Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation guides -- Chicago

Webpages

Footnotes / endnotes for webpages


Please also note that these examples refer to Web pages retrieved from the free Internet.  They do not refer to e-books, nor do they refer to articles from databases or online encyclopedias accessible through the library.  For examples of citing these types of materials, click on the books, articles, and/or encyclopedias links to the left.

Section 14.245 of the Manual presents the elements of a webpage citation (which are in a slightly different order than a citation for a book or article):

  • Webpage title (or a description of the page if there is no title)
  • Webpage author (if any)
  • The owner or sponsor of the site
  • Publication, revision, or last updated date if any; if no date of this nature is available, include an access date
  • Webpage address.  Unlike in other citation styles, you do include a period at the end of a webpage address when citing webpages in the Chicago style.

Web Page, Author:
Kathie Nunley, "The Caffeine Craze of Youth," Layered Curriculum, accessed July 28, 2008. http://help4teachers.com/caffeine.htm.

Web Page, Group Author: 
United Nations Platform for Action Committee, “Globalization and Clothes,” Women and the Economy, last modified March 2011,
     http://unpac.ca/economy/g_clothes.html.

Web Page, No Author:
"Leave no Veteran Behind: A Special Court Tries to Keep Troubled Veterans out of Prison,” The Economist, June 2, 2011,
     http://www.economist.com/node/18775315.

  • There is a distinction between a webpage and a website:  a webpage is an individual page that forms part of a larger, broader website -- for example the Ask A Librarian page is a webpage within the Library's website.
  • When citing content from the Web, cite the individual page where you found the information you are citing, not the broader website
  • The title of a webpage is analogous to chapter or article title, and as such should be "put in quotation marks."  The title of a website is analogous to a book or journal title, and as such should be italicised.

Blog Entry:
Rebecca MacKinnon, “Internet freedom is dead. Long live Internet freedom,” RConversation (blog), September 27, 2010,
     http://rconversation.blogs.com/rconversation/2010/09/internet-freedom-is-dead-long-live-internet-freedom.html.

  • Section 14.243 of the Manual defines a blog as being a webpage with dated entries (posts) and dated comments

For additional information, see sections 14.243-246 of the Manual.

 

Bibliography for webpages


Citations in a bibliography are formulated in a similar way to a footnote or endnote, but do have slight variations from the way a footnote or endnote is formulated.

Web Page, Author:
Nunley, Kathie.  "The Caffeine Craze of Youth."  Layered Curriculum.  Accessed July 28, 2008.  http://help4teachers.com/caffeine.htm.

Web Page, Group Author: 
United Nations Platform for Action Committee.  “Globalization and Clothes.”  Women and the Economy.  Last modified March
     2011.  http://unpac.ca/economy/g_clothes.html.

Web Page, No Author:
"Leave no Veteran Behind: A Special Court Tries to Keep Troubled Veterans out of Prison.”  The Economist.  June 2, 2011.
     http://www.economist.com/node/18775315.

Blog Entry:
MacKinnon, Rebecca.  “Internet freedom is dead. Long live Internet freedom.”  RConversation (blog).  September 27, 2010.
     http://rconversation.blogs.com/rconversation/2010/09/internet-freedom-is-dead-long-live-internet-freedom.html.

Reference list for webpages


Please note that chapter 15 of the Manual does not include direct examples of webpage citations, so these citation examples are extrapolated from information in chapter 14.

Please also note that these examples refer to Web pages retrieved from the free Internet.  They do not refer to e-books, nor do they refer to articles from databases or online encyclopedias accessible through the library.  For examples of citing these types of materials, click on the books, articles, and/or encyclopedias links to the left. 

Web Page, Author:
Nunley, Kathie.  2001. "The Caffeine Craze of Youth."  Layered Curriculum.  http://help4teachers.com/caffeine.htm.

Web Page, Group Author: 
United Nations Platform for Action Committee. n.d. “Globalization and Clothes.”  Women and the Economy.
     http://unpac.ca/economy/g_clothes.html.

  • The Chicago manual frowns on the use of access dates or last modified for webpages, but offers no firm guidance on  when they may be used versus when they may not be.  See sections 14.7 and 14.8 of the Manual for further information.

Web Page, No Author:
"Leave no Veteran Behind: A Special Court Tries to Keep Troubled Veterans out of Prison.” 2011. The Economist.  June 2.
     http://www.economist.com/node/18775315.

Blog Entry:
MacKinnon, Rebecca2010. “Internet freedom is dead. Long live Internet freedom.”  RConversation (blog).  September 27.
     http://rconversation.blogs.com/rconversation/2010/09/internet-freedom-is-dead-long-live-internet-freedom.html.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers