LibGuides: Reference Sources: Statistical Sources

Sources for Multi-Disciplinary Statistics and Data

There may also be subject-specific sources not listed here, such as market and consumer data. Be sure to ask a librarian for additional sources.

Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the numerical history of the United States and contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.
Terms of Use
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Largest archive of political and social research data with over 500,000 datafiles. Includes specialized data collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal providing market and consumer data.

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book
Call Number: HA203 .C68
Publication Date: Latest edition
Located at Government Documents Reference Stacks
The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the American Community Survey by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1641435054
Publication Date: 2020
The World Almanac and Book of Facts by Sarah Janssen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1510766537
Publication Date: Updated yearly
Also located in Reference at REF AY67.N5 W7

CIA World Factbook
The Central Intelligence Agency maintains a database that provides up-to-date information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Federal Statistical Research Data
Federal Statistical Research Data Centers house data from many federal and state agencies, including Bureau of labor Statistics, Census Bureau, and National Center for Health Statistics
Kansas Statistical Abstract
Covers seventeen different categories of information including population; vital statistics and health; housing and construction; employment and earnings; personal income; banking and finance; state and local government finances and employment; courts; crime and public safety; communications; transportation; agriculture; mining and mineral products; and manufacturing.
Pew Research Center
Pew conducts research on various groups such as ages/generational, race/ethnic, socioeconomic status, gender, etc. Many study reports include psychographics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.