SOAR: Shocker Open Access Repository digital publishing and archiving services:
- A fully functional system where WSU authors / curators may submit, access, and preserve their scholarly works in any format;
- Ongoing support for SOAR collections, responding to authors / users inquiries, and supplying system monitoring, back-up and recovery;
- Storage and preservation management services to ensure longevity of preserved materials;
- Consultations on creation of a new collection, its home page, structure, metadata, intellectual property rights, licensing, etc.
- Consultations on creation of individual faculty collection
- Set up access policies for open and restricted collections or items (e.g. thesis embargoes)
- Creation of departmental collections of faculty research
- Submission copyright research
- Preparation of digital objects (files) for publication
- Conversion files to other formats
- Digitization analog textual and still image materials
- Creation, enhancement, and review of metadata
- Submission of the digital objects (files) in the database
- Training on self-submission of digital collections in the database on request
- Building, processing and managing digital archives
- Archiving accessible WSU video collections
Authors are fully responsible for work content. The Libraries does not edit or proofread submitted works. WSU units and faculty are welcome to create collections and submit their works in SOAR. Students need faculty recommendation to publish their research in SOAR. Authors retain copyright.
