LibGuides: Engineering: Find Articles

Databases

Use these databases and other resources to find scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, conference papers and proceedings, technical reports, and other publications.

SmartSearch will search most of the library's databases and library catalog at the same time!

Google Scholar will give you the WSU Full-Text Finder feature so you won't be prompted to pay for items we have access to.

If you can't find something you need, submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.

While many of our databases are excellent resources, IEEE Xplore, Scopus, and Science Direct are pretty good starting points (see below).

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Terms of Use
CRC Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CRCnetBASE offers instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical eBook references. Current collection includes the following subject areas: ergonomics, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering, health care.
Terms of Use

Note: Vendor recommends viewing in the latest version of the Firefox web browser.
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures. Terms of Use

Engineering Research Library
Cross-search web content from the fields of engineering, mathematics, and computing, including Caltech Earthquake Engineering Reports, CISTI, and Emerald Engineering. Many resources are from the "Hidden Web" and not indexed by Google.

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in nearly 300 periodicals in the life sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage of indexing: 1984-present; full-text: 1995-present.
Terms of Use
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) provides access to the IEEE core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals. Including 174 IEEE online society-sponsored journals, transactions, and magazines; peer-reviewed publications, concentrating on theoretical and experimental papers; quality magazines focusing on practical applications in research, design, and specification; backfiles to 2005; and INSPEC abstract/citation and bibliographic records.
Terms of Use

IEEE can be accessed from off campus with your mobile device. The instructions on how to do this can be found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/remoteaccess.
IEEE now has an IEEE Xplore Image Search App for iPads. It contains over 1 million images from IEEE journals which can be browsed or searched then saved or emailed. Authorized users can access full text articles and download them to their iPad. The free download is available in the App store: http://bit.ly/1c60lFH
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the tables of contents of over 2,500 journals published by Elsevier, with strong collections in the sciences, social sciences, engineering, and medicine. Full-text access to articles is available for over 100 journals subscribed to by WSU and over 150 open access journals.
Terms of Use
To link to ILLiad from Science Direct, click on the article title, then “360 Link to Full-Text”, and then “Submit Request”.
Instructions for eBook Downloading
As of January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8.
Scitation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to over two million journal and magazine articles in physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, acoustics, and more. Also indexes conference proceedings, ebooks, standards, patents, and databases. Includes SPIN content- citations and abstracts of journals and proceedings from scientific societies in physics and astronomy.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Databases in the SciTech Premium Collection include: Agricultural & Enviornmental Science Database (1946-Present), Biological Science Database (1946-Present), and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (1950-Present), Medline (1946-Present), Materials Science & Engineering Database (1965-Present), and Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (1962-Present). Terms of Use
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Terms of Use
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals and ebooks published by Springer. Includes titles in business, education, engineering, humanities, medicine, psychology, biological and physical sciences.
Also includes the 2011 Handbook Collection & 2011 Encyclopedia Collection.
Terms of Use
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to articles in over 350 Blackwell and Wiley journals. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals in this package.
Terms of Use

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive engineering and technology information resource providing worldwide bibliographic coverage of published and unpublished scientific and technical literature. Indexes over 1,600 periodicals worldwide. Coverage: 1986-present.
Terms of Use
AIAA Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text meeting papers of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics. Coverage: 1996-present. AIAA papers are fully indexed in Aerospace Database. The library holds complete microfiche access to AIAA papers back to 1986.
Terms of Use.

NTRS (NASA Technical Reports Server)
Find materials in the NACA, NASA STI, and NIX collections. As a Government Documents Depository, University Libraries has many of these items in the local collection. Click for search tips.

BioOne- access ends 12/31/24 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Terms of Use
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings published by the Association of Computing Machinery. Includes all backfiles.
Terms of Use

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current.
Terms of Use

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (thomasnet.com)
Includes line-item product details, CAD drawings, and suppliers to assist with OEM and MRO needs.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to ASME's Transaction Journals back to 1960, conference proceedings back to 2002, and select ASME Press eBooks back to 1963. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals, proceedings, or ebooks available in this collection.

Engineering

A note about SmartSearch

Legend

Databases

Databases