LibGuides: Women's, Ethnicity, and Intersectional Studies: Find Articles

Introduction

Use these resources to find scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles and other periodicals related to women's studies. Additional databases are listed on the A-Z Databases page with the subject "Women and Gender Studies." SmartSearch might also be helpful. Review the How to Find Articles LibGuide or contact the Women's Studies Librarian for help locating articles.

LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. Terms of Use
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.The archives of magazines serving LGBT+ communities are of central importance for research into LGBT history, often being the principal sources for the documentation of gay cultures, lives, and events. Researchers consulting these publications may trace the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature. Terms of Use
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
Gale Academic OneFile Select (Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General database that indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images -- across all disciplines.
Terms of Use

When a newspaper reports on events happening now (news), gives firsthand opinions (letter to the editor, editorial) or provides glimpses of current life (feature story, photograph, ad with prices, etc.), it can be a primary source.

Newspaper articles may also be secondary sources when they feature articles about the past (the first log cabin in your town, how the Civil War was fought, etc.) because the writer went to other sources for the information. (Are the stories in "Newspapers—A Good Read!" primary or secondary sources?) Learn more about primary and secondary sources on the Types of Sources guide.

Additional newspaper indexes may be located on the A-Z Databases page.

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002- ), Kansas City Star (1991- ), Lawrence Journal-World (1990- ), Manhattan Mercury (1997- ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002- ) and Wichita Eagle (1984- ). Also accessible, Access World news, which is a comprehensive news collection of local, regional, national, and international topics. Terms of Use
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.
Terms of Use
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. It features over 300 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Terms of Use
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned. Terms of Use

Find all full-text e-journals under the category Gender & Ethnic Studies (under Social Sciences) with these links:

Ethnic & Race Studies

Gay & Lesbian Studies

Gender Studies & Sexuality

How to set up Journal Alerts

There are 34 journals identified as "core" women and gender studies titles by the Women and Gender Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. Affilia, Feminist Studies, Signs, Ms. and Women and Health are a few of these core journal titles. Contact the Women's Studies librarian for a full list of journal/database matches compiled in May 2018.

Here is a breakdown of the number of core women and gender studies journals indexed in these databases available at WSU:

Women's Studies International: 27
Expanded Academic ASAP: 26
Academic OneFile: 25
ProQuest Research Library: 24
General OneFile: 23
OmniFile Full Text Mega: 23
MLA International Bibliography: 22
Academic Search Complete: 21

Feminist Periodicals
This bibliographic publication has past issues freely available online. Each issue includes the table of contents of feminist periodicals that were published within specific months.
more...less...
It is suggested that researchers locate articles by using the TOC and then use interlibrary loan.
Human Rights Web Archive
An official repository for the archives of several significant human rights organizations, i.e. Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch. CHOICE Review 50-6532 August 2013
Pantsuit Nation Resources
The Resource Document linked from the page is a PDF full of great websites, academic articles, books, reading lists for children, and other sources and lists. Topics include race and racism, gay/lesbian, religion and immigration issues.
WomenWatch
From the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality established to consolidate information regarding gender equality from across the massive UN system. Use the Directory of UN Resources (bottom of homepage) when trying to find other sources of information, including statistical information and publications from other UN agencies.
WorldBank Datafinder
for iPhone. Access 50 years of regional, national, and global indicators. Find data about development in countries around the globe. Useful for statistics about number of women in politics, women's life expectancy, etc.