This is an essential tool for students tackling problems as varied as research proposals, field research strategies, data analysis, and statistical techniques. Researchers will find current sources and concise instruction in the formulation of a research proposal, its implementation, and dissemination of research results.
This guide examines a wide range of writing assignments for music courses at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum, while employing a variety of writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing.
This is the bibliography of music bibliographies and one of the first places to consult. Divided into chapters by type of reference and ordered by genre, annotations provide brief descriptions and often citations of reviews written about each work. The lastest edition is found in the Music Library, while older editions are located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.
This 8 volume work offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
In 10 volumes, this is a good place to begin seeking information on folk and non-western music. The set consists of: v. 1. Africa; v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean, v. 3. United States and Canada, v. 4. Southeast Asia, v. 5. South Asia: the Indian subcontinent, v.6. Middle East, v. 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea, v. 8. Europe, v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands, v. 10. The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools. Accompanying audio CDs are available from the service desk of the Music Library.
The 3 volumes focus on important themes in education and human development. Authors consider each entry from the perspective of its social and political conditions as well as historical underpinnings. The work also explores the people whose contributions have played a seminal role in the shaping of educational ideas, institutions, and organizations, and includes entries on these institutions and organizations. This work integrates numerous theoretical frameworks with field based applications from many areas in educational research.
Volume 1: Strategies Volume 2: Applications
Throughout both volumes focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, and as music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction.
The MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies presents coverage of the most important issues in music education research in a handy and accessible format. This volume is both an excellent starting point for those looking to gain an orientation to the field, and a reference guide to the most effective strategies for experienced researchers, instructors, and pedagogues.
Answering fundamental questions about musical preference, ability, and communication, the field of Musical Cognition and Development is critical to the understanding of how music is processed, grasped, and learned. Drawn from the widely acclaimed New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning (Oxford, 2002), the MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development covers theoretical and practical techniques that explain meaning and understanding in music.
Call Number: REF ML100 .A64 2003 in Ablah and the Music Library and Online
Publication Date: 2003-11-28
Found here are in-depth definitions of musical terms. Some entries have bibliographies for further reading. The 4th edition found in both Music Library and Ablah Library reference sections. Earlier editions may be found on the 2nd floor of Ablah Library and are available for check-out.
Call Number: REF ML128.I65 B38 2014 in Music Library
This sourcebook was created to aid directors and teachers in finding the information they need and expand their general knowledge. The resources were selected from hundreds of published and on-line sources found in journals, magazines, music company catalogs and publications, numerous websites, doctoral dissertations, graduate theses, encyclopedias, various databases, and a great many books. Information was also solicited from outstanding college/university/school wind band directors and instrumental teachers. The information is arranged in four sections: Section 1 General Resources About Music Section 2 Specific Resources Section 3 Use of Literature Section 4 Library Staffing and Management