Art & Design

Primarily a biographical dictionary (excluding architects)with brief entries, in it's 4th edition also includes entries for western art forms.

This is the German lexicon of visual artists from antiquity to the present in 37 volume. Like the "Benezit" and the "Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists," this is one of the first places to begin searching for information about western European artists before 1960.

More commonly known as the BENZIT, this 14 volume French work is particularly useful for it’s biographical coverage of sculptures, designers and graphic artists, often with associated signatures and cachets.

Full-text biographical articles on people in the news and history-makers covering over 246,000 individuals with more than 36,000 images from a variety of sources. Previously known as Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated. (EBSCO)

A listing of artists whose works are represented in the Witt Library at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, this is a quick reference dictionary to the names and dates of well-known artists and sometimes the only mention in print of minor artists.

This volume provides basic biographical information along with a listing of exhibitions and public collections that have included the artists works, bibliographies for further reading, often a statement by the artist, and critical essays by specialists in the field.

Primarily a biographical dictionary, this also contains brief articles of subjects, and places, limited to the period covering the Duecento to the end of the eighteenth century.

In 3 volumes, this work provides information about those involved with illuminated books, specifically miniaturists, illuminators, calligraphers and copyists from the establishment of Christianity to the eighteenth century. ND2890.B8 1958

This dictionary of culture (including biographical entries) covers architecture, artistic theory, film, literature, craft, design, dance, fashion, music, mythology, painting, photography, sculpture and theatre, all throughout history.

This is the second edition of this title, containing entries for over 11,000 names of artists working from about 1820 to 1914.

Primarily find here entries for British watercolor artists or for artists of foreign birth who worked for some time in Britain. Entries contain cursory biographical information along with a terse description of artistic involvement.

Covering only those artisans born before 1867, this contains short entries and a lengthy bibliography.

The initial volume covers illustrators from 1744-1945, including the history and development of illustrated books for children, brief biographies of living illustrators of the time and helpful bibliographies. Three supplemental volumes cover the years 1946-1976.

In 2 alphabetical volumes plus 3 supplemental volumes, this work is an index to biographical information about artists. The initial volumes index over 70 sources, while the supplemental indexes cover additional sources. This is particularly helpful in accessing biographical information in monograph (book) sources.

Here, succinct biographical entries are often accompanied by an example of the artists work. This work focuses on Western European artists.

In 4 volumes coverage includes painters, sculptors, photographers and architects from the late nineteenth century through the 1980s. Find here basic biographical information along with lengthy assessments of artists’ work, along with substantial bibliographies

A resource for artists’ monograms, alphabetically arranged by monogram, with an index to names. This covers artists active since 1850.

Containing short summaries of terms, styles and biographical information, entries are often followed by bibliographies.

Primarily a biographical dictionary, this also includes entries on movements and terms. Most articles include bibliographical references for further reading and the work contains a notably large number of color illustrations.

This contemporary dictionary of biographical entries and terms contains short entries but with broad coverage.

Find here fairly lengthy biographical entries on over 100 artists influential to the decade, including a few artists no longer living.

This most recent edition provides international coverage of living or recently past photographers. Entries consist of a biography, individual and group exhibitions, public galleries and museums holding the artists work, a bibliography, a statement from the artist (if living), and a signed critical essay.

In the history of photography, the lives of the major personalities behind the lens are often as captivating as the images they have left behind. Yet, while certain photographs have become world famous, indelibly printed on the cultural consciousness, the stories of the photographers have been all too often distorted, obfuscated, or overlooked, and their social and political environments misunderstood or forgotten.Lives of the Great Photographers brings together the engaging and entertaining biographies of thirty-eight pioneers in the field, selected, carefully researched, and narrated by respected photography expert Juliet Hacking.

This is primarily a biographical dictionary of photographers although some terms are defined here. Along with many photographs the work also contains sections listing awards, book reviews, films by or about photographers, museums, a time line and etc..