Highlighting an electronic resource held by the University Libraries each month.
Please give us feedback on the resources highlighted in this guide.
Statista provides immediate access to over one million statistics and facts on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology, health, and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Ready-made charts and infographics, like the ones below, can be downloaded in PNG, Powerpoint, Excel, or PDF formats for presentations and research papers or embedded in web pages. Click on the graphic above to link to Statista or go directly to http://libraries.wichita.edu/statista. Statista is also found in the library's A-Z Databases List.
Signup for a webinar
To learn more about Statista, attend one of three training webinars to be held this month for students, faculty, and staff in Ablah Library, RM 217: (Registration is not required, but would be helpful.)
Monday, October 8 2:00-3:00 pm
Friday, October 19 noon-1:00 pm
Thursday, October 25 10:00-11:00 am
Statista provides over a million statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Originally geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, there is now a great deal of content available for students and faculty needing statistical information on topics in media, politics, society, technology, health, and education. The focus is on current statistics.
Get important statistics as well as full reports (dossiers), forecasts and surveys, industry and country reports, infographics, and topic overviews. Use Statista's digital market and consumer market expert tools and company database for marketing research. Statista has a wealth of statistical information ready-made for your research papers and presentations.
Using Menu Bar at the Top. The items in the menu bar provide descriptions and examples of the various types of data available in Statista, but do not provide a way to search. (See below to learn how to use the Search Box to search for statistics on a particular topic.) However, items found in the menu bar under the various headings may be of interest and provide a path to data on the featured topics. The tabs include: Statistics (most-viewed statistics and trending topics), Reports (Dossiers - topic overviews; Outlook Reports - forecasts or current trends; Surveys - current consumer and expert insights, Toplists -identify top companies in a given industry or region, Market Studies on all current hot topics, Industry Reports including an Industry Report of the Week, Country Reports, Further Studies - in depth topic reports); Expert Tools (Digital Market Outlook - presents current data on markets of the digital economy; Consumer Market Outlook - presents key performance indicators of most important consumer markets worldwide; Mobility Market Outlook - presents key figures from the world of automotive and mobility; Company Database); Infographics (current and popular infographics as well as an infographic newsletter with daily infographics about trending topics covering media and society).
Using the Search Box. The search box on the Statista homepage is a good starting point for all searches on a particular topic.
Search Results. The results are "sorted by relevance" with the location focus usually "United States", by default. Both may be changed by using the drop down menus. When a location focus is selected, the results for that location will appear at the top, though results for all locations are included.
|
|
From the left hand column, select the statistics, reports, and/or
|
1. Results list from search, "human trafficking" sorted by "relevance" with the geographic focus of "united states":
2. Statistic selected from "human trafficking" results list:
3. Topic overview selected from "human trafficking" results list:
4. Infographic selected from "human trafficking" results list:
1. Results list from search, "connected car" sorted by "relevance" with the geographic focus of "united states":
2. Topic overview selected from "connected car" results list:
3. Dossier selected from "connected car" results list:
4. Digital Market report selected from "connected car" results list:
1. Results list from search, "health care" sorted by "relevance" with the geographic focus of "united states":
2. Topic overview selected from "health care" results list:
3. Industry and County Report selected from "health care" results list:
4. Infographic selected from "health care" results list:
Downloading
You can conveniently download statistics in different formats. Simply click on one of the buttons for the different formats located to the right of the statistic: PNG, PDF, XLS and PPT. All of the Statista reports can also be downloaded.
Linking and Embedding
A linking URL and an embedding code are provided to the right of an infographic.
Citing
A drop-down menu to the right of a statistic and below an infographic provides options for citing in several styles: APA, Bluebook, Chicago, Harvard, and MLA.
Training Webinars Hosted by WSU Libraries
To learn more about Statista, attend one of three training webinars to be held this month for students, faculty, and staff in Ablah Library, RM 217: (Registration is not required, but would be helpful.) To sign up, click on one of the dates below.
Monday, October 8 2:00-3:00 pm
Friday, October 19 noon-1:00 pm
Thursday, October 25 10:00-11:00 am
Statista Videos
For assistance or if you have questions about Statista, please contact the Subject Librarian assigned to the subject area in question. You may also contact a librarian through Ask A Librarian.
Lists of librarians by both subject area and college are found at https://libraries.wichita.edu/c.php?g=458531&p=3146247.
