Music

The latest edition of this often-referred to work is kept in the Reference Section of the Music Library. Previous editions are located in Ablah Library on the 2nd floor.

A collection of historically important writings translated into English, and arranged chronologically by topic. This is the revised edition. Copies are also located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

1st Edition of Strunk's compilation of historical writings on music, this contains 87 annotated documents, 81 translated and 6 originally written in English. Several copies are also available in Ablah Library to check out.

Offers a narrative account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. This landmark study has received universal acclaim and major awards in the field. In 6 volumes, volume 1 covers early notation through the 16th century; volume 2, the 17th and 18th centuries; volume 3 the 19th century; volume 4 the early 20th century, volume 5 the late 20th century while volume 6 includes a chronology, a bibliography and an index.

W.W. Norton Series

W.W. Norton Series

W.W. Norton Series

W.W. Norton Series

W.W. Norton Series

W.W. Norton Series

A 3 volume collection of highlights of the repertoire of western classical music. Companions to the textbook covering ancient music through the 20th Century.

In 2 volumes, this in the companion anthology to the textbook.

This illuminating and accessible volume will assist readers in rediscovering and recreating as closely as possible how musical works may originally have sounded. Focusing on performance, this Encyclopedia contains entries in categories including issues of style, techniques and practices, the history and development of musical instruments, and the work of performers, scholars, theorists, composers and editors.

For all things relating to music in Canada, a guide to all kinds of music: popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms. It provides more than 3700 articles in all, with more than 500 pictures of people, places, scores, concert programs, and sheet music. Ablah Library holds an earlier edition.

Published in 1958-1961, this French encyclopedia in 3 volumes, contains generally succinct definitions of terms and concepts but has longer entries for major composers with work lists. Covers all of Europe and the Americas. Lots of black and white illustrations.

French encyclopedia in 2 parts, 11 volumes, with in-depth studies in each section. Part I focuses on music history. Part II focuses on various topics relating to theory, technique, aesthetics and pedagogy. (WSU library missing part one, volumes 2, 3 and 4.) 1. ptie. Histoire de la musique: v. 1 Antiquité moyen âge, c1913; v. 5 Russie ; Pologne ; Finlande, and etc., 1922. 2. ptie. Technique, esthétique pédagogie: v. 1 Tendances de la musique, technique générale. 1925; v. 2 Physiologie vocale et auditive, technique vocale et instrumentale (voix instruments à réservoir d'air) 1926; v. 3 Technique instrumentale:Instruments à vent. Instruments à percussion. Instruments à cordes. Instruments automatiques; v. 4 Orchestration. Musique liturgique des différents cultes; v. 5 Esthétique. Chorégraphie; v. 6 Pédagogie. Écoles. Concerts. Théâtres.

In 10 volumes, this is a good place to begin seeking information on folk and non-western music. The set consists of: v. 1. Africa; v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean, v. 3. United States and Canada,
v. 4. Southeast Asia, v. 5. South Asia: the Indian subcontinent, v.6. Middle East, v. 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea, v. 8. Europe, v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands, v. 10. The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools. Accompanying audio CDs are available from the library service desk.

A guide to using the first edition of the MGG (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart), this provides an outline and suggested methodology to accessing information in the encyclopedia. A copy of the 1st edition of the MGG, in 17 volumes, is located in the circulating collection of the Ablah Library, 2nd floor, ML100.M92.

The primer music encyclopedia, containing scholarly articles with extensive bibliographies and works lists. In German, with international coverage. The set is arranged in 2 sections, the first 9 volumes and index relate to (Sacteil) while the remaining volumes contain biographical articles (Personeneteil). A prior edition is located in Ablah Library.

This is especially useful for short definitions and terse biographical information. For more in-depth articles and works lists, see The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. An additional copy is available on the 2nd floor, Ablah Library.

Find here entries for composers, performers, and descriptions of their works; a complete listing of all known published ragtime compositions, even those self-published and known only in single copies; and a complete discography from the cylinder era to today.

This encyclopedia examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture, including the music, dance, and visual arts that are its artistic expressions. Entries also examine hip hop's influence in other arenas such as fashion, film, and poetry; its impact on education, politics, social activism, racial and ethnic identity, and globalization; and its many contributions to American, urban, black, and Latino cultures.

