LibGuides: Music Education: Scores

Music Scores Online

Naxos Sheet Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online sheet music with over 45,000 works available for instant download and printing.
Terms of Use
Online sheet music with over 45,000 works available for instant download and printing.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library Vols I - IV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars. Includes Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I - IV. Terms of Use

Partifi
Partifi was created for musicians by musicians, freely offering this part-making tool and maintaining a publicly accessible library of user-contributed scores. Click on the "help" button for video instructions.

Find That Piece

RISM (Repertoire International des Sources Musicales)
Call Number: REF ML113.I6 in Music Library
A catalog of manuscript and printed music from 1600 forward. In 3 series (sections) and well over 40 volumes, the structure of the work is as follows: Series AI: printed music, Series AII: manuscript music, Series B: a systematic approach, often with thematic subjects such as theory in the Arab world, etc., and Series C: music libraries of the world. RISM is also online at: http://www.rism.info/en/home.html
Dictionary of Musical Themes by Harold Barlow; Sam Morgenstern (Compiled by); J. Erskine (Introduction by)
Call Number: REF ML128.I65 B3 1975 in Music Library and Ablah Library
ISBN: 0517524465
An index to over 10,000 themes of instrumental music, with musical incepits for identification. Transpose the theme in question to the key of “C” major or minor and match the letters of the notes to the letter sequence in the back of the book, which acts as an index to the themes listed by composer in the main portion of the book. Can’t remember that tune, but you can hum it? This is a good place to look. A second copy is available to check out from Ablah Library, second floor.
Choral music reviews index
Call Number: REF ML128.C48 C5 in Music Library
In 2 volumes, volume I covers works reviewed from 1983-1985, while volume II covers works reviewed from 1986-1988. Works are listed by title, with coded information about voicing, level of difficulty, vocal range, language, level of accompaniment, duration, sources for extended reviews, the general nature of the review and etc.. These volumes also contain particularly useful indexes by composer, arranger, editor, use/special purpose, level of difficulty, voicing, and accompanying instruments.
Music in Early America: a Bibliography of Music in Evans by Hixon, Donald L.
Call Number: REF ML120.U5 H6
An index to the seventeenth and eighteenth century music represented in Evans’ American Bibliography, Z1215 .E9232 1967 or MICROFICHE A6 23496-502.
Songs in collections by DeCharms & Breed
Call Number: REF ML128.S3 D37 in Music Library and in Ablah Library
This is a set of indices bound together in a single volume to art songs and arias, folk songs, carols and sea chanties, found in collections published from approximately 1940-1957. When looking up the song/aria title, make sure you are looking in the correct index section by consulting the table of contents. A second copy is available to check out from Ablah Library, second floor.
The Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library by Ellen Luchinsky (Editor); Enoch Pratt Free Library Staff
Call Number: ML128.S3 L665 1998
ISBN: 0815329180
This 2 volume work indexes songs in over 2000 collections, of all genres. The 2nd volume provides an index by composer and a listing of operas, musicals, movies and etc., with their associated song titles. This work is handy for its coverage of more recently published collections than the DeCharms, "Songs in Collections."
Index to Poetry in Music by Carol June Bradley
Call Number: REF ML128.S3 B68 2003 in Music Library
ISBN: 0415943027
An index to poetry set in solo songs, covering the work of 125 Western composers. The index lists titles of poems, of songs, poets, composers and cross-references first lines.
Popular Titles and Subtitles of Musical Compositions by Berkowitz, Freda Pastor
Call Number: REF ML113.B39 in Music Library
This is another source for finding information about a work when only the popular title, nickname or subtitle is known. Provided here are brief entries with the work’s proper title, composer and the story behind the popular designation. Both 1st and 2nd editions are is located in the Music Library Reference section.
Cross Index Title Guide to Classical Music by Steven G. Pallay
Call Number: REF ML113.P34 1987 in Music Library
ISBN: 0313255318
This resource identifies the proper title of a work and it’s composer from a known popular title or nickname. It also provides alternative titles and arrows indicating the title under which a work is most likely to be found in library catalogs and other reference sources.
By any other name : a guide to the popular names and nicknames of classical music and to theme music in films, radio, television and broadcast advertisements by Ranson, P. (Philip)
Call Number: REF ML113.R3 1984 in Music Library
ISBN: 0906433029
This source may be used to identify the proper title of a work including theme music in films, radio, television and broadcast advertisements, focusing on but not limited to classical music.
