A comprehensive collection of American periodicals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1691-1877). These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry & professions, religious issues, culture, the arts, and more.
Series 1: (1691-1820) Covers early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Series 2: (1821-1837) The subject matter represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, & politics. Series 3: (1838-1852) The themes in this series reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences,and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 4: (1853-1865) While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans-both leading up to and during the war- is captured. This series includes news from the battlefront. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 5: (1866-1877) The themes reflect a nation that persevered through the Civil War, the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion.
British Literary Manuscripts Online is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors. It contains poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections, reproduced in facsimile and searchable via detailed descriptive information. Terms of Use
This collection includes Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Series I & II Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819; and Series I, II & III Supplements from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1819. Terms of Use
Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century. It is based on the bibliographies by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and has been expanded with holdings from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society. Terms of Use
Subjects include economics and trade, government, health, historic events, labor, languages, law and crime, literature, military, peoples, philosophy, politics, religion, science and technology, society, manners and customs, and theology.
Early English Books Online is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English, making digital copies of over 125,000 rare works from before 1700 discoverable through an interface tailored for early modern scholars. Terms of Use
A growing partnership of over 70 libraries and research institutions, primarily university libraries, pooling their resources to create a digital library. The primary goals are long-term preservation of fragile collections, along with methods for making these records more readily accessible while still respecting in-copyright works. While WSU faculty, staff, and students can search across the entire digital library, they have full-text access to only the items in the Public Collections. Terms of Use
The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars. Terms of Use
