LibGuides: Video and Audio Resources: Streaming Video and Audio

Streaming Video and Audio

Streaming videos purchased by University Libraries are licensed content and are limited to current authorized WSU students, faculty, and staff. Purchased and licensed videos can be used in Blackboard, syllabi, documents, and other webpages. These videos include:

Thousands of streaming videos available via two multidisciplinary databases:
- Academic Video Online
  One of most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries with over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Now includes the Film Platform collection with more than 500 high-demand documentaries curated for academic audiences such as RBG, An Inconvenient Sequel, and Human Nature. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street which also produces many of the subject-specific streaming video collections listed in the title and subject tabs at the top. An even more comprehensive listing of these subject collections -- also called channels -- is found in AVON here.
- Films on Demand
  One of most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. Offers a large variety of curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others.
Individual videos that are purchased and made accessible via two streaming video platforms:
- Kanopy
  University Libraries purchases 1 or 3 year licenses to stream films from Kanopy, a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films including titles from the Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, the BBC, and a range of independent film and documentary production companies.
- Swank Digital Campus
  University Libraries purchases 1-year licenses to stream films from Swank, a streaming video platform with more than 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows.

In addition, the Libraries provides access to many other licensed collections that are listed under the By Title and By Subject tabs at the top. Many of these collections are provided by Alexander Street Press, the producer of Academic Video Online.

60 Minutes: 1997- 2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of streaming videos from broadcast news program, "60 Minutes." Collection spans from 1997-2014.
Terms of Use
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
People who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember forever how they felt at the time. Now you can experience these and tens of thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way, with American History in Video. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and give library patrons hundreds of educational video titles they can view at home or in the classroom. Terms of Use
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. Terms of Use
BBC Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The BBC’s mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate, and entertain. Alexander Street’s BBC Video Collection combines 700 of our most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more. Terms of Use
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Terms of Use
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Terms of Use
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. Terms of Use
Broadway HD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Upon completion, this exclusive collection, available worldwide for educational streaming only from Alexander Street, will include streaming access to 25 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene. Terms of Use
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. Terms of Use
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 500 hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2012
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5 and ICD- 10 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The DSM-5™ and ICD-10 are the required manuals for diagnosing mental illness. The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5™ and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms. Terms of Use
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms- includes volumes one and two of the Education in Video series. Terms of Use
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I is a resource for the study of human culture and behavior, containing more than 1,000 of the classic and contemporary documentaries most frequently taught in classrooms. It includes works by world-famous pioneers Robert Flaherty, John Marshall, Jean Rouch, Robert Gardner, and others. Terms of Use

Ethnographic Video Online is made available to users of the Wichita State University Libraries by the Department of Anthropology through the generous support of the David and Sally Jackman Endowment Fund.