Directory of Tunes and Musical Themes by PSrons, Denys
Call Number: REF ML128.I65 P33 in Music Library
Also known as the “up-down book,” this volume attempts to answer the question: “What is the name of that tune” by translating the opening melody to a directional pattern. In 3 sections covering classical tunes, popular tunes and national anthems, if you can hum it and its listed here, you can find it.
Song Index; an Index to More Than 12,000 Songs in 177 Song Collections Comprising 262 Volumes and Supplement, 1934 by Sears, Minnie Earl
Call Number: REF ML128.S3 S31 1966 in Music Library
Though this is primarily an index of art songs, this also covers anthologies of folk songs, sea chanteys, Christmas carols, sacred songs and school/college songs. Be sure to check both the main section as well as the supplement section, though both are bound together. An additional copy is found in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.
Wedding Music by William D. Goodfellow
Call Number: REF ML128.W4 G6 1992 in Music Library and Online
ISBN: 0810825759
This index to 191 vocal and instrumental collections was compiled specifically to access music suitable for weddings. Find titles or first lines, works by composer or works by instrument. An electronic copy is available through the electronic catalog.
Schumann Index by Weichlein, William J. (William Jesset)
Call Number: REF ML134.S4 W4 in Music Library
This is an index to the solo songs composed by Robert Schumann as found in the Werke (on microform in the Ablah Library Reserves section, call number M3.S393 1969) and to five additional art song anthologies.
Dictionary of Translated Names and Titles by Adrian Room
Call Number: NX80.R66 1986 in Ablah Library, 2nd floor
ISBN: 0710099533
Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern
Call Number: REF ML128.V7 B3 1950a in Music Library
Can’t remember that tune, but you can hum it? This is a good place to look. This is a listing of musical incipits for identification. To use the notation index, transpose the theme to the key of “C” major or minor and match the letters of the notes, match the letter sequence in the back of the book, which acts as an index to the themes listed, by composer in the main portion of the book.
Piano Music in Collections by Rita M. Fuszek
Call Number: REF ML128.P3 F87 1982 in Music Library
ISBN: 0899900127
The first portion of this work lists works arranged under composer, with a number designation for the collection in which they are contained. The second portion presents a listing of anthologies with their contents. If only the title of a work is know, an index provides access by title.
The Symphony, 1720-1840 by Barry S. Brook
Call Number: REF ML128.O5 S95 1986 in Music Library
ISBN: 0824038606
This volume is an index to the set of sixty volumes entitled The Symphony 1720-1840, found under various call numbers in the score section of the Music Library. Entries contain incipits, listing of movements, instrumentation, dates and sources.
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by Xing Hang
Call Number: REF M1627 .E53 2011 in Music Library
ISBN: 9780810876620
These 2 volumes contain music and words (transliteration and English translations) to national anthems of the world. More recent than National Anthems of the World, this also contains quick country facts and sometimes notes with historical background. For copies of national anthems to check out see also National Anthems of the World M1627.N269, in the scores section of the Music Library.
Index of Gregorian Chant by John R. Bryden & David G. Hughes
Call Number: REF ML102.C45 B8 in Music Library
In 2 volumes, with an alphabetical index and a thematic index, each entry provides the mode, a textual incipit, the category of chant, the initial and final pitch, and a coded melodic incipit.
Hymn Tune Names by Robert Guy McCuthchan
Call Number: REF ML3186 .M22 in Music Library
This is a listing of hymns by title with meter markings, melodic phrase in letter notation, composer/source, date of composition or appearance in print, alternative names and notes on history or background, with indices for melodies and first lines.

Find Out More About That Piece

A Dictionary of Music Titles by Adrian Room
Call Number: REF ML102.T58 R66 2000 in Music Library
ISBN: 0786407719
Find here the origin of names and nicknames for works with distinctive titles.
Book of World-Famous Music; Classical, Popular and Folk by Fuld, James J.
Call Number: REF ML113.F8 1971 in Music Library
This work provides background information for famous songs/tunes, including incipits and publication history.
The Billboard Book of One-Hit Wonders by Wayne Jancik
Call Number: REF ML394 .J36 1990 in Ablah Library
ISBN: 0823075303
Find here entries for those artists or groups having only one top 40 hit recording. This covers only the 1950s through the 1980s, with entries providing song title, date, ranking of the hit, label number, brief biographical information and updates to 1990.

Music Education

Your Librarian

Thematic Catalogs

Some Anthologies

Can't Find It In Our Library?

More Music Library Resources

Music Scores Online

Find That Piece

Find Out More About That Piece