This is a comprehensive video collection that delivers more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. It includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs & newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. It has award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners. Terms of Use
60 Minutes: 1997-2014, American History in Video, Art and Architecture in Video, Asian Film Online (Volumes * & II), Black Studies in Video, Business Education in Video, Classical Music in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III), Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Current Affairs in Video, Dance in Video (Volumes I & II), Education in Video (Volumes I & II), Environmental Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-III), Fashion STudies Online, Filmakers Library Online (Volumes I-III), Health and Society in Video, Latin American in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, The March of Time, Meet the Press, new World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Opera in Video, BBC Video Collection, PBS Video Collect (2nd Ed), Silent Film Online, Theatre in Video (Volumes I & II), Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy, World History in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
A core resource for anthropology courses of all levels, this two-volume collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world. Ethnographic Video Online is made available to users of the Wichita State University Libraries by the Department of Anthropology through the generous support of the David and Sally Jackman Endowment Fund.Terms of Use
A source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Includes the Master Academic Collection and the FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection. Terms of Use
A streaming video platform for a multitude of subject areas: Gender, Race & Diversity; the Humanities; Business; Science; Health; the Arts; Teacher Education; and Communications. In addition to the videos the University Libraries has subscribed to, a preview of other videos are available. Terms of Use
Flash is required to play the videos on a PC. Videos can also be played on all iPads, iPhones and other mobile devices.
Combining footage taken by Gregory Bateson and Margaret Mead 50 years ago with footage today, it shows how trance is learned through dance and is passed on from generation to generation. The viewer watches as children go into a trance during ceremonial dances, and learns that children are sacred to the Balinese.
A 1967 documentary directed and narrated by Peter Adair. It is about the service of a Pentecostal community in Scrabble Creek, West Virginia, United States. The church service includes faith healing, snake handling, speaking in tongues and singing.
Birds of Paradise hold a magnetic attraction for the highland people of Papua New Guinea who greatly prize their delicate and spectacular plumes as symbols of wealth. Also used as decoration in tribal rituals, the village men search the forests in the hunt for the feathered gold. This program explores the elaborate courtship rituals and remarkable sexual displays of these exotic birds and the relationship between the highlanders and their feathered friends.
A story on witch cleansing in Zimbabwe. Witch cleanser Securu Chinamberi travels to two villages to seek out those using witchcraft causing them to confess and seek forgiveness.
This documentary analyzes the role of witchcraft among the Azande people of central Africa, who considered it to be a major danger. They believe that witchcraft can be inherited and that a person can be a witch without realizing her or his bad influence. The film shows that, because of this danger, effective means of diagnosing witchcraft are vital. Several methods of diagnosis are explored in the film, the most important being benge, a poison which is fed to baby chickens. The chick's death or survival provides a judgment of the person in question. Anthropologists have long argued about the nature and significance of belief in witchcraft and sorcery and, more generally, about the similarities and differences between such thought and Western science. This film treads this path delicately, exploring an explanation of reality incomprehensible to a majority of Westerners and, at the same time, portraying the Azande as a clear-thinking and familiar group of people.
This link opens in a new window
