Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOAR: Shocker Open Access Repository

WSU Institutional Repository services and collections

SOAR: Shocker Open Access Repository

SOAR is the institutional repository of Wichita State University, managed by the Institutional Repository and Digitization team of the University Libraries Technical Services. SOAR purpose is to make the University's digital scholarship available to global audience and to serve as a reliable digital storage for WSU intellectual output.  SOAR has a dual function of a publication platform and a digital archive.

SOAR serves as a publishing platform for the WSU original research and scholarship, e.g. local journals, proceedings, research data, preprints, theses and dissertations, research reports, technical papers, posters, abstracts, presentations, audio-visual materials, etc.  SOAR also creates the databank of WSU faculty and student publications by adding to the repository the metadata records linked to the publication and to upload the publication's full text if permitted by publishers' policies.

SOAR also serves as a digital archive for the university documentation and publications: catalogs, programs, newsletters, accreditation evidence, reports, meeting minutes, speeches and presentations, news and other materials related to the university's plans, mission, and vision. By collecting and preserving these digital materials, SOAR extend capacity of the University Archives. 

Faculty or their representatives may submit materials either themselves or with a SOAR staff help. Access to some collections or items may be restricted according to the nature of materials or author request. Authors retain copyright to their own works published/archived in SOAR.

Graduate and undergraduate student works are the important parts of SOAR collections. Graduate School mandates deposit of electronic theses and dissertations in SOAR. Students are welcome to submit in SOAR their research works (required faculty recommendation).

Users have options to browse collections by title, author, date, subject, or type of publication or to search full text. Those who want to receive  notification on new additions may register in SOAR and subscribe to a collection via a RSS feed or using a SOAR internal email system.

Contact Dr. Susan Matveyeva, Institutional Repository Librarian if you would like to submit your work, establish collection, propose a digital project, or have other questions.

 

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers