Change Services: Change is available from the change machine and the Circulation Desk. The change machine is located east of the Circulation Desk and will provide change for $1 and $5 bills. The Circulation Desk will provide change for $5, $10, and $20 bills.
Compact Shelving: Materials located in compact shelving may be requested in person, by telephone, or by e-mail. In-person and telephone requests made while the library is open will be retrieved by Circulation staff immediately if staffing permits. Compact Shelving Guidelines
Fax Services: The Circulation Desk offers fax services for all library clients. Fax services include receiving and sending faxes to local, long-distance and international numbers.
Fine Payment: The Circulation Desk on the first floor accepts payments of fines and fees. More information about fines can be found on Circulation Fines & Fees.
Graduate Locker: Library lockers are available for semester checkout for WSU graduate students in order to facilitate research involving library materials. Library staff at the Circulation Desk on the first floor can provide more information and locker applications.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) Loan: Graduate Teaching Assistants may request GTA library privileges. Completed GTA Loan Policy & Request Form must be signed by your advisor and returned to the Circulation Desk.
Lost & Found: Have you lost something in the library? Check at the Circulation Desk. Lost Shocker Cards are taken to the Shocker Card Center every few days.
Items for Sale at the Circulation Desk: Blue books, earbuds, and reusable bags can be purchased at the Circulation Desk.
Blue Books: Small - $0.25; Large - $0.35.
Reusable Bags: $1.50
Proxy Card: Authorize another person to check out library materials on your library account. Print and return the completed Proxy Permission Form to the Circulation Desk.
Rush Processing: Records of newly acquired books and books that are on order are listed in the online catalog. Patrons who wish to be notified when these items are available may request them at the Circulation Desk.
Searches: Searches may be requested by patrons when library items that are not checked out cannot be found. Patrons should check the material's shelf location as well as the appropriate sorting area prior to requesting a search.
Study Hall Slips: Study Hall Slips are available at the Circulation Desk for student-athletes and others who need to track time spent studying. The WSU Libraries does not monitor the activities of athletes while they are using the Library.
Books, Articles, Course Reserves & More
Book Purchase Request: WSU Libraries welcomes your recommendation to purchase a book, journal, electronic resource, video or other items. The appropriate Liaison Librarian will review this request. Items are selected for purchase according to the WSU libraries collection development policies. Fill out the Purchase Request Form to submit a recommendation.
Book Return: Materials may be returned directly to staff members at the Circulation Desk or by mail. Ablah Library provides several book drops: in front of the Circulation Desk, one in the northwest vestibule near the 24 Hour Study Room, one in the Library Foyer, and one outdoor drop located on the east side of the library. There are also book drops at the WSU West and WSU South.
Book Transfer: WSU students taking courses at the WSU South and WSU West are eligible to have library books transferred from Ablah Library to the closest satellite facility for their convenience
Holds and Recalls: Holds and recalls can be placed on items that are currently checked out. Items ready to be picked up are available at the Ablah Library Circulation Desk. Instructions for placing a hold or recall can be found on the Holds and Recalls webpage.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Using ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan Internet Accessible Database) you can submit a request to borrow materials from other libraries. Go to the Interlibrary Loan Homepage to request materials. You can pick up your requested items at the Circulation Desk on the first floor of Ablah Library.
Renew Your Items: Library items can be renewed online, in person, by telephone, mail or email. Not all items are eligible for renewal. Detailed renewal instructions and contact information are on the Circulation Renewals page. Online renewal is available using your WSU Library account. For Interlibrary Loan items, renewals must be requested via your Interlibrary Loan account.
Scan on Demand: Scan on Demand is Wichita State University Libraries’ document delivery service, which provides electronic delivery of items from Ablah Library’s print holdings. Check out the Scan on Demand FAQ page.
Special Collections: Special Collections' materials are available for on-site use only. Information about many of the collections is available on the WSU Libraries online catalog. Information about other collections is available through finding aids. Some materials also are available in digital formats. Special Collections Homepage
Textbook Collection: The textbook collection was started through a gift from Mrs. Marge Page, a longtime supporter of the Wichita State University Libraries. Use the library's online catalog to search for textbooks. Staff at the University Libraries' Help Desk and Circulation Desks can assist with searches and questions.
Community User (Visitor) Services
Community User (Visitor) Services: Community Users are eligible for limited library privileges. A Shocker ID card is required to check out library materials and may be obtained at the Circulation desk. Visit the Community User Services Homepage for more information.
Faculty Carrel Request: Carrels in Ablah Library are temporarily issued to WSU faculty by semester to facilitate research. Requests are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Faculty Carrel Application Form
Library Instruction Request: WSU faculty and instructors can request library instruction sessions for their classes. Library Instruction Homepage
Proxy Permission Request: WSU Faculty can authorize another person to check out library materials on their library account. Completed forms should be returned to the Circulation Desk. Proxy Permission Form
Rooms & Study Spaces
24 Hour Study Room: Located on the northwest corner of the library (near the front doors). Restrooms are available within the library during regular library hours and in Jabara Hall for most of the hours when the library is closed.
Disability Services Study (DSS) Room: Located in room 323, the DSS room provides specialized equipment for those with special needs.
Seminar Rooms: Two seminar rooms are available for reservation on the second floor of Ablah Library. These rooms contain equipment to allow students to practice presentations. Book a Seminar Room
Sound Booth: Located in Creation Space (C-Space) on the first floor of Ablah Library, the Sound Booth is designed for sound isolation and significantly reduces ambient and acoustic noise and can be used for voice recording, practice and rehearsals and music recording. Book C-Space Sound Booth
Study Rooms: Twenty study rooms are located in Ablah Library. Twelve are first-come, first-serve and the eight remaining study rooms are available by reservation. Book a Study Room
Study Spaces: Open study areas are available on all levels of the library with a variety of seating options. Individual study carrels are available on the second, third and lower levels. Large tables with large display monitors are available for group study on the second floor. Other tables are areas for group study are located on the second, third and lower levels.
Technology in the Library
C-Space: Creation Space (C-Space) located on the first floor of Ablah Library is equipped with advanced media technologies, including 3D printing, advanced development zone, media design zone, multi-OS zone and sound booth. C-Space Homepage
Computers, Laptops and iPads: Windows and Mac computers are available for student use throughout the library. Laptops and iPads are available for checkout at the Circulation Desk.
Print, Copy & Scan
Copiers: Copiers are available on the first, third and lower level of Ablah Library. Copiers are also available at the Music and Chemistry Libraries. Use your Papercut account to pay for copies.
Papercut Kiosk: A kiosk is available on the first floor of Ablah Library to easily add money to your Papercut account. Kiosk accepts coins and paper currency. Papercut is used to pay for copying and printing services.
Printers: Black and white printers are available on every floor of Ablah Library and the Music and Chemistry Libraries. A color printer is available in the reserve area on the first floor of Ablah Library. Use your Papercut account to pay for printing.
Scanners: Flatbed scanners are located in the reserve area on the first floor of Ablah Library for student and visitor use. A planetary or overhead book scanner is located in the learning commons area on the first floor of Ablah Library.
Technology Equipment: The library offers various technology equipment for general use and checkout. Equipment includes audio and video equipment, projectors, 3D Pen, Drawing Tablet, cables and calculators. Check the Technology Equipment Homepage for all available equipment.