Film Platform
FILM PLATFORM connects academic audiences with leading documentary films and filmmakers from across the world. This exclusive collection is continually expanding to include the newest award-winning documentaries and current film festival favorites. Includes RBG, An Inconvenient Truth, and Human Nature.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table. Terms of Use
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects. Our editorial board includes Laetitia Atlani-Duault (IRD; Hunter College/CUNY), Olivier Bercault (University of San Francisco), Phillip Cantrell (Longwood University), Catherine Filloux (Playwright), Pamela Graham (Columbia University), Adam Jones (University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus), Laura McGrew (Consultant, Peacebuilding and Conflict Transformation), David Scheffer (Northwestern University), and Ruti Teitel (New York Law School; London School of Economics.) Terms of Use
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform for a multitude of subject areas: Gender, Race & Diversity; the Humanities; Business; Science; Health; the Arts; Teacher Education; and Communications. In addition to the videos the University Libraries has subscribed to, a preview of other videos are available.
Terms of Use
Flash is required to play the videos on a PC. Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Database features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. Terms of Use
Masterworks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Masterworks Collection is a rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.
Terms of Use
Music Online: Listening (United States) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. It cross searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest online classical music library with streaming access to over 45,000 CDs. Includes composer and artist biographies and comprehensive liner notes.
Terms of Use
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts (1990-Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Terms of Use
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. The database is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Terms of Use
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A nurse's responsibility extends beyond just addressing physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess, and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions.Nursing and Mental Health in Video features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. Terms of Use
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Terms of Use
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PBS Video Collection is now in its third edition and contains nearly 600 titles. This product brings one of television’s most trusted networks into classrooms, with familiar series and names like NOVA, Nature, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ken Burns, American Experience, and Frontline. Terms of Use
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents. It’s packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments. Terms of Use
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-quality Shakespeare productions are always in demand. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes to enhance student understanding of these important plays. Includes performance and supplemental material for the following plays: Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, Love's Labour's Lost, Love's Labour's Won ("Much Ado About Nothing"), Henry V, The Merchant of Venice, Othello, Hamlet, King Lear, Cymbeline, and The Tempest. Terms of Use
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. Terms of Use
Sixties: Primary Document and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Terms of Use
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Work Online is a multimedia resource that combines video—compelling documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. Terms of Use
Sony Pictures Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of over 300 Sony films from 1992 to 2015, including world cinema. The collection features a strong emphasis on documentary. Films in the catalog have received more than 133 Academy Award® nominations, with 33 wins, including thirteen awards for Best Foreign Language Film and four awards for Best Documentary Feature. Terms of Use
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.
Theatre & Drama Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre and Drama Premium provides everything you need to bring the spectacle of theatre and drama to your students, from interviews with giants like Arthur Miller or James Earl Jones to previously unpublished play manuscripts from the genius of Ed Bullins and Jeannie Barroga. Terms of Use
Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions. Terms of Use
Theatre in Video: Volume II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. Terms of Use
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection includes document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Terms of Use
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries. Terms of Use

AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Terms of Use
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Terms of Use

ANTHROPOLOGY

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I is a resource for the study of human culture and behavior, containing more than 1,000 of the classic and contemporary documentaries most frequently taught in classrooms. It includes works by world-famous pioneers Robert Flaherty, John Marshall, Jean Rouch, Robert Gardner, and others. Terms of Use

Ethnographic Video Online is made available to users of the Wichita State University Libraries by the Department of Anthropology through the generous support of the David and Sally Jackman Endowment Fund.

ART AND ART HISTORY

Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. Terms of Use
Masterworks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Masterworks Collection is a rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.
Terms of Use

BUSINESS

EDUCATION

Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms- includes volumes one and two of the Education in Video series. Terms of Use

FILM

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts (1990-Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Terms of Use
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. Terms of Use
Sony Pictures Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of over 300 Sony films from 1992 to 2015, including world cinema. The collection features a strong emphasis on documentary. Films in the catalog have received more than 133 Academy Award® nominations, with 33 wins, including thirteen awards for Best Foreign Language Film and four awards for Best Documentary Feature. Terms of Use
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.

GLOBAL STUDIES

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies Online helps students and researchers understand today’s world through primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. Terms of Use
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table. Terms of Use
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects. Our editorial board includes Laetitia Atlani-Duault (IRD; Hunter College/CUNY), Olivier Bercault (University of San Francisco), Phillip Cantrell (Longwood University), Catherine Filloux (Playwright), Pamela Graham (Columbia University), Adam Jones (University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus), Laura McGrew (Consultant, Peacebuilding and Conflict Transformation), David Scheffer (Northwestern University), and Ruti Teitel (New York Law School; London School of Economics.) Terms of Use

HISTORY

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
People who witness notable historic moments, either in real time or on film, remember forever how they felt at the time. Now you can experience these and tens of thousands of other historical moments in the same visceral way, with American History in Video. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive for students and give library patrons hundreds of educational video titles they can view at home or in the classroom. Terms of Use
Sixties: Primary Document and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Terms of Use
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries. Terms of Use

