Music Education

In 10 volumes, this is a good place to begin seeking information on folk and non-western music. The set consists of: v. 1. Africa; v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean, v. 3. United States and Canada, v. 4. Southeast Asia, v. 5. South Asia: the Indian subcontinent, v.6. Middle East, v. 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea, v. 8. Europe, v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands, v. 10. The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools. Accompanying audio CDs are available from the service desk of the Music Library.

This volume covers all styles and eras of music in Australia, with entries of terms, people, works, subjects, brief bibliographies and photos.

These 2 volumes contain music and words (transliteration and English translations) to national anthems of the world. More recent than National Anthems of the World, this also contains quick country facts and sometimes notes with historical background. For copies of national anthems to check out see also National Anthems of the World M1627.N269, in the scores section of the Music Library.

Though somewhat dated, these four volumes contain articles not found in The Grove Dictionary of Music, and concentrating specifically on music in the United States. A set is available to check out from the Ablah Library, 2nd floor.
NOTE: Access to revised/updated Grove Dictionary of American Music is soon to be available through the Library subscription to "Oxford Music Online."

Provided here are entries for over 2000 composers born in Russia or the provinces, containing biographical information, works lists and bibliographies.

Find here biographical entries of Scottish musicians from 1400 through the 1960s.

This reprint of the 1857 biographical dictionary of Polish and Slavic composers, also contains a history of Polish music and musical instruments.

Another good place to check for biographical information on performing musicians of British origin. This reprint of the 1897 work covers Britain and its colonies.

Biographical entries for authors, composers and publishers associated with the ACUM performing rights organization of Israel.

Composed of primarily biographical information, also located here are entries for organizations, groups, works, regions and other topics related to Canada’s music culture. Ablah Library holds an earlier edition.

Find here a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on every major composer in Russia s history, as well as several leading composers of today, such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Rodion Shchedrin, Leonid Desyatnikov, Elena Firsova, and Pavel Karmanov. It also includes the patrons and institutions that commissioned works by those composers and the choreographers and dancers who helped shape the great ballet masterpieces.

This reference seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958, dates that reflect the coalescence of an identifiable English style in the early Renaissance and the death of the iconic Ralph Vaughan Williams in the mid-20th century. In this title find a chronological table of important events, an introductory essay on the history of English music, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on people, venues, repertory, genre, and sources.

Though dated, this work brings together the people, groups, instruments and concepts of the folk music movement.

This is a biographical dictionary with lengthy articles on musical personalities and bands, a listing of awards and a bibliography.

Though dated, this work brings together the people, groups, instruments and concepts of the 20th century folk music movement.

A bit of everything, this contains biographical entries of singers (notable for their involvement on a grass-roots level), annotated bibliographies of song collections, sections of other bibliographical resources and a discography.

In 8 volumes, this work is an extensive compilation of biographical articles on groups and artists in popular music (folk musicians are also entered here). The latest edition is located in the music library, while the 2nd edition lives in Ablah Library, 2nd floor, available for checking out.

This provides biographical information on women songwriters in various genres, but has a chapter specific to folk music.

This work indexes over 800 books and journals containing folk songs.

This is a set of indices bound together in a single volume to art songs and arias, folk songs, carols and sea chanties, found in collections published from approximately 1940-1957. When looking up the song/aria title, make sure you are looking in the correct index section by consulting the table of contents. A second copy is available to check out from Ablah Library, second floor.

A 2 volume index to pop, rock and folk songs in collections, listings include songwriter credits and dates. This also provides indexes to first line, composer and performer.

Though this is primarily an index of art songs, this also covers anthologies of folk songs, sea chanteys, Christmas carols, sacred songs and school/college songs. Be sure to check both the main section as well as the supplement section, though both are bound together. An additional copy is found in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

Though this is primarily an index of art songs, this also covers anthologies of folk songs, sea chanteys, Christmas carols, sacred songs and school/college songs. Be sure to check both the main section as well as the supplement section, though both are bound together. An additional copy is found in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.