Due to the loss of financial support from the Office of Research and Technology Transfer and anticipated increases in the cost of serials, the University Libraries has recently conducted a review of subscriptions and identified databases, journals, and monographic serials for cancellation to help offset the loss of funding and increases. Criteria considered during the review included cost, use, cost per use, and availability in alternative sources such as full-text databases. It is important to note, 15 years ago, the University Libraries only had subscriptions for 4,000 journals. Due to proactive collection management practices and economy of scale purchasing, the University Libraries now have access to over 55,000 journals.
Lists of cancelled titles in various categories are presented under the tabs in the upper left of this guide.
When a cancelled journal or monographic serial is not accessible through full-text databases or other sources held by the University Libraries, WSU faculty and staff are encouraged to submit requests for needed items to ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service. That service has been enhanced with RapidILL -- an even faster and more effective service now available to University Libraries. More information is provided under the RapidILL tab on the left.
Current Contents Connect (ISI) is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource providing access to complete bibliographic information for over 8000 scholarly journals -- including many of the cancelled journals. CCC can be accessed from the Databases A-Z list or directly at http://libraries.wichita.edu/go.php?c=4197746. There are two ways to access Table of Contents (TOC) of journals in this database:
1. Simply enter the title of the journal to access a listing of articles by issue, with the most recent issue at the top. OR
2. If you would like to be alerted when a new TOC is available for selected journals, you can set up journal alerts and receive email alerts or RSS feeds of the latest TOC of those journals. To create journal alerts, do the following:
For those journal issues not held by University Libraries in print or online, use the 360 Link attached to each citation to request an article through ILLiad/Interlibrary Loan. The ILL request form will be automatically populated with the citation information from the database.
