HPS 121 W Bailey, C LeFevre
HPS 331 L Luinstra; HPS 421 W Bailey
This eTextbook can be accessed by an unlimited number of users, and can be read either online (in the web browser), or downloaded as a PDF to read offline.
Below you will find a collection of ebook and print materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
Enhancing Health and Sports Performance by Design Proceedings of the 2019 Movement by 
Sports, Exercise, and Nutritional Genomics by
Sports, Exercise, and Nutritional Genomics: Current Status and Future Directions is the first reference volume to offer a holistic examination of omics-driven advances across different aspects of exercise and sports physiology, biochemistry, sports medicine, psychology, anthropology, and sports nutrition; and highlighting the opportunities towards advance personalized training and athlete health management. More than 70 international experts from 14 countries have discussed key exercise and sport-related themes through the prism of genomics, epigenomics, transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, telomere biology, talent in sport, individual differences in response to regular physical activity, that in the future may empower coaches, sports physicians, fitness experts, genetic counselors, and translational scientists to employ various omics data and approaches in improving health and physical performance of people participating in sports and exercise activities. Contributors address current knowledge of genetic influence on athletic performance, individual responses to exercise training, as well as the genetics of musculoskeletal phenotypes, exercise-related injuries, flexibility, and neurodegenerative disorders in athletes. Finally, performance-related and psychological traits associated with epigenetic, transcriptomic and metagenomic biomarkers are also considered, along with nutritional and pharmacogenomic aids in sports medicine and personalized nutrition. Effectively synthesizes key themes across molecular aspects of exercise and sports sciences Provides a knowledge base for future translation of omics solutions to talent identification, individualized training, and nutrition Features contributions from international experts (researchers and clinicians) in the subject area
Principles of athletic training : a guide to evidence-based clinical practice by 
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated. This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas. These include the following subjects: Managing low-back disorder risk in the workplace Online interactivity Neuroergonomics Office ergonomics Social networking HF&E in motor vehicle transportation User requirements Human factors and ergonomics in aviation Human factors in ambient intelligent environments As with the earlier editions, the main purpose of this handbook is to serve the needs of the human factors and ergonomics researchers, practitioners, and graduate students. Each chapter has a strong theory and scientific base, but is heavily focused on real world applications. As such, a significant number of case studies, examples, figures, and tables are included to aid in the understanding and application of the material covered.
Handbook of disability sport and exercise psychology by
not available
Routledge Handbook of Physical Cultural Studies by
Physical cultural studies (PCS) is a dynamic and rapidly developing field of study. This handbook offers the first definitive account of the state of the art in PCS, showcasing the latest research and methodological approaches. It examines the boundaries, preoccupations, theories and politics of PCS, drawing on transdisciplinary expertise from areas as diverse as sport studies, sociology, history, cultural studies, performance studies and anthropology. Featuring chapters written by world-leading scholars, this handbook examines the most important themes and issues within PCS, exploring the active body through the lens of class, age, gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, (dis)ability, medicine, religion, space and culture. Each chapter provides an overview of the state of knowledge in a particular subject area, while also considering possibilities for developing future research. Representing a landmark contribution to physical cultural studies and allied fields, the Routledge Handbook of Physical Cultural Studies is an essential text for any undergraduate or postgraduate course on physical culture, sports studies, leisure studies, the sociology of sport, the body, or sport and social theory.
Below you will find a collection of ebook and print reference materials related to this guide and selected to compliment your studies. For more information on each text, hover your mouse over the "info" icon. To access more of our library materials visit our WSU libraries online catalog.
Management Strategies in Athletic Training by
Athletic trainers require more administrative knowledge than ever before, and Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is designed to help them master that knowledge. The latest edition of this respected text prepares athletic trainers to be successful in any setting and with any clientele. It does so by presenting new material that covers trends and issues that today''s athletic trainers are facing. New to this Edition Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, offers a great deal of new content: * A new chapter on the profession, addressing its history, differentiation between various NATA committees, the evolution of athletic training, and more * A new chapter on professional advocacy that explains how bills become law, the need for advocacy in the profession, the value of youth sport safety legislation, and more * New content on documentation, injury surveillance, NATA position statements, reimbursement and salary issues, and new athletic training CPT codes * A new appendix that lists each state''s scope of practice, board and structure, and regulations for athletic training Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, also includes thoroughly updated content in many areas: * Preparticipation physical exam standards and drug education and testing standards * Emergency planning * Health care financial management * Legal testimony and depositions * Ethical practices in sports medicine * Legal standards * Employment settings * Negotiation skills * OSHA requirements for health care facilities Ancillaries Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, comes with these ancillaries: * An instructor guide that is loaded with useful instructional aids, including student activity suggestions, extra case studies, suggested readings, and a sample syllabus * Chapter quizzes with 183 questions you can use to generate tests and quizzes * An image bank that includes the majority of the figures and tables from the text, which you can use in creating your presentations Text Features At the end of each chapter, you will find two helpful tools: case studies with questions for analysis, which will help students apply concepts and theories to real-world situations, and a key concepts review section that repeats the chapter objectives and shows how the chapter addressed those objectives. The text also provides these pedagogical aids to enhance the student learning experience: * Key words * Pearls of Management sidebars that provide insights that readers will find useful during their careers as athletic trainers * Glossary * Chapter objectives * Sample forms * Key Points (nuggets of practical information) Strong Content for Many Audiences Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is a comprehensive resource for all athletic trainers, meeting the bulk of the discipline-specific content for an entry-level athletic training curriculum. The text is suitable for entry-level students preparing for credentialing and certification, graduate students preparing for credentialing or working toward an advanced degree, athletic training residents seeking to reinforce and apply leadership techniques in their residency, and practicing athletic trainers who want to update their knowledge and skills in athletic training administration. Equipped to Meet Today''s and Tomorrow''s Challenges Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is the ideal text to prepare athletic trainers of the future to deal effectively with the many administrative and managerial challenges they will face in an increasingly complex and changing health care environment. Practitioners will find the book''s contemporary approach to addressing today''s management culture very refreshing.
