This lists important events in art history from 600 B.C. through the 1960s. Not in a completely linear time chart format, but each time period is subdivided geographically.

This dictionary focuses on the medieval period and the distinctive ways in which the subjects and symbols referenced in the work evolved and developed during the Middle Ages. It provides an overview of the evolution, development, popularity, and transformations that took place in medieval artistic iconography.

This dictionary is a fascinating guide to the broad range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including themes, artists, and movements.

Find here over 1,200 concise yet fully detailed entries describe all aspects of the subject, including photographers, images, agencies, genres, movements, exhibitions, publications, collectors, techniques, and processes.