Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation guides -- Chicago

Scholarly articles

Footnotes / endnotes for scholarly journal articles


Scholarly article:

1. Ann Grodzins Gold, “Grains of Truth: Shifting Hierarchies of Food and Grace in Three Rajasthani Tales,” History of Religions
     38, no.2 (1998): 150-171.

Scholarly article, with a DOI, citing a direct quote from the article:
Niels Van Doorn, "Digital spaces, material traces: How matter comes to matter in online performances of gender, sexuality and embodiment,"
     
Media, Culture & Society 33, no. 4 (2011): 545, doi:10.1177/0163443711398692.

  • When citing a direct quote from at article, include a colon and then the page number(s) on which the quote appears after the year of publication

Scholarly article, with a Web address from a library database:
Richard Neer, "The Athenian Treasury at Delphi and the Material of Politics," Classical Antiquity, 23, no. 1 (2004),
     http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1525/ca.2004.23.1.63.

Scholarly article, with the name of a library database:

It should be noted that the Manual contradicts itself on whether this construction of a citation is acceptable or not.  Sections 14.271-272 of the Manual describe this form of citation as being acceptable, whereas sections 14.184-185 say it is not a recognized form in the Chicago style.

Rebecca Evans, "Pinochet in London—Pinochet in Chile: International and Domestic Politics in Human Rights Policy," Human Rights Quarterly
     28, no. 1 (2006), Academic Search Premier (20098672).

  • Write the name of the database.  Following the name of the database, include any accession or identification numbers that are part of the database record.  If such a number does not exist, just put a period after the database name.

Sections 14.184-185 and 14.271-272 of the Manual offer further information on citing articles from scholarly databases.

 

Bibliography for scholarly journal articles


Scholarly article:

Gold, Ann Grodzins. “Grains of Truth: Shifting Hierarchies of Food and Grace in Three Rajasthani Tales.”  History of Religions
     38, no.2 (1998): 150-171.

Scholarly article, with a DOI:
Van Doorn, 
Niels"Digital spaces, material traces: How matter comes to matter in online performances of gender, sexuality and embodiment."
     
Media, Culture & Society 33, no. 4 (2011): 531-547. doi:10.1177/0163443711398692.

Scholarly article, with a Web address from a library database:
Neer, Richard"The Athenian Treasury at Delphi and the Material of Politics." Classical Antiquity, 23, no. 1 (2004): 63-93.
     http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1525/ca.2004.23.1.63.

Scholarly article, with the name of a library database:
Evans, Rebecca. "Pinochet in London—Pinochet in Chile: International and Domestic Politics in Human Rights Policy." Human Rights Quarterly
     28, no. 1 (2006): 207-244. Academic Search Premier (20098672).

Reference list for scholarly journal articles


Scholarly article:

GoldAnn Grodzins. 1998. “Grains of Truth: Shifting Hierarchies of Food and Grace in Three Rajasthani Tales.” History of Religions 38(2):
     150-171.

Scholarly article, with a DOI:
Van Doorn, 
Niels. 2011. "Digital spaces, material traces: How matter comes to matter in online performances of gender, sexuality and
     embodiment." 
Media, Culture & Society 33(4): 531-547. doi:10.1177/0163443711398692.

Scholarly article, from a library database but with no DOI:
Neer, Richard. 2004. "The Athenian Treasury at Delphi and the Material of Politics." Classical Antiquity 23(1): 63-93.
     http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1525/ca.2004.23.1.63.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers