LibGuides: CI 884 & 885: Inquiry into Instructional Practice Part 1 & 2: Finding Articles

User Guide for the ERIC database

Click here for a guide to using ERIC on ProQuest!

Research Tip

Use one or more of these databases to look for journal articles on your topic. It is a good idea to look for the option to limit your search to scholarly or peer reviewed journals in each database to ensure that you are finding the most academic and research-oreinted journals. Most will offer one or both of these options (sometimes called limits).

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Login with your myWSU ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. WSU Libraries participates in RapidILL, so articles are emailed within 24 hours (and often come as soon as 1-2 hours after they're requested). Books are shipped within 24 hours of the request and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!

Interlibrary Loan

Primary databases

There are three ways to access the ERIC database. The first two links below (EBSCO & ProQuest) go to commercial versions of the database that also give you access to the WSU Library's online journal subscriptions. The third link goes to the official, U.S. Department of Education version of ERIC, and does not offer access to the Library's subscriptions. You will be able to continue to use this version of the database when you are no longer students at WSU.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Terms of Use. (ProQuest)
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.

Supplementary databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, books, and yearbooks in the field of education. Full text articles from hundreds of journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1996-present.
Terms of Use
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
How to Use Google Scholar off-campus Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by Buros Institute, University of Nebraska. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Coverage: 1988-present. 4 simultaneous users
Terms of Use
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Terms of Use
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Terms of Use
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
A repository of ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA. International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. A source of structured information about tests and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Terms of Use
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals published by SAGE Publications in a broad range of disciplines including business, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, & books. It provides coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, literacy standards, school administration, teacher education, and more.
Terms of Use