The author, book title, publisher, book edition and volume, copyright date and any other details needed for the citation are all usually found on the title page and copyright page, which is usually reverse of the title page. Although a citation aid can help create a citation in MLA style, the title page and copyright page within the book are considered to be primary source information for these details. See MLA Handbook chapter five for more help on citing books.
Almost all sources are found in a container. However, a book often is a self-contained work. A container is the platform that publishes the source or that publishes the electronic full-text version of the source. Common types of containers are listed below. See MLA Handbook ch. 5.32 for more examples of containers and 5.34 to better identify containers.
An access date is not usually used for eBooks because most databases are reliable and permanent sources.
World Development Report. Oxford UP, 1989.
Berry, Wendell. The Gift of Good Land. North Point, 1981.
Nuechterlein, Jonathan, and Philip Weiser. Digital Crossroads: American Telecommunications Policy in the
Internet Age. 2nd ed., The MIT Press, 2007.
Blaikie, Peirs, et al. Nepal in Crisis: Growth and Stagnation at the Periphery. Oxford UP, 1980.
Mohamed Thariq Hameed Sultan, et al. Advanced Composite Materials and Structures : Modeling and Analysis.
CRC Press, 2023, eBook Collection.
Del Castillo, Adelaida R., editor. Between Borders: Essays on Mexicana/Chicana History. Floricanto,
1990.
Poston, Lucilla, et. al. editors. Developmental Origins of Health and Disease (2nd ed.). Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 2022, doi:10.1017/9781009272254
Gall, Lothar. Bismarck: The White Revolutionary. translated by J.A. Underwood, 2 vols., Allen & Unwin,
1986.
Li, Charlene and Josh Bernoff. "The Social Technographics Profile." Groundswell: Winning in a World
Transformed by Social technologies, Harvard Business Press, 2008, pp. 39-62.
Marcus, Jane. "The Asylums of Antaeus: Women, War, and Madness -- Is There a Feminist Fetish?."
The New Historicism, edited by H. Aram Vesser, Routledge, 1989, pp. 132-151.
Jones, Malcom. "Scatology." Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. Edited
by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow, vol. 2, ABC-CLIO, 2000, pp. 883-888.
McLean, Steve. "The Tragically Hip." The Canadian Encyclopedia, 26 Mar. 2015, Historica
Canada. www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/en/article/the-tragically-hip-emc. Accessed 27 July 2016.
Wikipedia contributors. "Cactus Fries." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Cactus_fries&oldid=1164031688,
Accessed 7 July 2023.
