Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 370: Introduction to Environmental Science

Searching Strategically


Finding Articles Using SmartSearch
This tutorial will show you how to search for articles using SmartSearch, a library search engine that provides results from a variety of different databases subscribed to by the University Libraries.  Click anywhere on the image to begin.

Finding Articles Using SmartSearch

Please make sure to make use of the FILTERS available in the library's databases (Date, subject, peer-reviewed, academic journals, etc.) to help your searches be more effective as well as to narrow or expand your literature results!

Overviews of the Perspectives

Use these library databases to find popular and scholarly opinions on topics related to your studies

Academic Databases

Use these databases when you're ready to dig deep into the scholarly literature, have references or citations to follow, or need scholarly articles on your topics.

Remember to utilize the filters in the databases (dates, subject/category filters, citation tools, peer-review/academic journals, etc.) to create better searches and learn keywords to use in other databases!

And it's crucial in scientific research that you take advantage of INTER-LIBRARY LOAN! in order to get the resources you need that we may not have full-text access to!  Articles usually arrive within 6 to 24 hours!

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers