Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Searching for Tenure & Promotion Files

More tools for evaluation

Some Useful Tools

Source

Search Method


Google Scholar Citations
"Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics." Free!

 

Click on the My Citations link at the top of the page. If you already have a gmail or other Google account, sign in. If not, click on the Create an account link near the bottom of the page and sign up. Click here for instructions on setting up your Google Scholar profile. It's quick and easy!


ISI Highly Cited
Identifies the most cited scientific authors “in 21 broad subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social sciences…most recent analysis covered papers from 1981-2008.”


Search for a specific researcher by name, or Browse the list of researchers by categorynameinstitution, or country. Website is no longer being updated as of December 2011.

Publish or Perish
Free, downloadable software which retrieves and analyzes academic citations from Google Scholar.


Analyzes citations from Google Scholar and provides statistics such astotal number of citationsaverage number of citations per paper,average number of citations per authoraverage number of papers per authoraverage number of citations per year, and more.

Journal Evaluation Tools
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

 Source

Search Method


Citescore
Measures citation impact for journals, book series, conference proceedings, and trade journals using data from Scopus, the abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from Elsevier. CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in the journal in the preceding three years. Freely available.  CiteScore Metrics: The Basics

 

Click on Citescore for a direct link or if you are in the Scopus database, click on the Sources tab along the top of the page. Enter the journal title. If available, you will see the journal's CiteScore, its ranking in the subject area, # of citations, % cited, SNIP score, and SJR score for the most current year. You can view metrics from 2011-present. You can also view the entire list of ranked journals for the subject area. Click on the journal title for more details.


Ulrichsweb.com **
Authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 worldwide academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, and more.

 
Type a titleISSN, or keyword into the search box. In results list, click on a title to view details about that journal. If journal is refereed, there will be an indication in the details near top of screen. Farther down screen, expand section headed Other Availability to see if journal is included in any abstracting and indexing services. This could be another indicator of quality.


Cabell's Educational Directories **
Provides acceptance rates, type of review (blind, editorial or peer), number of reviewers, number of invited articles, and more for Education journals. Covers Curriculum & MethodsPsychology & Administration, and Educational Technology & Library Science.


Select a directory to search. and click on Access Selected Directorybutton. Enter title in Journal title contains box. Results appear at bottom of screen, and display type of review and acceptance rate. Click on Display link to left of title to see full journal description.


Cabell's Psychology Directories **
Provides acceptance rates, type of review (blind, editorial or peer), number of reviewers, number of invited articles, and more for Psychology journals. Covers Psychology & Psychiatry.


Select a directory to search. and click on Access Selected Directorybutton. Enter title in Journal title contains box. Results appear at bottom of screen, and display type of review and acceptance rate. Click on Display link to left of title to see full journal description.  


Google Scholar Metrics
"Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research." Lists the top 100 journals in the English language. You can also see lists of the top 20 journals in many subject areas...Scholar Metrics are currently based on the index as it was in July 2013.


The top 100 English language journals will be displayed when you click on the link. To see lists of top journals in other subject areas, click on one of the broad subject areas on the left-hand side of the screen. Then, click on Subcategories to see a more detailed list of subject areas to choose from


Journal Quality List
"Collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources." Covers academic journals inEconomicsFinanceAccountingManagement,MarketingCommunicationPsychology, Sociology, and more.

 

Updated annually, this list is available for free download. It is organized three different ways for download: by journal title; by subject; or by ISSN.


eigenFACTOR.org
(Ranking and Mapping Scientific Knowledge)
"Eigenfactor not only ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences, but also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more.  In so doing, it more fairly values those journals bridging the gap between the social and natural sciences."


Search by journal name to view ranking information for a journal, select category (such as Anthropology or Business) from Search by ISI Category drop-down list to view ranked list of journal titles, or select a year for which you want data. Ranking information includes Article Influence (“a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations and comparable to Impact Factor”) and Eigenfactor (“a measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year”). Click on journal title for additional information.


SJR--SCImago Journal & Country Rank
“Includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).”


A prestige metric that can be applied to journals, book series, and conference proceedings. With SJR, the subject field, quality, and reputation of the journal have direct effect on the value of a citation. The SJR calculation is the average number of weighted citations received in a year divided by the number of documents published in the previous three years. SJR weights each incoming citation to a journal by the SJR of the citing journal. A citation from a high-SJR source counts for more than a citation from a low-SJR source. SJR is freely available with CiteScore and SNIP at www.scopus.com/sources.

            
            SNIP -- Source-Normalized Impact per Paper 

            Measures contextual citation impact by weighting citations based on the total number of                citations in a subject field. The impact of a single citation is given higher value in subject                areas where citations are less likely, and vice versa. 

           
           SNIP is calculated as the journal's 
           citation count per paper divided by the
           citation potential in its subject area,
           defined as the set of publications citing

           that journal. SNIP measures contextual
           citation impact and allows comparison
           of journals in different subject areas
           since the value of a single citation is
           greater for journals in fields where
           citations are less likely and vice versa.
           Calculated annually from Scopus data.
           Freely available with CiteScore and SJR
           at www.scopus.com/sources.           


Science Gateway-Journal and Academic Rankings
"A directory of links and resources for biomedical science and research...compiled by a group of scientists located in Europe and North America."

 
A variety of rankings in a substantial number of subject areas (mostly sciences, but some social sciences included).  Rankings include High Impact Journals, Most Cited Authors, Most Cited/High Impact Institutions, Most Cited Countries, High Impact US Universities, andMost Prolific US Universities. Click on a link to see rankings for that area.

Book Evaluation Tools
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access


WorldCat **

World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos. Database also available in a free version here: http://www.worldcat.org/


Click on Advanced Search button. Search on an author’s name, a book title, or a journal title to see how many libraries worldwide own a publication.

Book Reviews
 
** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access


Book Review Digest **
Index of reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children in periodicals published in the United States, Canada and Great Britain.

 
Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. On the lower portion of screen (under Search Options), select Book Review in the Document Type box. Text of book review is not included in database--click on 360 link to Full Text to see if review is available through the library.

 

America History & Life **

Religion and Philosophy Collection **

 

Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Peer Reviewed journals, if desired. In the Document Type box, choose Book Review.

 

Applied Science & Technology Full Text **

Art Full Text **

Art Index Retrospective **

Business Abstracts with Full Text **

Criminal Justice Abstracts **

Education Full Text **

Ergonomics Abstracts **

General Science Full Text **

Humanities Full Text **

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text **

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts **

Music Index **

Social Sciences Full Text **

Women’s Studies International **


Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if desired. In the Document Type box, choose Book Review.

 

CINAHL **

SPORTDiscus **

 

Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Peer Reviewed journals, if desired. In the Publication Type box, choose Book Review.

 

Informe (Revistas en Espanol) **

LegalTrac **


Click on Advanced Search tab. Select Entire or Full Document  from the drop down list next to the search box. Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases inquotation marks. Limit search to peer reviewed publications, if desired. In the box next to by document type, choose Book review.

 

ComDisDome **

Design and Applied Arts Index **

Social Services Abstracts **

Sociological Abstracts **


Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Peer reviewed and Scholarly journals, if desired. In the Document or Publication type box, chooseBook Review.


EconLit **

 

Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the main search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. In the Publication Type box, choose Book Review.

 


ERIC **


Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Peer reviewed and Scholarly journals, if desired. In the box next to Document type, choose072 Book/product Reviews.

 

GreenFILE **


Click on Advanced Search link. Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases inquotation marks. Limit search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if desired. In the Document Type box, choose Book Review.


JSTOR **


Click on Advanced Search link. Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases inquotation marks. Within the section labeled NARROW BY, click in the box next to Reviews.


PsycINFO **


Type the title of the book, or a phrase from the title of the book, into the search box. Enclose phrases in quotation marks. Limit search to Peer reviewed journals, if desired. In the Document type box, choose Review-book.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers