Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Searching for Tenure & Promotion Files

Health Sciences

Try These First!
     ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

Source

 Search Method

 

Scopus **
Largest abstract and citation
database of peer-review
literature including scientific
journals, books, & conference
proceedings. Includes over
71 million records and 23,700
titles from 5,000 publishers.


​Scopus defaults to the “Document search” screen. Click on Authors link at the top to go to the “Author search” screen. Enter Author’s last name and first name. Click on Search. (An alternative author search is to enter the author’s ORCID, if known, and click on Search).

Check whatever boxes refer to the author in question. Click on Show Documents. Results will display articles, proceedings, etc. by the author indexed in Scopus with their title, authors, year, source, and # of times cited. The latter links to the citing articles.

To see articles and other documents by the author not indexed in Scopus but found in references, click on Secondary Documents in the upper right. The # of times cited will be displayed for each secondary document.

“Broadly search for scholarly literature… across many disciplines and sources,” including articles, theses, books and more.

Sign up for Google Scholar Citations while you're here, and keep track of citations to your articles.


Click drop-down arrow in search box to access Advanced Scholar Search. Type author’s name into authored by search box. In results list, click on Cited by link to view references for publications in which document has been cited.


Click on the 
My Citations link at the top of the page. If you already have a gmail or other Google account, sign in. If not, click on the Create an account link near the bottom of the page and sign up. Click here for instructions on setting up your Google Scholar profile. It's quick and easy!

“Search the full text of books…If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases, the entire text.”


Type author’s name into search box, and click on Search Books. Majority of search results will be books written by that author, but look for titles that are followed by a page number—more likely to be ones in which name was mentioned in text or references. Click on title to view page, or piece of page, on which name was found (highlighted in yellow).

  Search Journals
     ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

  • Some of the databases below provide a special option for citation searching, making the process faster and easier. These databases will be identified with a blue ribbon: 
  • The remaining databases require a more time-consuming approach that entails some "digging" through the full text of articles. This process, however, can often be very fruitful. 

 Source

 Search Method

 

“Authoritative reviews in 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.”

 
Click on Advanced Search link in upper right-hand corner of page (under orangeSEARCH button). Enter author's name in first search box on left-hand side of page, and select Cited Author from drop-down list. From results list, bring an article to the screen, and use FIND to locate name in text/references. Some articles will not be available in full text. 

 

“STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model.” Indexes over 220 peer-reviewed journals.

 

NOTE: Must complete free registration to search site.


Click on Advanced search link under search box on top right-hand side of page. Choose References field from drop-down list, and enter author’s name in first search box. In results list, click on PDF or Full Text link within a record, and then use FINDto locate author’s name in text/references.


BIOSIS Citation Index ** 
Provides cited references for resources in the BIOSIS Previews database. Includes BIOSIS unique items from 2006 to the present and cited references for BIOSIS items that overlap with items in the Web of Science from 1926 to the present. Covers biology, zoology, microbiology, biomedical sciences, pharmacology, ecology, biochemistry, and more.


Click on blue drop-down arrow to the right of Basic Search, and choose Cited Reference Search. Type author’s name in Cited Author search box. To refine the search to citations to a single publication, type journal title, date of publication, or other information in the remaining search boxes. At next screen, click in boxes next to citations that refer to author (there may be other authors with same name & initials). Click on Finish Search. Results will display articles that have cited the author or publication.

 

CINAHL **
Indexes over 2,900 journals in nursing and allied health.


Click on Cited References link above search boxes. Type author’s name in Cited Author search box. Results will show a list of articles by the author, with an indication of number of Times Cited in this Database (if any). Check box next to a record, and then click on Find Citing Articles button to see bibliographic information for citing article(s). Click on Cited References link below a record to view reference list of citing article.

 

ECO (Electronic Collections Online)**
A collection of scholarly e-journals. Includes Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, etc.


Use Advanced search to search author’s name in Reference field. Click on a title from results list, and scroll down to see name highlighted in yellow in reference list.

 

Comprehensive collection of academic and professional research articles in all subject areas.


Use Advanced search. Type author’s name in Search for box—choose either In article titlekeywords or abstract, or In article fulltext. In search results, click on a title to view abstract (when available). If author's name appears in abstract, it will also likely appear in references. Some articles free or open access; majority available through subscription or individual article purchase. To check for availability through WSU Library, search the journal title in the online catalog.

 

JSTOR **
Indexes core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, & physical and social sciences.


Click on Advanced Search link. Type author’s name in first search box, and chooseFull text from drop-down list. In box at beginning of second row, change AND toNOT. Then, type same author's name in second search box, and choose authorfrom drop-down list (will limit results to articles where name does not appear as an author). In search results, click on PDF link, and use FIND to locate name in text/references.


MEDLINE **  
Indexes over 4,800 worldwide journals in the life sciences with emphasis on medicine and health.


Use Advanced Search. Click on Command Line link above search boxes. In search box, type CAU(last name) to search for author's name as a cited author, or REF(last name) to search for author's name in the references. In results list, click on theReferences link below a record, and then use FIND to locate name in reference list. 

 

Indexes over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas. Includes over 70 journals in the field of medicine.


Click on Advanced Search link to right of search box. In Keywords section of page, enter author’s name in Text/Abstract/Title box. In results list, author’s name is shown in context—frequently in the References. Click on PDF or Full Text link to bring an article to the screen, and use FIND to locate name. WSU Library does not subscribe to all journals in this collection.

 

PLoS (Public Library of Science)
“A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.” Indexes seven open-access life & health journals.


Choose References from drop-down list in front of search box; type author’s name into search box. Results are sorted by relevance, but you can change the sort order to either newest or oldest first, or to most viewed articles in the last 30 days or in "all time" first, or to "most cited" articles first. Click on a title, and use FIND to locate name in text/references. For another type of search, choose Author from the drop-down list in front of search box, and type in author's name. In results list, click on a title, and then click on Metrics tab to see number of times article has been viewed and downloaded over a period of time.

Indexes journals and dissertations, Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and more.


Click on Command Line link above search boxes. In search box, type CAU(last name) to search for author's name as a cited author, or REF(last name) to search for author's name in the references. In results list, click on the References link below a record, and then use FIND to locate name in the reference list.

PubMed Central
“Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).”


Click on Advanced search link below search box. Choose Reference Author from the drop-down list, and enter author’s name. In search results, click on Full Text orPDF, and use FIND to search for name in references.

 

“Online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals” in Social Sciences & Humanities, Health Sciences, Life and Biomedical Sciences, and Engineering.


Click on small Advanced Search link under search box on upper right-hand side of page. Type author’s name in search box, and choose References from drop-down list of fields. Click on References link, when available, below a record to view article’s reference list, or bring full text to the screen. Use FIND to locate name.

 

SPORTDiscus **  
Indexes journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more in sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, health, and related disciplines.


Click on Cited References link above search boxes. Type author’s name in Cited Author search box. Results will show a list of articles by the author, with an indication of number of Times Cited in this Database (if any). Check box next to a record, and then click on Find Citing Articles button to see bibliographic information for citing article(s). Click on Cited References link below a record to view reference list of citing article.


University of Chicago Press Journals **

Covers “nearly 50 journals and hardcover serials, presenting original research from international scholars in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.”


Type author’s name in search box (says SEARCH SITE) in upper right-hand corner of screen. In search results, click on a title and use FIND to locate name in text/references.

  Search Books
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

 Source

 Search Method

 
Books in all subject areas.


Select Books search. Type author’s name into search box. For books that are part of Amazon’s Look Inside! program, a book Excerpt will be provided in results list. Click on page number after word Excerpt to view page(s) on which name occurs (must create a free account to use this feature). If name appears as author of a Look Inside!book, click on title, and scroll down page to occasionally see an orange heading labeled Citations, which may provide a list of other books in Amazon that have cited the book. Citing page numbers will be included with links.


eBook Collection **
Over 7,000 reference and other e-books in all subject areas purchased and shared with libraries in Kansas and 11 other states as well as a public collection of nearly 4,000 e-books that are in the public domain.


Use Advanced Search, and choose TX All Text Fields in drop-down box. Type in author’s name. In results list, click on a title to see Most Relevant Pages From This Book. An excerpt of the context in which the author’s name appeared will be displayed, along with links to view the full pages.

 

Collection of e-book reference works in all disciplines.


Use Advanced Search to search author’s name in Entire Document field. After clicking on the full text link of a document in results list, use FIND to locate name in text/references.

  Search Journals & Books
    ** indicates that you must be a WSU faculty, student or staff to access

 Source

 Search Method

 

Indexes health/medical journals, general interest periodicals, pamphlets, videos, and reference encyclopedias.


Use Advanced Search to search author’s name in Full Text field. In box at end of first row, change AND to NOT. Then, type same author's name in second search box, and choose Author from drop-down list. Limit search to Refereed publications. After clicking on title of a document in results list, if full text is available, use FIND to locate name in text/references. The WSU Library does not subscribe to the full text of all journals in this database.

 

HighWire Press
(Stanford University)
“Partners with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses to facilitate the digital dissemination of 1726 journals, reference works, books, and proceedings.”


Click on Search link in black box on left-hand side of screen. Type author’s name intoAnywhere in Text search box. Results provide snippet of text in which name appeared. Click on PDF link to right of record, and, if library subscribes to that journal, use FIND to locate name. Some records have a View Citation Map link to right of record, which is a “picture based view of the reference section of an article” and “depicts the relationship between the citing and cited articles, indicating the most highly cited.”

 

“Journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.”


Click on Advanced search link in gray bar in upper right-hand corner of screen. Type author’s name into Search box in center part of screen, and select References from drop-down list of fields. In results list, click on Show preview link, and then onReferences. Name is highlighted in References. References are only available for journals to which the WSU Library subscribes.

 

Wiley Online Library**
“Access to over 4 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 11,500 online books, and hundreds of reference works… covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.”


Use Advanced Search to search author’s name in References field. In results list, click on References link for a record to view reference list. Use FIND to locate name inReferences. References are only available for journals to which the WSU Library subscribes.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers