LibGuides: Resource of the Month (ROTM): November -- Proquest Primary Sources

Proquest Primary Sources

Sign up for the Lunch-N-Learn on November 6.

University Libraries recently agreed to purchase three years of access to over 70 primary source and video collections from Proquest across a broad range of subject areas and supporting programs and degrees in all colleges. The Proquest Lunch-N-Learn on November 6 is focused on the primary sources acquired from Proquest. A second event is planned for the spring that will focus on video resources. Some of these Proquest resources will be switched to perpetual access over the next three years based on how well they are used by our faculty and students. Click H ERE for a complete list of recently added Proquest databases by subject. All of these databases are available through the library's A-Z Database Listing.

In addition to the Proquest resources, University Libraries has access to primary sources from other publishers and vendors. A complete subject listing of available primary sources is found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/primary.

For a library guide on identifying and using primary and other types of sources in research, go to https://libraries.wichita.edu/sources.

These primary source databases from Proquest were all recently added to the library collection. Many of these resources will be highlighted during the Proquest Lunch-N-Learn on November 6, 2018. For a complete subject listing of online primary sources currently available from all vendors including Proquest, Adam Matthew, Ebsco, Gale, and Readex, go to the Online Primary Sources library guide at http://libraries.wichita.edu/primary.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs, to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war. Users can see and compare, for the first time, the writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, seamen, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving both the Northern and the Southern perspectives, along with that of foreign observers. Terms of Use
Anthropological Field Work Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Terms of Use
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. Terms of Use
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching. Terms of Use
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Terms of Use
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. Terms of Use
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I lays an important foundation for clinical work with clients by providing 2,000 real-life, fully anonymized transcripts alongside an extensive selection of primary accounts, handbooks, and reference works. More than 25,000 pages of reference material round out this volume, complementing and contextualizing the primary sources. Content includes encyclopedic entries, textbook case studies, and how-to material from leading professionals in the field. Terms of Use
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them. Terms of Use
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked. Terms of Use
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Terms of Use
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures. Terms of Use
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities. Terms of Use
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table. Terms of Use
Global Issues Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Global Issues Library will include at completion coverage of 180 issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present that are key to understanding today’s world including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in Asia Pacific. Curated by an international board of scholars, issues and events are presented through a variety of perspectives—personal, governmental, legal, contemporary and retrospective—that demonstrate the interactions and interconnectedness of global issues. Terms of Use
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects. Our editorial board includes Laetitia Atlani-Duault (IRD; Hunter College/CUNY), Olivier Bercault (University of San Francisco), Phillip Cantrell (Longwood University), Catherine Filloux (Playwright), Pamela Graham (Columbia University), Adam Jones (University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus), Laura McGrew (Consultant, Peacebuilding and Conflict Transformation), David Scheffer (Northwestern University), and Ruti Teitel (New York Law School; London School of Economics.) Terms of Use
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. Terms of Use
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. The database is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Terms of Use
ProQuest Civil War Era 1840-1865 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of pamphlets and historical newspapers from the Civil War era. Includes: Boston Herald(1846-1865), Charleston Mercury (1840-1865), Columbus Gazette (1856-1865), Daily Dispatch (1852-1865), Daily Ohio State Journal (1840-1853), Weekly Ohio State Journal (1840-1841) Daily Picayune (1840-1865), Louisville Daily Journal (1840-1865), Memphis Daily Appeal (1847-1865), Morning Herald (1840-1840), New York Herald (1840-1865), Pamphlets on the Civil War (1961-1865) and Slavery & Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale. Terms of Use
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest History Vault gives researchers what they need — with access to millions of pages of cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents including articles, correspondence, government records, and more, documenting the most widely studied topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history. Includes content from Women's Studies, Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and African American History Plantation Records, and American Politics and Society: Temperance and Prohibition Movement. Terms of Use
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents. It’s packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments. Terms of Use
Sixties: Primary Document and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Terms of Use
Underground & Independent Comic, Comix and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Here are the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform. Includes Volume I and II. Terms of Use
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection includes document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Terms of Use

The following Proquest historical newspapers, including several African American newspapers, were recently added to the collection. In addition, the library currently has the Proquest historical archive of the New York Times back to 1851. In addition to the historical newspapers available from Proquest, the library has access to online historical newspapers collections from other publishers such as Readex. Subject listings of available newspaper collections are found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/primary as well as http://libraries.wichita.edu/newspapers.

