Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote - Citation Management Software

EndNote Online: Importing database search results / manually adding references

Use the Collect tab and then the Import References subtab when you want to manually add references to your EndNote Online profile.

  • After conducting a database search, follow the database’s instructions for saving the references for import. Instructions for some database providers listed here: http://www.myendnoteweb.com/help/en_us/ENW/hsr_importformat.htm
     
  • Complete the import process in EndNote Online (Note: when you export references from a database, you may be presented with an option to import into either EndNote or EndNote Web.)
    • Select the file you saved for importing
    • Choose the database that you used from the drop-down list of databases
    • Select the group to which you want to send the references

Import references screenshot

  • The resulting screen will show that you successfully imported the references. Click on the name of the group to see the references in that group, including the ones you just added. They were also added to your All My References group.

Imported references screenshot

 

Direct import:

Some databases (such as JSTOR, Sage Journals Online, and most EBSCOhost databases) will allow you to import references directly into EndNote Web without having to save the references first.

  • In the database, mark the references you want to export, and follow the export instructions. At the File Download screen, click on Open:

File download box

  • If you are using a database that allows direct import, you will see a box that looks like this. Choose EndNote Web:

Choose destination box

  • If you see the box below, the direct import worked! The references will automatically go into the All My References and Unfiled folders in EndNote Online.

Success box

Use the Collect tab and then the New Reference subtab when you want to manually add references to your EndNote Online profile:

New reference screenshot

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers