LibGuides: MUSP 620: String Pedagogy: Finding Articles and Books

Database resources to locate articles about music

The listings on this page include only select recommendations. For more music resources at the library please consult the library guide for Music: http://libraries.wichita.edu/music

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes; with records on traditional music, popular music, and classical music, representing disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and others. All document types and media such as books, conference proceedings (going back to 1835), journal articles, dissertations as well as internet resources, sound recordings and motion pictures are included. (EBSCO)
Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Music Index contains some abstracts, but does link to full text in the WSU Online Catalog. The Music Index indexes periodical articles, book reviews, and dissertations; from 1974 to present. (EBSCO)

The WSU Online Catalog

WSU Online Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held by WSU Libraries.

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

Some helpful subject headings to consider:

Bowed Stringed Instruments
Bowed Stringed Instruments--Instruction and Study
Bowed Stringed Instruments--Methods
Cello--Instruction and Study
Cello Music--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
Double Bass--Instruction and Study
Instrumental Music--Instruction and Study
Orchestral Music--Instruction and Study
School Music--Instruction and study
Stringed Instruments--Instruction and Study
Viola--Instruction and Study
Viola da gamba--Instruction and Study
Viols--Instruction and Study
Violin--Instruction and Study
Violin Music--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)

Finding books (scores & soundrecordings) from other collections

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos and more) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Selecting WSU custom page provides localized content from Wichita State University Libraries' collection.

MUSP 620: String Pedagogy

Your Librarian

Can't Find It In Our Library?

Database resources to locate articles about music

The WSU Online Catalog

Finding books (scores & soundrecordings) from other collections