EndNote Desktop: Importing database search results - EndNote - Citation Management Software

Importing database search results into EndNote Desktop

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to export into your EndNote library by clicking on the folder icon to the right of each reference
Click on the folder link at the top of the screen:
Mark the references you want to send to your library again by clicking in the boxes to their left or selecting “all”
Click on the Export button to the right of your list of references:
Under Save citations to a file formatted for: on the right-hand side of the screen, click on Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)
Click on the Save button
EndNote will come to the front of the screen, where your references will appear
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references you want to export into EndNote
Click on the Download link just above your search results
Select RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager
Click on Download
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to export into your EndNote library
Click on the View All button next to the phrase Saved Documents on the upper right-hand side of the screen (the number of items you marked will be displayed)
At the next screen, click on the Citation Tools link on the far right-hand side of the screen under the Tools heading
Under Export to third party software, choose EndNote, and click on the Export button
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Go to Google Scholar (NOTE: Access Google Scholar through the Library’s list of Electronic Databases to take advantage of the full text of online journal articles to which the Library subscribes)
Click on the Settings link near the top of the page
Scroll down to Bibliography Manager at the bottom of the page
Select the option to Show links to import citations into, and choose EndNote
Click on the Save button
Run your search
When you see a reference you want to save into EndNote, click on the Import into EndNote link that now appears beneath each citation (you will have to import references one at a time)
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the reference appear!
The reference you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references you want to import
Click on the Export link at the top of your list results list:
Click on the RIS file (EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager) link
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to export into your EndNote Library
Click on the Export button
Next to Export: choose “Marked records from this search”
Next to Export to: choose EndNote
Click on the Export button
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will open with the Choose An Import Filter box displayed
Double-click on the name of the database you used for your search—ECO (OCLC), for example
Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to import into your EndNote library
Click on Export/Save in the upper right-hand corner of the screen:
In the drop-down box next to Output to, click on EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager
Click on the Continue button
At the File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

If searching directly on the PubMed Database, it is easy to import selected references into EndNote. Here's how:

From the search results page, click the checkbox for each record you wish to download.
At the top right of the results page, there is a “Send To” drop-down option. Select “Citation Manager” as the “Send to” destination.
Click the "Create File" button.
The file will download on your computer. Choose the option to open the file with Endnote.

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to import by clicking in the Check Item box
Under My Marked Citations on the right-hand side of the screen, click on ADD citations (it will take a few moments for your citations to be added); then, click the link to Save/Print/Email/Download
At the next screen, choose to export Citation Only or Citation + Abstract; click on the Download to Citation Manager button
At next screen, in the right-hand column labeled Citation Manager Formats, click on EndNote
At File Download screen, click on Open
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Open the database, and run your search
Mark the references that you want to import into your EndNote library
Scroll to the top or bottom of the screen, find the Save to EndNote online: drop-down box; select either Save to EndNote online or Save to EndNote desktop from the list of options, depending on whether you are using the online or desktop version of the software:

EndNote export option in Web of Science

Select the elements of the reference you want to send to EndNote, and click on the Send button
EndNote will come to the front of the screen. Watch the references appear!
The references you have just added will be displayed in a temporary Imported References window
To return to the list of all of the references in your library, including the ones you just added, click on All References under the My Library heading on the left hand side of the screen
EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you add references, so there is no need to use Save or Save As when you are finished working with your library

Adding the full text of an article to an existing reference

EndNote offers the option to find the full-text of the references imported to your EndNote library. Note: This feature uses an outdated browser and is therefore not recommended to be used with off-campus authentication.

You need to be identified as a University Libraries' user to find full-text. If you are off-campus, you must find databases or use SmartSearch from the library homepage at http://libraries.wichita.edu. Ask a librarian for help.

Before trying to find the full text it's best to set your preferences in EndNote.

Choose: Edit/Preferences/Find Full Text. (Mac choose: Endnote X9/Preferences/Find Full Text.)
Check all four of the boxes on the preferences box, if they are not already checked.
The OPEN URL PATH (which allows EndNote to find the full text from the reference) should be: http://dn3kg6nn2s.search.serialssolutions.com

Here’s what it looks like:

After you’ve done a search and downloaded some references in EndNote:

Select the references you want to find full text for.

Right click and select: Find Full Text – Authenticate. You will be taken to a web page where you enter your myWSU ID and password, and click “login.” Then click “done” to close the window.

Back at your EndNote library, right click the selected references AGAIN, and choose “Find Full Text –Find Full Text”.

EndNote will begin searching through both freely available materials and WSU-licensed resources to find the full text. You can watch EndNote tally the progress on the bottom left side of your library.

When a pdf is found, a paperclip will display next to the author’s name in your library. Sometimes EndNote cannot download the pdf, but will provide a link to the resource. These will display as “found URL.”

Install additional Import filters

EndNote is pre-loaded with many import filters, which are used to import article information downloaded from an online database and saved as an RIS file into EndNote. That said, it is possible to have found articles through a database for which EndNote does not have a pre-loaded filter. When this happens, you will need to download an additional filter from the EndNote website that corresponds to the article database you searched -- this additional filter is then added to the already existing filters in your copy of EndNote. See instructions for downloading additional filters for details.