Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Searching for Tenure & Promotion Files

Fine Arts

Try These First!
     ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

Source

Search Method


​Scopus 
**
Largest abstract and citation
database of peer-review
literature including scientific
journals, books, & conference
proceedings. Includes over
71 million records and 23,700
titles from 5,000 publishers.


Scopus defaults to the “Document search” screen. Click on Authors link at the top to go to the “Author search” screen. Enter Author’s last name and first name. Click on Search. (An alternative author search is to enter the author’s ORCID, if known, and click on Search).

Check whatever boxes refer to the author in question. Click on Show Documents. Results will display articles, proceedings, etc. by the author indexed in Scopus with their title, authors, year, source, and # of times cited. The latter links to the citing articles.

To see articles and other documents by the author not indexed in Scopus but found in references, click on Secondary Documents in the upper right. The # of times cited will be displayed for each secondary document.

“Broadly search for scholarly literature… across many disciplines and sources,” including articles, theses, books and more.



Sign up for Google Scholar Citations while you're here, and keep track of citations to your articles.


Click drop-down arrow in search box to access Advanced Scholar Search. Type author’s name into authored by search box. In results list, click on Cited by link to view references for publications in which document has been cited.


Click on the My Citations link at the top of the page. If you already have a gmail or other Google account, sign in. If not, click on the Create an account link near the bottom of the page and sign up. Click here for instructions on setting up your Google Scholar profile. It's quick and easy!

“Search the full text of books…If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text.”


Type author’s name into search box, and click on Search Books. Majority of search results will be books written by that author, but look for titles that are followed by a page number—more likely to be ones in which name was mentioned in text or references. Click on title to view page, or piece of page, on which name was found (highlighted in yellow).

Search Journals
     ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

  • Some of the databases below provide a special option for citation searching, making the process faster and easier. These databases will be identified with a blue ribbon: 
  • The remaining databases require a more time-consuming approach that entails some "digging" through the full text of articles. This process, however, can often be very fruitful. 

Source

Search Method

Indexes worldwide art periodicals.


Type author’s name in first search box, and select TX All Text fields from drop-down list. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT. Then, type sameauthor's name in second search box, and choose AU Author, Personal from drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). Limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if desired. From results list, bring an article to the screen (if available) and use FIND to locate name in text/references.


ECO (Electronic Collections Online)**
A collection of scholarly e-journals. Includes Fine Arts and Education.


Use Advanced search to search author’s name in Reference field. Click on a title from results list, and scroll down to see name highlighted in yellow in reference list.

Indexes several hundred education journals, including some Art Education and Music Educationjournals.


Type author’s name in first search box, and select TX All Text fields from drop-down list. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT. Then, type sameauthor's name in second search box, and choose AU Author, Personal from drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). Limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if desired. From results list, bring an article to the screen (if available) and use FIND to locate name in text/references.

 

Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. IncludesArtDanceMusic and Performing Arts.

 
Type author’s name in first search box, and select TX All Text fields from drop-down list. In box at beginning of second row, change AND to NOT. Then, type sameauthor's name in second search box, and choose AU Author, Personal from drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). Limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if desired. From results list, bring an article to the screen (if available) and use FIND to locate name in text/references.

 

JSTOR **
Indexes core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, & physical and social sciences.

 
Click on Advanced Search link. Type author’s name in first search box, and chooseFull text from drop-down list. In box at beginning of second row, change AND toNOT. Then, type same author's name in second search box, and choose authorfrom drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in text/references.

Indexes articles and dissertations in music.


Click on Cited References link above search boxes. Type author’s name in Cited Author search box. Results will show a list of articles by the author, with an indication of number of Times Cited in this Database (if any). Check box next to a record, and then click on Find Citing Articles button to see bibliographic information for citing article(s). Click on Cited References link below a record to view reference list of citing article.

 

“Over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas.”


Click on Advanced Search link to right of search box. In Keywords section of page, enter author’s name in Text/Abstract/Title box. In results list, author’s name is shown in context—frequently in the References. Click on PDF or Full Text link to bring an article to the screen, and use FIND to locate name. WSU Library does not subscribe to all journals in this collection.

 

Project MUSE **
(Johns Hopkins University Press)
Indexes high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences.


Type author’s name in search box at top of page. On results page, click on orangeMODIFY SEARCH button near top of page. New search options will appear. In drop-down box between rows of search boxes, change AND to NOT. In the second row of search boxes, change Content to Author, and type in same author's name (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). Rerun search. In results list, each record displays an excerpt from the article showing where author’s name appears. Bring full text of article to screen (when available), and use FIND to locate author’s name.


University of Chicago Press Journals **
Covers “over 50 journals and hardcover serials, presenting original research from international scholars in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.” Includes Economics.


Type author’s name in search box (says SEARCH SITE) in upper right-hand corner of screen. In search results, click on a title and use FIND to locate name in text/references.

  Search Books
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

 Source

 Search Method

 
Full-text collection of over 1500 high-quality books in the Humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies.


Click on Search link, and use basic search. Choose full text in the Search in: box, and type in author’s name. On results page, click on Results details below a citation to see links to page(s) on which name appeared. Text surrounding name is provided. Click on a page number to view full page on which name was found.

 

Books in all subject areas.


Select Books search. Type author’s name into search box. For books that are part of Amazon’s Look Inside! program, a book Excerpt will be provided in results list. Click on page number after word Excerpt to view page(s) on which name occurs (must create a free account to use this feature). If name appears as author of a Look Inside!book, click on title, and scroll down page to occasionally see an orange heading labeled Citations, which may provide a list of other books in Amazon that have cited the book. Citing page numbers will be included with links.


eBook Collection **
Over 7,000 reference and other e-books in all subject areas purchased and shared with libraries in Kansas and 11 other states as well as a public collection of nearly 4,000 e-books that are in the public domain.


Use Advanced Search, and choose TX All Text Fields in drop-down box. Type in author’s name. In results list, click on a title to see Most Relevant Pages From This Book. An excerpt of the context in which the author’s name appeared will be displayed, along with links to view the full pages.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library **
Collection of e-book reference works in all disciplines.

 
Use Advanced Search to search author’s name in Entire Document field. After clicking on the full text link of a document in results list, use FIND to locate name in text/references.

  Search Journals & Books
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

 Source

 Search Method

 

Literature Online (LION) **
Indexes over 300 drama and literary journals, as well as a number of key reference works.


Under Search heading on left-hand side of screen, click on Criticism & Reference. Type author’s name into Keyword(s) search box. Some items in results list will be works by that author, and others will include author’s name in text/references. Click on the title of a record in results list. When full text is available, there will be a Jump to first hit in text link near top of page. Click on link to locate name in text/references.

 

Online version of the comprehensive art reference work,Oxford Dictionary of Art (formerlyGrove Dictionary of Art).


Click on Advanced Search link under search box near top of screen. Click onBibliography Search tab. Under Options, type author’s name in Author/Editor name box. Click on a title in results list, and author’s name will be highlighted in bibliography of article.

 

Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, andThe New Grove Dictionary of Jazz(2nd ed.).


Click on Advanced Search link under search box near top of screen. Click onBibliography Search tab. Under Options, type author’s name in Author/Editor name box. Click on a title in results list, and author’s name will be highlighted in bibliography of article.

 

Wiley Online Library**
“Access to over 4 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 11,500 online books, and hundreds of reference works… covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.”


Use Advanced Search to search author’s name in References field. In results list, click on References link for a record to view reference list. Use FIND to locate name inReferences. References are only available for journals to which the WSU Library subscribes.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers