LibGuides: PHIL 385: Engineering Ethics: Finding News Articles

Newspapers and Media

Newspapers are a great source of primary information about events (especially disasters!). You have online access to a great many newspapers through the WSU Library. You can look for articles about both current and historical events. There are also a number of media websites that provide commentary on technology and social developments.

For even more resources for finding newspaper articles, please see Cathy Moore-Jansen's excellent guide to Newspapers.

Image Source: http://www.boly.hu

Current

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database which allows searching of more than 1,000 newspapers by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General database that indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images -- across all disciplines.
Terms of Use
New York Times (1851-3 years ago) with Index (1851-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-three years ago. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of Use
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Terms of Use
Times (London) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive has over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Terms of Use

Historical

Chronicling America
600 freely-available newspapers from 30 states published between the 1830s and 1922 created by the Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities.

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) It is a collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Terms of Use
New York Times (1851-3 years ago) with Index (1851-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-three years ago. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of Use
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each issue is captured cover-to-cover with access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Alternate title: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Terms of Use
Times (London) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive has over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Terms of Use

PHIL 385: Engineering Ethics

Other Media

Evaluating Information Sources

Your Librarian

Newspapers and Media

Current

Historical