LibGuides: MUSP 620: String Pedagogy: Scores

Monuments of Music M2s

M2s
A listing of scores in the WSU Libraries with an LC classification beginning in 'M2.'

Music Scores Online

Naxos Sheet Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online sheet music with over 45,000 works available for instant download and printing.
Terms of Use
Online sheet music with over 45,000 works available for instant download and printing.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library Vols I - IV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars. Includes Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I - IV. Terms of Use

Partifi
Partifi was created for musicians by musicians, freely offering this part-making tool and maintaining a publicly accessible library of user-contributed scores. Click on the "help" button for video instructions.

Find That Piece

The listings on this page include only select recommendations. For more music resources please consult the library guide for Music: http://libraries.wichita.edu/music

RISM (Repertoire International des Sources Musicales)
Call Number: REF ML113.I6 in Music Library
A catalog of manuscript and printed music from 1600 forward. In 3 series (sections) and well over 40 volumes, the structure of the work is as follows: Series AI: printed music, Series AII: manuscript music, Series B: a systematic approach, often with thematic subjects such as theory in the Arab world, etc., and Series C: music libraries of the world.
Dictionary of Musical Themes by Harold Barlow; Sam Morgenstern (Compiled by); J. Erskine (Introduction by)
Call Number: REF ML128.I65 B3 1975 in Music Library and Ablah Library
ISBN: 0517524465
An index to over 10,000 themes of instrumental music, with musical incepits for identification. Transpose the theme in question to the key of “C” major or minor and match the letters of the notes to the letter sequence in the back of the book, which acts as an index to the themes listed by composer in the main portion of the book. Can’t remember that tune, but you can hum it? This is a good place to look. A second copy is available to check out from Ablah Library, second floor.
Cross Index Title Guide to Classical Music by Steven G. Pallay
Call Number: REF ML113.P34 1987 in Music Library
ISBN: 0313255318
This resource identifies the proper title of a work and it’s composer from a known popular title or nickname. It also provides alternative titles and arrows indicating the title under which a work is most likely to be found in library catalogs and other reference sources.
Directory of Tunes and Musical Themes by PSrons, Denys
Call Number: REF ML128.I65 P33 in Music Library
Also known as the “up-down book,” this volume attempts to answer the question: “What is the name of that tune” by translating the opening melody to a directional pattern. In 3 sections covering classical tunes, popular tunes and national anthems, if you can hum it and its listed here, you can find it.
Dictionary of Translated Names and Titles by Adrian Room
Call Number: NX80.R66 1986 in Ablah Library, 2nd floor
ISBN: 0710099533
Titles of artistic creations (plays, novels, films, musical works, paintings, and etc.), characters (historical and mythical), biblical personages, historical events and geographical names, are here given in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian, with cross-indices in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian.
The Symphony, 1720-1840 by Barry S. Brook
Call Number: REF ML128.O5 S95 1986 in Music Library
ISBN: 0824038606
This volume is an index to the set of sixty volumes entitled The Symphony 1720-1840, found under various call numbers in the score section of the Music Library. Entries contain incipits, listing of movements, instrumentation, dates and sources.

Thematic Catalogs

A thematic catalogue is an index to a group of musical compositions that incorporates citations of their opening notes (incipits), or principal melodic features (themes), or both. These citations may be given in various forms, such as conventional notes, neumes, tablatures, syllables, numbers, letters or computer codes.

-Barry S Brook,
in Grove Music Online

Thematic catalogs of classical music are located in the Music Library, in the general call number area of ML134, in the scores section of the facility. The exception to this is one of the thematic cataloges for the works of Vivaldi, which is located in the Music Library Reference section, due to the helpful tables it contains and the complexity of finding an exact piece by the composer.

Verzeichnis der Werke Antonio Vivaldis (RV), Author: Peter Ryom
Found in Music Library REF ML134.V7 R96, this catalog of Vivaldi’s works contains particularly useful tables, cross-referencing older numbering systems for Vivaldi’s work.

MUSP 620: String Pedagogy

Your Librarian

Can't Find It In Our Library?

Monuments of Music M2s

Music Scores Online

Find That Piece

Thematic Catalogs