Art & Design

A resource for art information indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals. It also indexes and abstracts over 13,000 art dissertations and indexes almost 200,000 art reproductions. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Terms of Use

Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. (Combine with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage back to 1929.) EBSCO

The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. (Combine with Art Full Text to extend coverage to the present.) EBSCO

Art and Architecture Archive offers deep backfile coverage of influential art, architecture, interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration publications, from first issues through to 2005. Terms of Use

Find here abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. It covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Online version of the comprehensive art reference work -- Oxford Dictionary of Art (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art). Covers all visual arts from prehistory to the present. Gather basic information about a topic and consult the bibliographies at the end of articles for further reading in journals and books. OUP