Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

General library guide for History at Wichita State University

Find Articles using Historical Indexes & Bibliographies

What are indexes or bibliographies?

Indexes (or indices) and bibliographies are lists of published articles and other writings organized by topic.

Find the text of the articles cited in an index or bibliography:

Once you find an article on your topic, first determine if the WSU Libraries holds (owns) the journal which published the article. In the Library's Journal Search, look up the journal title. If the Library holds the journal, you will see a list of holdings (issues that the library can provide access to). Make sure the year you are looking for is available. If we do not own the journal or the issue you are looking for, just request a copy of it from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Selected Online Indexes and Bibliographies

Why would I use this kind of resource?

Older bibliographies and journal indexes, i.e. lists of articles and other publications on a topic, are especially useful for period and historiographic research.

Finding Bibliographies on your topic:

To find print bibliographies, look for your subject term(s) in the library catalog with the ending Bibliography or Indexes, for example:

  • Kansas--History--Bibliography
  • Great Britain--History, Military--Bibliography
  • Labor unions--Latin America--Bibliography
  • Mexican Americans--History--Bibliography
  • Women--History--Bibliography
  • Middle Ages--Periodicals--Indexes

Most bibliographies are located on the lower level of Ablah Library.

Finding the text of the articles cited in bibliographies

Once you find an article on your topic, first determine if the WSU Libraries holds (owns) the journal which published the article. In the Library's Journal Search, look up the journal title. If the Library holds the journal, you will see a list of holdings (issues that the library can provide access to). Make sure the year you are looking for is available. If we do not own the journal or the issue you are looking for, just request a copy of it from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Selected Print Indexes and Bibliographies at Wichita State Libraries

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers