A comprehensive collection of American periodicals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1691-1877). These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry & professions, religious issues, culture, the arts, and more.
Series 1: (1691-1820) Covers early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Series 2: (1821-1837) The subject matter represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, & politics. Series 3: (1838-1852) The themes in this series reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences,and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 4: (1853-1865) While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans-both leading up to and during the war- is captured. This series includes news from the battlefront. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 5: (1866-1877) The themes reflect a nation that persevered through the Civil War, the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion.
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century (1741-1988). Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Terms of Use
Art and Architecture Archive offers deep backfile coverage of influential art, architecture, interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration publications, from first issues through to 2005. Terms of Use
The Harper’s Bazaar Archive includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), fully indexed and searchable. This full color collection of approximately 500,000 pages provides a powerful lens into American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture from the mid-19th century forward, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the period. Terms of Use
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal. Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.The archives of magazines serving LGBT+ communities are of central importance for research into LGBT history, often being the principal sources for the documentation of gay cultures, lives, and events. Researchers consulting these publications may trace the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature. Terms of Use
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts. Terms of Use
Periodicals Archive Online contains the full backfiles of over 700 journals, digitized from volume 1, issue 1. Coverage for most titles runs to the end of 2000 or the final issue (whichever is first); journals added more recently terminate at 2005.* In total PAO provides access to over 15 million article pages, representing more than 3 million articles. Periodicals Archive Online connects researchers with a rich digital archive of leading international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. Terms of Use
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future. Terms of Use
Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. Terms of Use
Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most prominent, high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also, however, complements the first collection by including some titles focusing on more specific audiences and themes. Cosmopolitan and Seventeen, for example, are oriented towards a younger readership, while black women’s interests are represented by Essence. Women’s International Network News differs in being a more political, activist title, with an international dimension. Terms of Use
This link opens in a new window