This small volume focuses on the 20th century up through the mid-80s, with entries for biographical information, places, institutions, instruments, definitions, techniques, styles, genres, works and reception.

This provides multidisciplinary perspectives on the music of countries and ethnic groups from around the globe.

Lists what happened in western classical music (before 1969) on a given day in history. With an index to locate dates associated with specific works or people.

Lists what happened in western classical music (before 1940) on a given day in history. With an index to locate dates associated with specific works or people.

In 6 volumes, this covers musical events from 4,000 B.C. through 1796, year by year and often day by day.

Lists what happened in classical music from ancient times through the 1970s, day by day. With an indices to names and titles.

This provides a musical overview of events from 1750-1799, including a synopsis of world events, and cultural highlights in art and literature. An additional copy is located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

This provides a musical overview of events from 1800-1899, including synopsis of world events and cultural highlights in art and literature.

A year-by-year accounting of events in sections related to opera; dance; instrumental and vocal music; births, deaths and debuts; and related events.

This provides a musical overview of events from 1900-1988, including a synopsis of world events, and cultural highlights in art and literature.

This is Nicholas Slonimsky’s version of a day-by-day accounting of musical life, from 1900 through 2000. And with a section of reproduced letters and documents important to the era, a dictionary of terms and a useful index.

This lists historical, world culture, American art and literature, and musical highlights year by year. Note that this covers both the “Vernacular/Commercial Scene” as well as “Cultivated Art/Music Scene.” And fortunately this has a handy index.

From 1640-1921, this is a listing of significant music events by year. Particularly notable are the entries of first performances in America. A microfiche copy (Microfiche A6 10803) is also available in the reserve area of Ablah Library, a part of the Library of American Civilization series, LAC 10803.

This work consists of 7 chapters of bibliographies on different types of sources, preceded by an introductory chapter about research in music. Collective annotations are found at the beginnings of subsections providing overviews and highlighting particular sources. Also find indices of authors editors, compilers, translators, and titles.

This is the bibliography of music bibliographies and one of the first places to consult. Divided into chapters by type of reference and ordered by genre, annotations provide brief descriptions and often citations of reviews written about each work. The lastest edition is found in the Music Library, while older editions are located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

Focused only on thematic catalogues, this contains a listing of all known thematic catalogues and indexes, including those in doctoral dissertations, masters essays, and computer databanks, as well as in-progress and unpublished works, plus reviews, and literature about thematic cataloguing.

Consult this volume for suggested books in the areas of history, theory and criticism. Contains entries (with lengthy discussion) on subjects for which there are two or more books in English dedicated to the topic.

Covers writings drawn from periodicals, theses, dissertations, books, and Festschriften from 1940 to 2000. Over 9,000 references to analyses of works by over 1,000 composers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries are found here.

This tool functions as an index to sets of music (score) collections not indexed elsewhere. Though dated (1972), this is helps access the contents of older sets. Use with the “Heyer” listed below.

Volume I of this 2 volume work contains a listing of collections and their contents, while volume II is comprised of an index. Though dated, it is still quite useful for accessing the contents of older sets of music, together with the “Charles” listed above.

WSU has the bibliography portion only and not the index. This bibliography lists the contents of collections/sets of music by composer/author, title and series.

In 12 volumes, this work lists all printed and edited music, from way back, up to 1910. Find here who published Tilly Vesta's "A Simple Maiden."

This is an index to the two collections indicated in the title. Volumes 13, 15 and 37-39 of the English Madrigalists (revised edition) are located in the Music Library, M2.3.E5 E551. 13 volumes of the second series of the English School of Lutenist Song Writers, are also located in the Music Library, M2.F422.

This indexes 40 anthologies published from 1942-1991.

A compilation of, mostly media (internet, software, web sites, and etc.), resources focusing on the music topics of: royalties, copyright; theory fundamentals/ear training/aural skills; appreciation, history and composers; music education; country, folk, traditional, and world music; jazz, blues, ragtime, new age, rock, and popular music; piano, keyboard, organ; guitar and bass; drums and percussion; vocal, choral, opera, and musical theatre; band and orchestra, patriotic music, classroom, and studio management; songwriting, accompanying, the music industry; composition, scoring, notation, film, TV, and video game music; digital audio recording and editing, MIDI sequencing, plug-ins, sampled sounds and loops, virtual instruments, software synthesizers, and CD burning.

This 3-volume catalog of works, organized alphabetically by composer, details the compositions of 54 modern British composers born between 1891 and 1923. Compositions are listed chronologically and include pertinent information about the performance, year of composition, music history, first recordings, and original manuscript location. Concert music is listed separately from documentary and feature films and from music composed for radio, television or stage. A selective bibliography is included for each composer. Each volume includes a title index organized by composer.

Find here presented short bio-bibliographies and works lists for the compositions of 103 Israeli composers. A classification index provides access to works by type (ex. Clarinet trios, Fugues), and a text sources index may be helpful in searching for new repertoire.

This sourcebook was created to aid directors and teachers in finding the information they need and expand their general knowledge. The resources were selected from hundreds of published and on-line sources found in journals, magazines, music company catalogs and publications, numerous websites, doctoral dissertations, graduate theses, encyclopedias, various databases, and a great many books. Information was also solicited from outstanding college/university/school wind band directors and instrumental teachers. The information is arranged in four sections: Section 1 General Resources About Music Section 2 Specific Resources Section 3 Use of Literature Section 4 Library Staffing and Management

A logically organized introduction to the major theorists and a thorough review of the scholarly work about these writers.

This volume contains entries devoted to approximately 250 theorists, with titles and publication data for each author's treatises and principal articles, as well as titles and locations of manuscripts; lists of translations, facsimile editions, and microfilm copies of each work; a bibliography of articles, books, dissertations, and encyclopedia entries pertinent to an author and his works; and a compilation of modern reviews of the books, translations, and facsimile editions cited.

With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide covers major print and online research tools.

A very readable musical dictionary, containing terms, works and biographical information. Notable for brief but clear synopsis of works.

Found here are in-depth definitions of musical terms. Some entries have bibliographies for further reading. The 4th edition found in both Music Library and Ablah Library reference sections. Earlier editions may be found on the 2nd floor of Ablah Library and are available for check-out.

This work focuses on modernist and postmodern classical music worldwide from 1890 to the present. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries, with more than 60 entries explaining the methods, styles, and acoustic and electronic media peculiar tonew music, and over 350 entries giving essential information on the lives and work of the people who have composed and performed that music. Those entries also include pop, jazz, and rock composer/musicians whose work either overlaps the realm of classical music or else is so radical within its own field that it merits discussion in this context.

This work provides an alphabetical arrangement of topics relating to performance practice, including entries on instruments, ornamentation, and so forth.

A dictionary of terms and biographical entries, known for its succinct articles. A good quick reference source. The 2nd edition is located in Music Library reference. The 1st edition is available in Ablah Library, 2nd floor. The online edition is available through the Oxford Music Online database link.

A 20th century French musical dictionary in 2 volumes, with concise entries for people, works and terms.

German musical dictionary in 2 volumes from 1955, with a 3rd supplemental volume in 1963, containing concise entries for people and subjects. Noted for extensive works lists.

Italian musical dictionary from 1976. With short entries and even shorter biographies.

English musical dictionary with brief entries for people, works and terms, with occasional suggested reading.The online edition is available through the Oxford Music Online database link.

A German dictionary with international coverage. Issued in 1959-75, the 12th edition of this 5 volume work consists of 2 volumes of biographical entries, a subject dictionary in a 3rd volume, followed by 2 supplements. A basic 3 volume set is available to check out in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

An English translation by J.S. Shedlock, of Hugo Riemann’s Musik Lexikon. This 2 volume work covers terms and brief biographies, with a German emphasis.

This title includes not only these composers, but also eminent conductors and performers, patrons, and publishers. There are also dictionary entries on major centers of music-making, typical instruments, important technical terms, and emerging musical forms, including the symphony and opera. Indeed, with a 1,000 cross-referenced entries, there is information on most matters of interest. This is prefaced by an extensive chronology, tracing the course of this period from year to year, and an introduction taking a careful look at the period as a whole. Finally, there is a substantial bibliography.

A facsimile reproduction of the first English musical dictionary of import, from 1740.

This reference seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958, dates that reflect the coalescence of an identifiable English style in the early Renaissance and the death of the iconic Ralph Vaughan Williams in the mid-20th century. In this title find a chronological table of important events, an introductory essay on the history of English music, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on people, venues, repertory, genre, and sources.

Find here a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on every major composer in Russia s history, as well as several leading composers of today, such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Rodion Shchedrin, Leonid Desyatnikov, Elena Firsova, and Pavel Karmanov. It also includes the patrons and institutions that commissioned works by those composers and the choreographers and dancers who helped shape the great ballet masterpieces.

This title covers the most important aspects of the sacred music of Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and other smaller religious groups. It provides useful information on all the significant traditions of this music through the use of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, appendixes, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition, technical terms, instruments, fundamental documents and sources, significant places, and important musical compositions.

A dictionary for all things relating to music technology currently and historically.

This title examines choral music and practice in the Western world from the Medieval era to the 21st century, focusing mostly on familiar figures like Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Britten. But its scope is considerably broader, and it includes all sorts of music-religious, secular, and popular-from sources throughout the world. It contains a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and more than 1,000 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important composers, genres, conductors, institutions, styles, and technical terms of choral music.

This is a reprint of Rousseau’s important French Dictionary.

The title says it all!

A concise dictionary strictly relating to music terms.

A four language (Italian, English, German, French) listing of specialist music terms, including the fields of jazz, pop and electronic music.

Provides the Russian-English equivalents of musical terms, not the English-Russian. Contains no definitions.

This is a polyglot dictionary of musical terms, based in German, with diagrams of musical instruments and their component parts. A circulating copy is also located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

Contains more than 2000 names of composers, conductors, performers, titles of works, and musical terms in several languages. With a wide range of useful tips to help avoid common pronunciation gaffes. Find here the answer to: Is it [rick-kard] or [rih-khard] Wagner?

This dictionary of culture (including biographical entries) covers architecture, artistic theory, film, literature, craft, design, dance, fashion, music, mythology, painting, photography, sculpture and theatre, all throughout history.

Provides contact information and a listing of the music programs offered, along with the faculty members currently at each respective institution. Has an index by teaching area and a listing of all faculty combined. Library has the latest edition only.

Contains contact information for over 14,000 performing arts organization, with categorical and alphabetical indices. A good place to locate contact information for a musician's agent. Library has the latest edition only in the Music Library.

This is a great place to begin looking for brief to longer biographical entries, and with some works lists. Not as in-depth as Grove, but voluminous in the number of entries. The latest edition, in 6 volumes, and the prevision edition single volume (8th, 1992) is housed in the Music Library, with older editions in the circulating collections on the 2nd floor of Ablah Library.

With some overlap, this does contain a different selection of entries from Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, focusing specifically on the 20th century. A second copy is available in Ablah library, 2nd floor.

This volume emphasizes classical musicians, although jazz and popular entries are also found here. Yet another option when seeking biographical information.

Extensive international coverage of living musicians, with contact information for each entry. Appendices provide contact information for orchestras, opera companies, festivals, organizations, competitions and awards, libraries and conservatories. Latest edition in the Music Library, previous edition is found in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

This source is particularly good for locating information on lesser-known composers in the modern era. Published from 1964-1987 in 3 volumes this set indexes 185 sources of biographical information of late nineteenth and twentieth century composers. Each volume indexes a different set of sources. One checks the applicable name in volume one. If an entry is found, consult the source indicated by abbreviation (the abbreviation key is found in the front of each volume), continue to check volumes two and possibly three if the name is not initially located.

Find here entries for performers, ensembles, composers and works (note, works are located under each respective composer). Entries are notable for the inclusion of recommended representative recordings.

Find here biographical entries including associated publishers, bibliographies and lengthy works lists.

Find here biographical information on nineteenth century American musicians from a nineteenth century viewpoint, with bibliographies including twentieth century citations.

Though dated, this covers a broad range of musical occupations. Consider this when searching for entries of music educators, librarians, writers, editors, and administrators, as well as composers and performers.

Although dated, this 2nd edition volume is helpful for biographical information on lesser-know composers, not covered elsewhere. Entries often contain at least partial works lists.

This is an additional place to search for biographical information for those who were involved in the arts.

In 2 volumes, this title covers essential biographical information for international artists of the stage including opera, dance, music, theater, film and television personalities. Entries include the artist’s stage name, alias or billing name (where applicable), real name, names of parents, name of spouse(s), date and place of birth, date and place of death, type(s) or work done, source(s) of obituaries, and any book-length biographies in English.

This was the first major biographical dictionary of musicians in English. In 2 volumes.

This is a good place to find biographical entries of British performers and teachers, not often found elsewhere.

This set is useful for identifying works (by composer) that are no longer extant. In 11 volumes.

A reprint of two important early German biographical dictionaries combined in a 4 volume set.

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century examine individuals from all over the world who gained significance as composers, performers, instrumentalists, vocalists, and teachers. Covers over 600 artists in the areas of classical, jazz, rock, folk, blues, soul, gospel, country, Latin, new age, reggae and world music.

In 2 volumes, this work provides short biographical entries and works lists for women composers throughout history. The second volume also contains some helpful appendices such as a breakdown of composers by profession and instrument, a bibliography, discography and etc.. Previous edition is located in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

Another good place to check for women composers, particularly those who are less well-known. Covers women throughout history, in the standard format for Grove publications with a short biographical article, followed by a works list and bibliography where possible.

Covering only Britain and the U.S. from 1629 to the early 1990s, this contains no works lists, but does have a helpful bibliography at the end of the book.

For biographical information on Afro-American and African musicians in a wide variety of music occupations throughout history. With brief but useful bibliographies.

In 2 volumes, each entry provides a biographical outline, educational background and career highlights; a works list, bibliography, an analysis of their place in musical history and analysis of a selection of their works. This set is not only international but covers all music genres.

This volume covers over 650 composers active from the 18th century to today. Covering all classical styles, it offers a comprehensive overview of key composers in the United States.

This title contains brief biographical information along with career data for those involved in drama, music, and dance.

Provided here are entries for over 2000 composers born in Russia or the provinces, containing biographical information, works lists and bibliographies.

This reprint of the 1857 biographical dictionary of Polish and Slavic composers, also contains a history of Polish music and musical instruments.

Another good place to check for biographical information on performing musicians of British origin. This reprint of the 1897 work covers Britain and its colonies.

Biographical entries for authors, composers and publishers associated with the Association of Composers, Authors and Publishers of Musical Works (ACUM) performing rights organization of Israel.

In 2 volumes, this is both a biographical dictionary and a compilation of facsimile music catalogs of music publishers and dealers in France from the 1500s to 1820.

This covers Belgian composers of the early 20th century. Entries consist of a biographical background and a short listing of major works.

Though published in 1965, this specifically covers 20th century Czech composers. Entries are rather brief.

This contains biographical entries arranged by musical occupation, with an historical outline and chapters on performing groups/organizations in Australia.

Containing entries on classical and jazz percussionists, this provides selective discographies, videographies and bibliographies where applicable.

This work contains background on composers for the organ and is particularly helpful in locating information about lesser-known composers.

This title provides biographical information about composers of educational keyboard materials. Covering over 30 composers, each entry includes a works list. One of the few places focusing on this area of specialization. A second copy is located in Ablah Library on the 2nd floor.

With brief entries, this provides biographical information on performers through history. Doesn’t cover more contemporary pianists, but is international in coverage. With some black and white photographs.

Find here entries for violin makers before the 20th century.

Limited to Italian Violinmakers, each entry is provided in German, English and French, followed by photographs of a sample instrument for identification.

Find here biographical entries of Scottish musicians from 1400 through the 1960s.

This bio-bibliographical dictionary chronicles the careers and work of over 120 composers associated with conservatories, colleges, and universities in the United States and Puerto Rico. Obtained through direct correspondence with the composers themselves, the author includes within each entry a short biography of the composer's life and education, lists of previous positions, most prominent commissions, awards and honors, and notable performers of the subject's work. Each entry also contains a discography of the recordings and a bibliography of writings by the composer.

Uncloudy Days is a treasure chest of substantial profiles on the influential names in gospel music history such as Thomas Dorsey, Mahalia Jackson, the Hawkins family, Clara Ward, James Cleveland, and the Winans. It also uncovers the history of one hit wonders and others who are not as familiar. Everyone has a story to share and this book tells more than 500 of them, many based on personal interviews, including the trials and tribulations endured by so many gospel artists. Find here recommended recordings, a glossary of terms and numerous charts showing the best-selling gospel recordings and videos.

This title focuses on modernist and postmodern classical music worldwide from 1890 to the present. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries, with more than 60 entries explaining the methods, styles, and acoustic and electronic media peculiar to new music, and over 350 entries giving essential information on the lives and work of the people who have composed and performed that music. Those entries also include pop, jazz, and rock composer/musicians whose work either overlaps the realm of classical music or else is so radical within its own field that it merits discussion in this context. This book is a must for anyone, musician or non-musician, student or professional, who seeks to research and learn more about any significant aspect of modern and contemporary classical music worldwide.

This title includes not only these composers, but also eminent conductors and performers, patrons, and publishers. There are also dictionary entries on major centers of music-making, typical instruments, important technical terms, and emerging musical forms, including the symphony and opera. Indeed, with a 1,000 cross-referenced entries, there is information on most matters of interest. This is prefaced by an extensive chronology, tracing the course of this period from year to year, and an introduction taking a careful look at the period as a whole. Finally, there is a substantial bibliography.

Find here a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on every major composer in Russia s history, as well as several leading composers of today, such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Rodion Shchedrin, Leonid Desyatnikov, Elena Firsova, and Pavel Karmanov. It also includes the patrons and institutions that commissioned works by those composers and the choreographers and dancers who helped shape the great ballet masterpieces.

This reference seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958, dates that reflect the coalescence of an identifiable English style in the early Renaissance and the death of the iconic Ralph Vaughan Williams in the mid-20th century. In this title find a chronological table of important events, an introductory essay on the history of English music, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on people, venues, repertory, genre, and sources.

This title examines choral music and practice in the Western world from the Medieval era to the 21st century, focusing mostly on familiar figures like Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Britten. But its scope is considerably broader, and it includes all sorts of music-religious, secular, and popular-from sources throughout the world. It contains a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and more than 1,000 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important composers, genres, conductors, institutions, styles, and technical terms of choral music.

This title covers the most important aspects of the sacred music of Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and other smaller religious groups. It provides useful information on all the significant traditions of this music through the use of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, appendixes, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition, technical terms, instruments, fundamental documents and sources, significant places, and important musical compositions.

The Historical Dictionary of Jazz covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.

Reviled by most critics and jazz fans in its nascence, and still highly misunderstood today, free jazz eventually had a profound influence on subsequent developments in jazz and rock, forever changing the musical landscape. This encyclopedia of free music reflects upon the personalities, styles, organizations, philosophy and politics of a musical form to which too little prior attention has been devoted. In 2 volumes.

This work provides illuminating, opinionated essays--provocative, funny, and personal--on the lives and careers of more than three hundred singers, anatomizing the work of the most important jazz and popular performers of the twentieth century.

This encyclopedia lists, describes and cross-references everything to do with American opera: works (both operas and operettas, including separate entries for the most popular arias), composers, librettists, singers, and source authors, along with relevant recordings. The approximately 1750 entries range from ballad operas and composers of the 18th century to modern minimalists and video opera artists. Each opera entry consists of plot, history, premiere and cast, followed by a chronological listing of recordings, movies and videos. An introduction provides an excellent overview of the general subject of American opera.

Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. This also has an index of composers by country and women composers.

The Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical contains a chronology, an introduction, an appendix, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on Broadway shows, composers, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, actors, and theaters.

An online biographical dictionary with focus on the following musicians: Elvis Presley ; Ray Charles; Chuck Berry ; Buddy Holly ; The Beach Boys ; James Brown ; The Beatles ; Bob Dylan ; The Rolling Stones ; The Who ; The Byrds ; Jimi Hendrix ; The Velvet Underground ; The Grateful Dead ; Frank Zappa ; Led Zeppelin ; Joni Mitchell ; Pink Floyd ; Neil Young ; David Bowie ; Bruce Springsteen ; Ramones ; U2 ; Nirvana.

A print and online biographical dictionary focusing on these musicians: 1. Tori Amos ; Joan Baez ; Mary J. Blige ; Patsy Cline ; Ani DiFranco ; Missy Elliott ; Aretha Franklin ; Emmylou Harris ; Debbie Harry ; Chrissie Hynde ; The Indigo Girls ; Janis Joplin ; Carole King ; Madonna ; Sarah McLachlan ; Joni Mitchell ; Dolly Parton ; Liz Phair ; Bonnie Raitt ; Linda Ronstadt ; Diana Ross ; Patti Smith ; Tina Turner ; Suzanne Vega.

The extraordinary impact of hip-hop music on American culture over the past three decades is undeniable. At the forefront of this global phenomenon stand artists who broke new ground, both musically and politically. This reference provides substantial entries on revolutionary hip-hop artists and innovators, past and present, and offers in-depth coverage of each icon's influence in shaping hip-hop music.

This title holds biographical information for composers and lyricists of popular song in through the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Though dated, the 4th edition provides brief biographical information for composers and lyricists who are not often listed elsewhere (especially noted for its coverage of lesser-known lyricists). Previous editions are located in Ablah library, 2nd floor circulating collection.

This is an online reference book providing biographical information on artists and groups from 1990-2003. Browse by table of contents or index. Access this title through the WSU online catalog.

his provides biographical information on women songwriters in writing for various genres.

This title provides brief biographical information on American songwriters and listings of their songs.

This Directory of Conductors' Archives in American Institutions provides the names, locations, and contents of archives of historical societies, orchestra archives, American libraries, and private collections to help researchers and music lovers locate difficult-to-find materials. Henry Bloch has carefully listed all aspects of each collection, including full scores and parts, correspondence, scrapbooks, still and moving images, and sound recordings.

One of the most cosmopolitan of the great composers, much of Handel's music has remained in the popular repertory since his lifetime, and a broad variety of his music theatre works from Italian operas to English oratorios have experienced a dramatic renaissance since the late twentieth century. This title is packed with well over 700 informative and accessible entries, both long and short, this book is ideal for those wishing to explore the Handelian world.

Mozart's enduring popularity, lies at the heart of The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia. This reference book functions both as a starting point for information on specific works, people, places and concepts as well as a summation of current thinking about Mozart. The extended articles on genres reflect new ways of thinking about the works while the articles on people and places provide historical framework, as well as interpretation. It also includes a series of thematic articles that cast a wide net over the eighteenth century and Mozart's relationship to it: these include Austria, Germany, aesthetics, travel, Enlightenment, Mozart as a reader and contemporaneous medicine, among others.

The lives, careers, works, songs, and themes of Rodgers and Hammerstein have been gathered together here in an encyclopedia that covers the many talents of these men. In addition to their plays and films together, every work that each man did with other collaborators is also discussed. Hundreds of their songs are described, and there are entries on the many actors, directors, and other creative artists who they worked with. A complete list of awards, recordings, and books about the team are included, as well as a chronology of everything either man wrote.

The Cambridge Verdi Encyclopedia covers all aspects of Verdi's life, his music and his world. Appendices list Verdi's known works, both published and unpublished, the characters in his operas and the singers who created them, and a chronology of his life. As a starting point for information on specific works, people, places and concepts associated with Verdi, the Encyclopedia is the place to go.

Richard Wagner is one of the most controversial figures in Western cultural history. He revolutionized not only opera but the very concept of art, and his works and ideas have had an immeasurable impact on both the cultural and political landscapes of the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries. From 'absolute music' to 'Zurich' and from 'Theodor Adorno' to 'Hermann Zumpe', the vividly-written entries of The Cambridge Wagner Encyclopedia have been contributed by recognized authorities and cover a comprehensive range of topics. Multiple appendices include listings of Wagner's works, historic productions, recordings and addresses where he lived.

The Sixteenth Edition, The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. Additional copies in Ablah Library to check out, on the lower level.

Music in Words is a guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music--from students to professional musicians and critics--may confront when putting together anything from brief program notes to a lengthy thesis. The book is also a reference manual. The first part of the book is a "how to" section, offering an explanation of the purpose of music research and how it is to be done, including basic introductions to the most necessary tools for musical inquiry (with special emphasis on strategic use of the internet), and how they can be accessed and used. The second part is a compendium of information on style and sources for quick reference, including a straightforward presentation of the purpose and use of citation and reference systems as they are applied to and in music.

Music Research: A Handbook is designed to assist students engaged in library research and/or to write research papers. Concise and practical, this title does not aim to provide an exhaustive introduction to music research; rather, it is highly selective and helps students navigate the most significant English-language research tools and resources; reference titles in major areas; and the principal sources in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. The first section is organized by type of research tool (ex., encyclopedias, periodical indexes, and discographies),with overview of what each tool covers; an annotated bibliography, scope, strengths,and weaknesses; and an evaluation checklist.The second section discusses style manuals and various resources for writing about music and citing sources. Methods for evaluating reference and research tools are emphasized throughout the book.

This guide examines a wide range of writing assignments for music courses at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum, while employing a variety of writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing.

Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.

Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper. Contains complete chapters on writing about music, analysis and research, getting started, writing a research paper (from choosing a topic through outlining, writing the draft, editing and revising), questions of format, other kinds of writing projects (i.e., seminar presentations, concert reports, program notes), writing styles, and common writing problem.

In 2 volumes, with an alphabetical index and a thematic index, each entry provides the mode, a textual incipit, the category of chant, the initial and final pitch, and a coded melodic incipit.

Though this is primarily an index of art songs, this also covers anthologies of folk songs, sea chanteys, Christmas carols, sacred songs and school/college songs. Be sure to check both the main section as well as the supplement section, though both are bound together. An additional copy is found in Ablah Library, 2nd floor.

This work indexes over 800 books and journals containing folk songs.

This is a set of indices bound together in a single volume to art songs and arias, folk songs, carols and sea chanties, found in collections published from approximately 1940-1957. When looking up the song/aria title, make sure you are looking in the correct index section by consulting the table of contents. A second copy is available to check out from Ablah Library, second floor.

A 2 volume index to pop, rock and folk songs in collections, listings include songwriter credits and dates. This also provides indexes to first line, composer and performer.

This 2 volume work indexes songs in over 2000 collections, of all genres. The 2nd volume provides an index by composer and a listing of operas, musicals, movies and etc., with their associated song titles. This work is handy for its coverage of more recently published collections than the DeCharms, "Songs in Collections."

Also known as the “up-down book,” this volume attempts to answer the question: “What is the name of that tune” by reducing the opening melody to a directional pattern of notes. In 3 sections covering classical tunes, popular tunes and national anthems. If you can hum it and its listed here, you can find it.

A main volume and 3 separate supplemental volumes, this is an index to popular songs by title, first line of song and first line of chorus. As the supplements index different collections, one may need to check through each supplement. Each volume also contains an index by composer and lyricist. This only covers song collections published between 1940 and 1987.

This indexes song collections published from 1854 to 1992. Look up the song title and locate the anthologies in which it is contained.

This is an index to 18 song anthologies in the Music Library collection. Use this to find the printed music for anthologies not having their detailed table of contents listed in the WSU online catalog. Also find here an index by name. A second copy is also available on the 2nd floor of Ablah Library.

This indexes over 100 songbooks published between 1933 and 1962, specifically intending to cover collections most commonly held by libraries. This is one of several places to search for printed popular music.

This is an index to the two collections indicated in the title. Volumes 13, 15 and 37-39 of the English Madrigalists (revised edition) are located in the Music Library, M2.3.E5 E551. 13 volumes of the second series of the English School of Lutenist Song Writers, are also located in the Music Library, M2.F422.

Congregational song has developed through the ages to include plainsong melodies, psalm settings, folk melodies, composed hymn tunes, gospel songs, sacred choruses, spirituals, and canons. All of these categories are included in this work. In 3 volumes, Hymntune Index catalogs over 33,000 melodies sung by congregations world-wide, providing the source of each and listing related materials. Included are incipits and alternate titles, and melodic index. The materials portion includes composer or arranger, publisher and publisher's catalog number, and title. The index is helpful when looking for tunes by a particular composer or arranger, and also for noting the variations of a particular tune. It also allows the reader to compare tunes of similar melodic contours.

Where one finds who studied with whom. Functioning as its own fully cross-referenced index, this volume lists composers and their dates, followed by their teachers and notable students.