C-Space includes the Media Design Zone, VR-Zone, 3-D Printing, and other high-tech equipment. The Advanced Development Zone is also in this area which has computers with prototype development software. Staff at the C-Space desk are trained to assist with equipment and software in this room as well as the One-Button Studio and Lightboard Studio on the 2nd floor. C-Space is located on the main floor of Ablah Library.
The Circulation Desk is the main point of contact for Ablah Library. They take care of book and equipment checkout and returns. Lost and found, maintenance issues, and health and safety security issues are reported here. These employees are always the first and last in the building to open and close. The Circulation Desk is in Ablah Library.
Library Help Desk students work under the Library Technologies department and assist people with technological help regarding papercut printing, Wi-Fi access for library and personal computers and devices, scanning, and other basic technical issues. Student workers can escalate a tech issue to the appropriate department, if necessary. The Help Desk is in Ablah Library next to the Reference Desk.
ILL is a service that circulates books and other library materials from other libraries for WSU persons, and does the same with our collections for people around the United States. This is an online service, although the staff has an office in Ablah Library.
The Reference Desk is staffed by librarians that specialize in various subjects and liaison to each college. While at the Reference Desk, they assist those interested in locating articles, books and other library materials, getting help using library databases and search engines, and teaching information seeking skills. They often teach these skills to classes in 217 Ablah. They also purchase materials in their subject area for the library collection. Ask-A-Librarian services are available for remote assistance.
Special Collections and University Archives is the unit within Wichita State University Libraries that acquires, arranges, preserves, and makes available to the public rare and unique books, manuscripts, university records, photographs and other images, and Kansas maps and atlases. They sometimes host events. Research using these materials is only available by appointment. It is located in the lower level.
The Chemistry Library is in room 127 Jardine Hall. The room contains journals and reference materials related to chemistry, study tables, as well as a computer for SciFinder and other specialized library databases. It is not staffed regularly, although visitors may enter by appointment with Cynorra Jackson, Access Services Manager.
The Thurlow Lieurance Memorial Music Library is located in the Music and Languages Innovation Center (MALIC), in room 313 Jardine Hall, along with the Savaiano-Cress Language Lab. It supports the research, curricular, and programmatic needs of the faculty and students in the College of Music. The collection includes music scores, sound recordings, music videos, and basic music reference materials. It is generally open Mondays-Fridays when classes are in session. Specialized equipment is available.
