Art & Design

This is an extensive guide to resources in the applied and decorative arts with chapters on ornament; folk art; armor; ceramics; clocks, watches, automata, and scientific instruments; costume; enamels; furniture; glass; ivory; jewellery; lacquer; leather and bookbinding; medals and seals; metalwork; musical instruments; textiles; toys and dolls; wallpaper and applied and decorative arts in general, with annotations.

This dictionary covers major crafts such as leather-working, ceramics, textiles, costume, wood-working, metal-working, and glass-making, bell-founding, paper-making, clock-making, typography, landscape gardening, photography, arms and armor, enamels, lacquer, jewelry, toys, lace-making and embroidery.

These 2 volumes contain fairly extensive articles on people (architects,, critics, designers, makers and patrons) and subjects (i.e., room types, decoration, furniture) related to the history of interiors. Entries are concluded by selective bibliographies.

This covers terms pertaining to glass, furniture, ceramics, silver, periods, styles and etc., with a classified listing of terms and a supplemental section in the back.

This is an historical dictionary, containing brief biographies, descriptions of important publications, and succinct definitions to terms in the field of design.

This is a survey of ornament, pattern and motifs in the applied arts and architecture, from the Renaissance to through most of the twentieth-century with important precedents. With a large amount of black and white photographs.

Geometric representations, patterns, projections, diagrams, scales, maps, charts (planning), lettering, and illustrations of human form are here for quick reference or to reproduce for non-profit educational or private use. (Clip art)

With entries about ornament, makers, styles, periods, materials, countries and various other terms, this work is accompanied by a large amount of black and white photographic examples.

This is the 2nd edition of an alternate source for information on stylistic elements, details of construction, cabinetmakers and esthetic terminology of furniture.

This primarily covers British and American furniture from 1500-2000, exclusively focusing on materials, trades and techniques and containing a lengthy bibliography.

This is a handy guide to the identification of British ceramics, with appendices of initials or combinations of initials used by British potters, a listing of Staffordshire Potters, and a guide to dating ceramics.

This title contains concise entries and bibliographical references for ceramic makers, materials, techniques, patterns and general topics pertaining to ceramics in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Providing definitions of materials, techniques, styles, patterns, and shapes throughout the history of ceramics, many entries are accompanied by black and white photographs.

Find here brief definitions for jewels, gemstones, materials, techniques, and styles along with entries for designers and craftsmen, throughout history.

A biographical dictionary of 20th century designers, find here entries containing biographical information, listings of important and representative works, a bibliography of books by and about the subject in question, as well as statements by designers (when possible).

Find here a survey of ceramic vessels of all periods. Entries are ordered by the name of the maker and school or style. Each entry contains a representative color image.

Containing both biographical and topical entries, articles conclude with helpful bibliographies. Please make use of the index for best access.

This biographical dictionary of folk artists provides basic biographical data and background information, a discussion of artistic backgrounds, materials and techniques, as well as artistic honors. The work concludes with appendices listing selected public collections, major exhibitions, a bibliography and index.

These 2 illustrated volumes provide international coverage of caricature, editorial, political, sports, syndicated panel and animated cartoons. Volume 2 also contains a selective bibliography, a glossary and indices by name, subject, illustration, place and contributor.

In 2 volumes, the Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts covers thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western culture. With over 1,000 entries, as well as hundreds drawn from the 34-volume Dictionary of Art. Also includes color and black and white illustrations.

Contains information on everything from the canvas up- the canvas itself, plus paper, sizes and grounds, pigments and binders, solvents and thinners, varnishes and preservatives. And with step-by-step recipes for make-it-yourself paints, pastels, varnishes, gessoes, sizes, supports, and equipment.

An artist's materials--the bold brushstrokes of a Van Gogh oil painting, the sparkling gold leaf in a Byzantine mosaic, the fragile translucence of a porcelain vase--are not just the accessories of his or her work. They are the physical embodiment of the artist's creative vision and a reflection of the historical context in which they were used. This guide discusses the materials and processes used in eight media: painting, drawing, printmaking, sculpture, mosaics, ceramics, glass, and metalwork. Within each of these categories, Antonella Fuga examines the range of materials and techniques that have developed over the centuries.

Covers the most-used painting mediums: inks, watercolour, acrylics, oils, and pastels. Each section begins with a general discussion of the specific medium's unique properties, physical makeup, and methods of application, followed by a list of various materials that can be used in combination with the medium.

Mayer intended that this encyclopedic volume be referred to frequently, and he therefore gave specific, practical advice on every aspect of his subject.