Functional Training Handbook by
Reach a whole new level of physical training with Functional Training Handbook, whose big-picture approach to movement fosters lifelong health, mobility, and athletic development. This practical guide delivers clear, how-to- information, an array of sport-specific guidelines, and key principles that will keep your clients at peak performance. Join the revolution to improve sports performance, treat injury, and re-train patterns with this comprehensive guide to the body and its movement. Features: Sport specific chapters include Baseball, Basketball, Cycling, Dance, Football, Golf, Hockey, Mixed Martial Arts, Olympic Weight Lifting, Skiing, Soccer, Swimming, Surfing, and Tennis. Emphasis on functional exercise explores the physics of weight-bearing and balance to reduce repetitive motion injuries Guides to injury prevention, safe workouts, re-injury avoidance, and practical strategies for active athletes Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
The Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance by
In this updated and expanded edition of The Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance, some of the world's foremost experts on expertise share their scientific knowledge of expertise and expert performance and show how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of development, training, reasoning, knowledge, and social support. The book reviews innovative methods for measuring experts' knowledge and performance in relevant tasks. Sixteen major domains of expertise are covered, including sports, music, medicine, business, writing, and drawing, with leading researchers summarizing their knowledge about the structure and acquisition of expert skills and knowledge, and discussing future prospects. General issues that cut across most domains are reviewed in chapters on various aspects of expertise, such as general and practical intelligence, differences in brain activity, self-regulated learning, deliberate practice, aging, knowledge management, and creativity.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated. This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas. These include the following subjects: Managing low-back disorder risk in the workplace Online interactivity Neuroergonomics Office ergonomics Social networking HF&E in motor vehicle transportation User requirements Human factors and ergonomics in aviation Human factors in ambient intelligent environments As with the earlier editions, the main purpose of this handbook is to serve the needs of the human factors and ergonomics researchers, practitioners, and graduate students. Each chapter has a strong theory and scientific base, but is heavily focused on real world applications. As such, a significant number of case studies, examples, figures, and tables are included to aid in the understanding and application of the material covered.
Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training by
As one of the first texts of its kind, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training contains essential information on the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) for students who are working toward certification in athletic training and athletic trainers who wish to stay up to date on best practices in the field. With EBP, all clinical decisions are based on available research studies, and these studies are selected and assessed according to specific criteria that yield evidence of benefit. EBP is a continuing education requirement for athletic trainers who are certified with the Board of Certification (BOC). Grounded in solid science, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training explains the basics of EBP and the research design methods that are so vital to its implementation. Starting in part I, the text introduces the various levels of evidence, well-built question development using the PICO technique (patient problem or population, intervention, comparison, and outcomes), the five steps of searching for evidence, and search techniques. Part II guides readers through researching specific questions and evaluating research studies, including how to incorporate the evidence they find into their clinical practice. Part III reviews the various research types, their uses and benefits, and research ethics as a critical part of the process of EBP. Through these step-by-step chapters, readers will be able to formulate clinical questions, perform research on current studies, analyze the available data, and apply the principles in their practice in order to provide the best and most accurate care possible. In addition to in-depth information on the principles and application of EBP, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training presents clinically based scenarios that allow students to apply their recently acquired knowledge to real-life situations, thus encouraging a deeper understanding of the topics presented throughout the text. These scenarios allow those who are learning EBP concepts for the first time to understand how EBP is incorporated clinically. The most efficient, systematic, and thorough resource of its kind, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training encourages students and current certified athletic trainers to ask meaningful questions, gain the knowledge they need for excelling in future practice, and rise to the top of their profession. For students who want a thorough skill base in EBP and for credentialed health care professionals who seek further knowledge in the area, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training will help all current and future athletic trainers provide the best care for their athletes and clients.
