LibGuides: Orientation for New Students: Useful Collections

Useful Collections

WSU, like most Universities, has some academic programs that require a placement exam, such as education and nursing. Some programs require a certification exam to fulfill graduation requirements, such as engineering and psychology. University Libraries has books and electronic sources to help students study for these exams.

Testing, Licensing, and Certification Study Guides
Includes study guides for ACT, CLEP, TEAS, Praxis, ASVAB, GRE and many other exams.

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to skill-building interactive courses in math, reading, and writing, as well as hundreds of interactive practice exams for grade school achievement tests, SAT, ACT, GED, U.S. citizenship, civil service positions, and a range of academic and career tests.
Note: To access, you will need to create a user name and password. You will then use this user name and password for future logins. To create your user name and password: 1) Click on the link above. 2) Click on the "Register" button under the "New Users" section at the bottom of the page. 3) Enter your 5-digit zip code in the Username field plus your 7-digit phone number (excluding your zip code, spaces, or dashes). [For example: 672609781234]. 4) Create a password (passwords must be at least 6 characters long, they can be alphanumeric but cannot contain spaces). 5) Verify your password. 6) Email address is optional but is recommended for password retrieval in the event you forget your username or password. 7) Click the "Register" button. 8) Choose "Kansas State Library" as your subscribing institution. 9) Click the "Continue" button.

University Libraries has many sources for entertainment and literary study. Check out these guides for more information!

Comics and Graphic Novels
WSU has a surprising collection of comics and graphic novels!
Popular Reading Collection
University Libraries has a collection of adult novels and popular non-fiction. This guide will help you use our collection as well as locate other books for fun.
Shocker DVD Collection
Over 600 popular movies and TV shows are available for checkout free of charge by WSU students, faculty and staff. DVD Players are also available for checkout.

University Libraries has librarians who liaison to each academic department. Their jobs include teaching research skills and purchasing books and other materials in their areas. LibGuides have been created to help students locate sources to help with research and other assignments, and these guides are organized by subject and course.

Subject Guides
Research guides to help you pick the best research tools.
Course Guides
There are also guides for specific classes, library workshop topics, specific student groups, AND MORE
Meet your librarian (subject specialist)