Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resource of the Month (ROTM)

Streaming Video Resources

undefined

Created by geralt/21860 on Pixabay/NeedPix.

University Libraries provides a wide variety of streaming video resources for students, faculty, and staff including two large streaming video databases, Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. We also provide access to individual documentaries and films not available in those databases, but are requested and available on the Kanopy and Swank streaming platforms. Links to these four primary databases and platforms are provided in the tabs at the top of this page.

In addition, there are other videos available through multimedia collections and subject databases. Go to the Video and Audio Resources library guide for information on all video and audio resources accessible to WSU students, faculty, and staff. These resources include licensed streaming collections, DVD/VHS collections, and videos freely available on the Internet. Learn about streaming video and copyright and how to embed and link videos in Blackboard.



University Libraries has access to Academic Video Online, a large database of streaming videos. It is one of the most comprehensive video collections available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes films produced by Annenberg, ArtHaus Musik, BBC, Bloomberg, Filmakers Library, Medcom, PBS, Sony Pictures, and many others. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street Press. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all students, faculty, and staff.

Master Career & Technical Education Video Package | Infobase

University Libraries has access to Films on Demand, another very large database of streaming videos. The video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but for quality and relevance. The goal of this database is to provide every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Includes videos by over 1,200 producers including A&E, Annenberg, BBC, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, Open University, PBS, TED, and many others.

kanopy - Town of Pelham Public Library

Kanopy is one of the best third-party video streaming services for quality, thoughtful entertainment and learning. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain. Kanopy partners with public libraries and universities to provide an ad-free experience that can be enjoyed on any device: TV, mobile phone, tablets and online. University Libraries orders requested videos to support courses across the curriculum on the Kanopy platform; we now have over 40 titles available to faculty and students.

Database of the Month: Swank Digital Campus (Streaming Films) | Bentley  University

Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. With over 25,000 movies, documentaries and TV shows, Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus. University Libraries currently has a collection of 50 feature films with plans to expand the collection in the near future.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers