Collected between 2011 and 2014 by Dr. Robert E. Weems, Jr., Willard W. Garvey Distinguished Professor of Business History, more than 25 hours of audio tell of business experiences, accomplishments and history of 32 African Americans from Wichita. Recognized as entrepreneurs in fields ranging from construction, architecture, mortuary services, publishing, aviation, food services and production to oil drilling and many others, the participants also discuss community life and their own families and backgrounds.
The History of Aviation Videotape and Audiotape Collection consists video and audio recordings of interviews with aviation pioneers and former employees of Wichita’s aircraft industry. These interviews provide a source of oral history on the early aviation industry, particularly in Wichita. You will need to make an appointment to view items in this collection.
Scroll to M for music in the manuscripts catalog. Collections include the Wichita Blues Project, the Robert L. Tonsing Collection of 19th Century Music, and the Thurlow Lieurance Papers. You will need to make an appointment to view items in this collection.
Music and Other Sound Recordings in Primary Source Databases
Reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, and gospel.
The collection of all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Covers the "long" nineteenth century including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. For music, look for the British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, which includes the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Manuscripts and Wandering Minstrels Archive.
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Listen to the experiences of European immigrants living in New York tenement buildings. War brides, political refugees and displaced persons relate first impressions of Canada. Finnish Americans and their families share personal histories and experiences from first generation arrivals in the United States to becoming naturalised American citizen. Italian-American families in the New York area discuss daily life in the early twentieth century.
Oral histories of North American Indians, listed by speaker. Firsthand accounts reveal how Native Americans lived, thought, and fought to protect their interests; how the tribes interacted with each other and the white invaders; how they reacted to the constantly changing and challenging situations they faced; and how they struggled to maintain their cultures while living in a society that often expects them to abandon it for acculturation.
Oral Histories from Atlanta History Center, Washington University in St. Louis and Weeksville Heritage Center in Brooklyn revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
All oral histories in The Sixties database. Use the search text within results to search within the 124 available oral histories. Or use the Historical Themes and Historical Events drop-down list to filter the results.
An archive detailing the work of recent generations of historians who developed American women's history from the 1960s forward. Transcripts only of interviews conducted in 2001 and 2002.
Muisc and Oral Histories in Online Archives
A selection of music, oral histories, and other sound recordings in openly available databases online.
Over 5,000 interviews and more than 150,000 pages of transcribed material. The largest collection contains more than 900 interviews with Native Americans including Seminoles, Cherokees, and Creeks. Other major holdings include projects on African Americans in Florida in the Joel Buchanan Archive of African American Oral History, Civil Rights action in St. Augustine (1964), and the University of Florida. Over 100 oral histories from the Matheson Museum are included.
This link opens in a new window
