Research databases contain scholarly articles published in journals. Search the contents of History journals in these databases. Some databases include the full text of articles. Other databases list only brief descriptions of articles, which you can use to find the full text somewhere else, like Google Scholar or Interlibrary Loan.
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present. Terms of Use
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies. Terms of Use
Indexes and abstracts articles in 2,000+ journals on U.S. and Canadian history. When you find an article, a link to full text will be displayed below the title. If instead you see a 360 icon, click on it to search for the full text of the article elsewhere. If the search doesn't find the article, you will need to ILL it.
A comprehensive collection of American periodicals documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1691-1877).
Series 1: (1691-1820) Covers early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Series 2: (1821-1837) The subject matter represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, & politics. Series 3: (1838-1852) The themes in this series reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences,and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 4: (1853-1865) While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans-both leading up to and during the war- is captured. This series includes news from the battlefront. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion. Series 5: (1866-1877) The themes reflect a nation that persevered through the Civil War, the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Subjects include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, & religion.
Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Full-text access to legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789-1838. Arranged by topic: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finances, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post Office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Miscellaneous.
Readex offers reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes from 1817-1994. Terms of Use
This link opens in a new window