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

60 Minutes: 1997- 2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of streaming videos from broadcast news program, "60 Minutes." Collection spans from 1997-2014.
Terms of Use
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
BBC Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The BBC’s mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate, and entertain. Alexander Street’s BBC Video Collection combines 700 of our most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more. Terms of Use
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection.
Terms of Use
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform for a multitude of subject areas: Gender, Race & Diversity; the Humanities; Business; Science; Health; the Arts; Teacher Education; and Communications. In addition to the videos the University Libraries has subscribed to, a preview of other videos are available.
Terms of Use
Flash is required to play the videos on a PC. Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PBS Video Collection is now in its third edition and contains nearly 600 titles. This product brings one of television’s most trusted networks into classrooms, with familiar series and names like NOVA, Nature, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ken Burns, American Experience, and Frontline. Terms of Use

MUSIC

Music Online: Listening (United States) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. It cross searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest online classical music library with streaming access to over 45,000 CDs. Includes composer and artist biographies and comprehensive liner notes.
Terms of Use

NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES

North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. The database is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Terms of Use

NURSING

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A nurse's responsibility extends beyond just addressing physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess, and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions.Nursing and Mental Health in Video features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. Terms of Use
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Terms of Use

PERFORMING ARTS

Broadway HD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Upon completion, this exclusive collection, available worldwide for educational streaming only from Alexander Street, will include streaming access to 25 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene. Terms of Use
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 500 hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2012
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-quality Shakespeare productions are always in demand. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes to enhance student understanding of these important plays. Includes performance and supplemental material for the following plays: Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, The Two Gentlemen of Verona, Love's Labour's Lost, Love's Labour's Won ("Much Ado About Nothing"), Henry V, The Merchant of Venice, Othello, Hamlet, King Lear, Cymbeline, and The Tempest. Terms of Use
Theatre & Drama Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre and Drama Premium provides everything you need to bring the spectacle of theatre and drama to your students, from interviews with giants like Arthur Miller or James Earl Jones to previously unpublished play manuscripts from the genius of Ed Bullins and Jeannie Barroga. Terms of Use
Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions. Terms of Use
Theatre in Video: Volume II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group. Terms of Use

PSYCHOLOGY

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens. Terms of Use
Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5 and ICD- 10 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The DSM-5™ and ICD-10 are the required manuals for diagnosing mental illness. The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5™ and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms. Terms of Use
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A nurse's responsibility extends beyond just addressing physical ailments. Nurses now must understand, assess, and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions.Nursing and Mental Health in Video features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. Terms of Use
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents. It’s packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments. Terms of Use

SOCIAL WORK

Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Work Online is a multimedia resource that combines video—compelling documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. Terms of Use

WOMEN AND GENDER STUDIES

LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Database features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. Terms of Use
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection includes document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Terms of Use

Few feature film distributors offer streaming rights for films that faculty want to use for instruction. Without permission from the copyright holder, duplicating a film from a DVD is usually a violation of copyright law. Below are links to some licensed and free resources that provide access to feature films including Swank Digital Campus -- a major source of feature films for libraries. The library can add individual films to our subscription for a fee. If available on Swank, faculty can request that a film needed for classroom use be added to the library's subscription.

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts (1990-Present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. There are also some award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards. Terms of Use

Open Culture
Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns; Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. We also have special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin.

Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. Terms of Use
Sony Pictures Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of over 300 Sony films from 1992 to 2015, including world cinema. The collection features a strong emphasis on documentary. Films in the catalog have received more than 133 Academy Award® nominations, with 33 wins, including thirteen awards for Best Foreign Language Film and four awards for Best Documentary Feature. Terms of Use
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A streaming movie service providing box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies, and classics.

There are a number of open access Internet sites that link to streaming videos. These sites may host content or merely point to content hosted elsewhere. Advertising supports some of these sites. Some sites are the official sites of producers, distributors, etc. Content can change or be removed without notice.

American Experience
View complete episodes of select films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series.
American Indian Film Gallery
Vintage motion pictures offering rich perspectives on the American Indian experience. Videos are organized by tribes. Over 100 tribes are represented. Apart from what displays in the film itself, no additional information (publication date, running time, etc.) is provided. These archival films are not perfect. Some were educational shorts used in American schools from the 1930s to the 1970s. Several have abbreviated titles or missing endings. Some are spliced or scratched; others have faded color.
American Memory
The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures, organized into 11 collections including America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915; American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920; Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916; Origins of American Animation; Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures; and Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film.
American Rhetoric
Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events." Notable is the selection of speeches from movies, arranged alphabetically by title. Not all speeches have accompanying videos. Site supported by advertising, and maintained by a speech communication professor.
Annenberg Media
Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others. Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming. This graphic marks programs available for online viewing. Videos stream in Flash.
Archive of American Television
Hosted by the TV Academy Foundation this archive provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession. New interviews and indexes are added regularly.
ARKive
Presents a collection of vivid wildlife films and still photographs, with more than 3,500 of the world's leading filmmakers and photographers actively contributing to the project. Also included are teaching resources organized by age, games, and other activities. The site permits searching across Species Groups, Eco Regions, Geography, and Conservation status
BBC History of the World in 100 Objects
Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGregor, narrates 100 programa that retell humanity's history through the objects we have made. Each episode consists of an image of the item discussed, and a radio naration lasting about 15 minutes
C-Span Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's. CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Other features of the site include numerous instructional materials, including lesson plans, quizzes, slide shows, study guides, and worksheets.
Cultural and Academic Films from the Moving Image Archive
Excellent collection of nonfiction films including many historical titles as well as a range of academic topics.
Digital Video Library (Harvard-Smithsonian Center)
Over 1,000 digital video materials for K-12 mathematics and science educators. Searchable by keywords, instructional category, state and national standards, and more. From the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
EVIA Digital Archive Project - Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis
Collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan. Joint effort of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. Has the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video. Viewing videos requires registering for an account and agreeing to the end-user license agreement.
Folkstreams
Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Free Documentaries.org
Similar to Top Documentary Films, Free Documentaries.org is a small site that features documentaries. Focuses on political documentaries.
HealthLibrary Online
The Stanford Health Library provides a collection of online videos covering various health topics, including health and society, cancer support, and women's health. Videos may be viewable online through Stanford University iUniversity (iTunes interface) or QuickTime, or available for purchase on DVD. Not all videos are available for online viewing.
International Monetary Fund
Provides more than 1,000 short-form videos, generally under 5 minutes, produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Search options permit searching by a combination of elements: Category, Country, Year, Language, and Keyword. Categories include: Countires and Regions, Economic Outlook, Speeches and Interviews, Topics and Issues, among others.
Internet Archive
The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Internet Movie Database
Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain. The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video. The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu.
Learners TV
This comprehensive site provides thousands of streaming and downloadable video lectures, live online Tests, and other materials in the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Dentistry, Engineering, History, Language Training, Law, Literature, Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Physics, and Psychology. The site provides free video and audio lectures of whole courses conducted by university faculty from around the world. Most of the materials offered are licensed by the respective institutes under a Creative Commons License.
MathVids.com
Videos of lessons, tutorials, and lectures for middle school students through higher education mathematics educators. Covers a wide range of K-12 level topics.
Movieclips
Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook and MySpace, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.
National Geographic
Includes a variety of links related to mapping, geography, and education.
Newslook
Provides direct access to visual news stories and analysis of the current issues, selected from the web by journalists and documentarians. Advanced search provides filters for subject, source, length, and ideology (Progressive, Centrist, Conservative).
Sources include (among many others): ABC, CBS, Fox News, NBC, PBS, Associated Press, Al Jezeera, C-Span, Time, Washington Post. Categories include World (further subdivided by region), Economics, Science, Health, Art & Culture.
NOVA
Provides access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Programs are divided into chapters and have closed captioning.
Open Culture
Open Culture is a site that offers free educational and cultural media culled from the Internet. It was founded by Dan Colman, who is Director & Associate Dean at Stanford University. According to its founders: “Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it.” Not unlike the Internet Archive, Open Culture features media beyond video including educational resources and audio books. Particularly interesting is the site’s collection of works on famous critical thinkers and philosophers.
PBS Frontline
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.
PBS Learning Media
Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers. Content aligns with Common Core State Standards for preK-16 classrooms. This collection contains more that than 114,000 research-based instructional resources – including videos, interactives, images, audio files, mobile apps, lesson plans, and worksheets. Requires personal registration on the site.
PBS Video
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.) Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments.
Periodic Table of Videos
Video clips covering all of the elements in the periodic table. Many include demonstrations and experiments. From the University of Nottingham, U.K.
Plunkett Research
