LibGuides: MUSP 620: String Pedagogy: Reference Sources

Recommended Music Encyclopedias

The listings on this page include only select recommendations. For more music resources at the library please consult the library guide for Music: http://libraries.wichita.edu/music

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.). Formerly Grove Music Online.

Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG)
The primer music encyclopedia, containing scholarly articles with extensive bibliographies and works lists. In German, with international coverage. The set is arranged in 2 sections, the first 9 volumes and index relate to (Sacteil) while the remaining volumes contain biographical articles (Personeneteil). A prior edition is located in Ablah Library. REF ML100.M921 1994 in Music Library
Guide to Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart for English Speaking Students
A guide to using the first edition of the MGG (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart), this provides an outline and suggested methodology to accessing information in the encyclopedia. A copy of the 1st edition of the MGG, in 17 volumes, is located in the circulating collection of the Ablah Library, 2nd floor, ML100.M92. Guide call number: REF ML100 .M92 P4786 in Music Library Reference.
Encyclopédie de la Musique et Dictionnaire du Conservatoire (Lavignac)
French encyclopedia in 2 parts, 11 volumes, with in-depth studies in each section. Part I focuses on music history. Part II focuses on various topics relating to theory, technique, aesthetics and pedagogy. (WSU library missing part one, volumes 2, 3 and 4.) 1. ptie. Histoire de la musique: v. 1 Antiquité moyen âge, c1913; v. 5 Russie ; Pologne ; Finlande, and etc., 1922. 2. ptie. Technique, esthétique pédagogie: v. 1 Tendances de la musique, technique générale. 1925; v. 2 Physiologie vocale et auditive, technique vocale et instrumentale (voix instruments à réservoir d'air) 1926; v. 3 Technique instrumentale:Instruments à vent. Instruments à percussion. Instruments à cordes. Instruments automatiques; v. 4 Orchestration. Musique liturgique des différents cultes; v. 5 Esthétique. Chorégraphie; v. 6 Pédagogie. Écoles. Concerts. Théâtres. REF ML100.E5 in Music Library

General Reference Books

The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: REF ML100 .A64 2003 in Ablah and the Music Library and Online
ISBN: 0674011635
Found here are in-depth definitions of musical terms. Some entries have bibliographies for further reading. The 4th edition found in both Music Library and Ablah Library reference sections. Earlier editions may be found on the 2nd floor of Ablah Library and are available for check-out.
Introduction to Research in Music by Richard J. Wingell; Silvia Herzog
Call Number: REF MT1 .W825 2001 in Music Library
ISBN: 0130143324
An overview of music research, this manual provides helpful discussions of reference tools as well as guidance for writing. A circulating copy is also available from the 2nd floor of Ablah Library.
Music Reference and Research Materials by Vincent H. Duckles; Michael A. Keller; Ida Reed
Call Number: ML113.D83 1997 in Music Library
ISBN: 0028708210
This is the bibliography of music bibliographies and one of the first places to consult. Divided into chapters by type of reference and ordered by genre, annotations provide brief descriptions and often citations of reviews written about each work. The lastest edition is found in the Music Library, while older editions are located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.
Music Research by Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: ML113 .S28 2020 in ABLAH LIBRARY
ISBN: 9780190644505
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Clear, concise, and practical, Music Research: A Handbook introduces the major print and electronic research tools available with a strong focus on the connection between music and writing.
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by Jonathan D. Bellman
Call Number: REF ML3797 .B4 2007 in Music Library
ISBN: 9780321187918
This guide examines a wide range of writing assignments for music courses at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum, while employing a variety of writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing.
Sourcebook for Research in Music by Phillip D. Crabtree; Donald H. Foster; Scott Allen; Allen Scott
Call Number: REF ML113.C68 2005 in Music Library
ISBN: 0253217806
This work consists of 7 chapters of bibliographies on different types of sources, preceded by an introductory chapter about research in music. Collective annotations are found at the beginnings of subsections providing overviews and highlighting particular sources. Also find indices of authors editors, compilers, translators, and titles.
Thematic Catalogues in Music by Barry S. Brook; Richard J. Viano
Call Number: REF ML113.B86 1997 in Music Library
ISBN: 091872886X
This is the bibliography of bibliographies and one of the first places to consult. Divided into chapters by type of reference and ordered by genre, annotations provide brief descriptions and often citations of reviews written about each work. The lastest edition is found in the Music Library, while older editions are located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

MUSP 620: String Pedagogy

Your Librarian

Web Resources

Recommended Music Encyclopedias

General Reference Books