English

British Literary Manuscripts Online is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors. It contains poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections, reproduced in facsimile and searchable via detailed descriptive information.
Terms of Use

This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Terms of Use

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use

This collection includes: Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Series I & II Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1819; and Series I & II Supplements from the American Antiquarian Society, 1652-1819.
Provides access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America between 1640 and the first two decades of the 19th century.

Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Note: Access to this resource is provided through the generous support of the Betty Holmer and Leo O. and Maud Swaim Morgan families.
Terms of Use

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) It is a collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Terms of Use

Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013
Terms of Use

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century. The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation. It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.
Terms of Use

Live performances of major plays, play scripts, theater design, interviews and much more.

Provides primary, unpublished archival documents presented as topically-focused digital collections of historical documents which cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. The collections included are: Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project and Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
Terms of Use