Chicago Defender (1910-1975) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender. Coverage 1910- 1975. Terms of Use
The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1994) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the Christian Science Monitor (1908-1994). Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Terms of Use
The Guardian & The Observer (1791-1909) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of The Guardian and The Observer (1791-1909). Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Terms of Use
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Terms of Use
New York Tribune/ Herald Tribune (1841-1962) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of New York Tribune/Herald Tribume (1841-1962). Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Terms of Use
Pittsburg Post- Gazette (1786-2003) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of Pittsburg Post-Gazette (1786-2003). Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Terms of Use
ProQuest Civil War Era 1840-1865 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of pamphlets and historical newspapers from the Civil War era. Includes: Boston Herald(1846-1865), Charleston Mercury (1840-1865), Columbus Gazette (1856-1865), Daily Dispatch (1852-1865), Daily Ohio State Journal (1840-1853), Weekly Ohio State Journal (1840-1841) Daily Picayune (1840-1865), Louisville Daily Journal (1840-1865), Memphis Daily Appeal (1847-1865), Morning Herald (1840-1840), New York Herald (1840-1865), Pamphlets on the Civil War (1961-1865) and Slavery & Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale. Terms of Use
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to New York Times (2008- 3 months ago) and The Wall Street Journal (2008-3 months ago), historic American newspapers from ProQuest: Civil War Era, the Michigan Chronicle, the Christian Science Monitor, New York Tribune/ Herald Tribune,, Pittsburg Post-Gazette, historic British newspapers The Guardian and the Observer, and historic Black newspapers Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News. Terms of Use

The following Proquest periodical and magazine archives were recently added to the collection. The library also has access to periodical archives from other publishers. Subject listings of these archives are found at http://libraries.wichita.edu/primary.

American Periodicals Series (1741-1988) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century (1741-1988). Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Terms of Use
Art and Architecture Archive (1845-2005) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture Archive offers deep backfile coverage of influential art, architecture, interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration publications, from first issues through to 2005. Terms of Use
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Harper’s Bazaar Archive includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), fully indexed and searchable. This full color collection of approximately 500,000 pages provides a powerful lens into American, British, and international fashion, society, and popular culture from the mid-19th century forward, facilitating academic research in wide-ranging fields such as women’s studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, material culture, design, and more. It chronicles of some of the most influential work from world-renowned designers, models, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the period. Terms of Use
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts. Terms of Use
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online contains the full backfiles of over 700 journals, digitized from volume 1, issue 1. Coverage for most titles runs to the end of 2000 or the final issue (whichever is first); journals added more recently terminate at 2005.* In total PAO provides access to over 15 million article pages, representing more than 3 million articles. Periodicals Archive Online connects researchers with a rich digital archive of leading international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. Terms of Use
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future. Terms of Use
Women's Magazine Archive Collection 1: 1883-2005 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. Terms of Use
Women's Magazine Archive Collection 2: 1846-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women’s Magazine Archive 2 features several of the most prominent, high-circulating, and long-running publications in this area, such as Woman’s Day and Town & Country. Collection 2 also, however, complements the first collection by including some titles focusing on more specific audiences and themes. Cosmopolitan and Seventeen, for example, are oriented towards a younger readership, while black women’s interests are represented by Essence. Women’s International Network News differs in being a more political, activist title, with an international dimension. Terms of Use

Proquest has developed detailed library guides on how to use most of their primary resource databases. Links to selected resources are below. For a complete list of all Proquest database guides including primary sources, go to https://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides

Selected Proquest Library Guides

American Periodicals
Anthropological Fieldwork Online
Anthropology Online
Black Abolitionist Papers
Black Studies Center
Border and Migrations Studies Online
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, vol. II
Early Encounters in North America
Early English Books Online
Engineering Case Studies
Environmental Issues Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Food Studies Online
History Vault
International Business Online
LGBT Thought and Culture
Music Online: Music Periodicals in the 19th Century
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Periodicals Archives Online
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Psychological Experiments Online
The Vogue Archive
Women and Social Movements Library
Women's Magazine Archive

For assistance or if you have questions about Proquest resources, please contact the Subject Librarian assigned to the subject area in question. You may also contact a librarian through Ask A Librarian.

Lists of librarians by both subject area and college are found at https://libraries.wichita.edu/c.php?g=458531&p=3146247.