Provides short videos on topics related to market research, industry trends analysis, business commentary, and industry statistics on a dedicated YouTube channel. Includes selected videos specifically geared to the chapters in the book The Next Boom.
P.O.V. Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
SnagFilms
Access to full-length documentary films and indiefilms. Over 800 films. Videos stream in Flash. Films from some well-known companies are included: Icarus, PBS, and National Geographic as well as from first-time filmmakers. Brief commercials are interspersed through video playback. SnagFilms is based out of Washington D.C. and was founded by Internet pioneer Ted Leonsis. This site has become synonymous with documentaries and independent films.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design
Makes available the best talks and performances from TED and partners. More than 500 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks feature closed captions in English, and many feature subtitles in various languages. Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted. Talks are organized under broad subject categories: Technology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, and Global Issues.
Top Documentary Films
Offers fully watchable documentaries. Top Documentary Films was founded by a person named Vlatko – a lover of documentary films. It’s a small site, but with documentaries in various categories ranging from technology, sports, society, sexuality, religion, politics, philosophy, and many others.
TVNews
This portion of the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. The collection contains more than 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added. Use the index of searchable text and short, streamed clips to find programs to borrow on DVD-ROM or view at the Internet Archive’s library in San Francisco. Fees apply for borrowing. Further details on borrowing from TVNews.
United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
Features text, audio, and video resources for international legal research; arranged in three sections: Historic Archives, Lecture Series, and Research Library.
Veoh
Provides access to videos from major content publishers like CBS, ABC, WB, MTV Networks, ESPN, Sony/BMG and Lions Gate, other video sites like YouTube and Hulu, as well as independent filmmakers and content producers. Users can sort content by type using pull-down menus for Videos, TV Shows, or Movies, each with sub-menus including categories such as Documentary & Biography. Brief commercials precede video playback. Watching full-length videos via Veoh requires installation of the Veoh Web Player.
VideoLectures.net
An open access educational site with thousands of high-quality, academic-level video lectures, mostly in the sciences and business.
Vimeo
Video-sharing site that offers a wide range of content. Vimeo has focused on offering Another defining aspect of this site is the availability of HD video viewing and HD video uploading by users. Though smaller than YouTube, Vimeo has a lot of content. Like YouTube, Vimeo offers pay-per-view films.
World Digital Library
Primary documents and materials, international in scope, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, audio recordings, photographs, films, and more. Developed by the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO.
YouTube
YouTube is a subsidiary of Google, Inc. and displays a wide variety of user-uploaded video content, including movie clips, TV clips, and music videos, as well as amateur content such as video blogging and short original videos. Most of the content on YouTube has been uploaded by individuals, but some media corporations including CBS, the BBC, and other organizations offer some of their material via the site, as part of the YouTube partnership program. Due to the 10 minute limit on YouTube uploads (partners can load longer videos), many programs on the site are divided into several parts.
YouTube Education
Includes videos and channels from colleges and universities. Includes lectures, documentaries, and interviews.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
There are over 240 videos included in this article database for business and economics.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
This online encyclopedia provides two video collections:
•EXTENDED PLAY VIDEOS - organized by broad topics: ◦American History ◦Arts ◦Geography ◦Science ◦World Studies
Each of these topics is further expanded by titles of a video series consisting of mutliple titles.
•VIDEO CLIPS - organized by broad topics: ◦Language Arts ◦Mathematics ◦Science ◦Social Studies
Each of these topics is further defined by narrower topics. Individual entries in the encyclopedia may also contain short videos to illustrate points in the article.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Includes over 800,00 video clips including news broadcasts, local broadcast videos, Bloomberg Television videos, Variety video, NASA videos, etc. Limit your results to "Videos" to see video content.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources. Includes over 8,000 videos and video clips related to health from a variety of sources including news broadcasts, Reuters Health, Mayo Clinic Video, NOVA, BBC, and Frontline. Limit your results to "Videos" to see video content.
Gale Onefile: News (formerly InfoTrac Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
There are over 800,000 videos and video clips from news broadcasts including local broadcasts, NYTimes.com video collection, etc. in this full-text newspapers database. Limit your results to "Videos" to see video content.
Music Online: Listening (United States) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. It cross searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Includes over 1,600 video clips.
ASP Video Tutorials
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of content for exploration into social issues from all perspectives. Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more. Resources include videos on variety of topics. When searching a topic, select "Search Videos" to limit results to available videos.
Google Account holders can login using their credentials to easily download and share articles, including highlights and notes, using Google Apps for Education tools like Drive and Docs.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This full-text journal database for nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, etc. also includes over 1,700 videos and video clips from a variety of sources including Medcom Video training Programs.
Click here to browse a list of video training resources.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The full-text journal database includes over 2,300 videos and video clips from a variety of resources including INTELECOM Education Video -- with collections in sociology, history, environmental studies, oceanography, political science, health, philosophy, and business.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A tool allowing researchers to explore methods concepts in over 175,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content. This can help with designing research projects, understanding particular methods or identifying a new methods, conducting research, and writing up findings. It can be used as a cross-disciplinary source across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Includes over 30 videos related to learning and teaching research methods. Click on VIDEOS tab in upper right of screen to see list of videos.
Works best in Chrome or Firefox.

Streaming Guides

These guides allow you to identify which commercial pay-per-view services provide access to a particular film or TV show at any given time. They also provide a way to compare pricing.

JustWatch
Browse through movies or TV shows to see if they are available for streaming at any of the pay-per-view video platforms. Browse, track and watch TV shows and movies from one place.
ReelGood
Every streaming service in one place, from over 300 free and paid streaming services. Browse, track and watch TV shows and movies from one place.

Pay-Per-View Services
Most of these services offers subscriptions as well as the rental and purchase of individual films. An exception is Netflix which is solely subscription-based.

Amazon Prime Video
Amazon's instant video service provides access to more than 45,000 feature films, TV shows, and some documentaries on a pay-per-view basis with prices generally falling in the $3-$4 range. The time-frame for viewing is specified for each video. Setting up a user account with Amazon that includes credit card information is required.
Google Play
Hulu
iTunes
Netflix
New Day Digital
New Day Films offer quality, social issue films and provides streaming access to nearly 90 documentary films. This use of pay-per-view streaming is fairly unique among film distributors. Individual use of a title costs about $5. Showing films in a classroom when individual students have not acquire individual licenses is prohibited as well as sharing individual login information. Setting up a customer account as well as registering credit card information is required.
YouTube

Music Online: Listening (United States) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. It cross searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Terms of Use
ASP Video Tutorials
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest online classical music library with streaming access to over 45,000 CDs. Includes composer and artist biographies and comprehensive liner notes.
Terms of Use

For links to other resources for listening online, go to the library guide for Music Audio and Video at https://libraries.wichita.edu/music/musicmedia.

The Kansas State Library provides free access to CloudLibrary, a source of fiction and popular nonfiction eAudiobooks and eBooks. These eAudiobooks are available to Kansas residents with a Kansas Library eCard. (Kansas Library eCards can be obtained from any library in Kansas. (For instructions on how to get an eCard at University Libraries, see our Community User Services Guide.)

Video and Audio Resources

Does the library have a particular video?

Off-Campus Access

Streaming Video and Audio